We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Resort
Ranked #53 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Kolkata
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Nice beach hotel. Small hotel but nicely maintained. The aksa beach is very good to roaming around. I liked the property.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank knightrider7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    308
    113
    40
    42
See reviews for
276
208
26
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

The Resort at Aksa beach in Mumbai is a pleasant 5-star get away for a weekend break with family from the busy Mumbai life & routine. It is very easily accessible from the main city and one can reach the resort within an hours drive.

I had been with my family for a much wanted break which we all were looking forward to... On reaching the property, you are extended a very warm welcome and the check-in formalities were completed within 10 mins. The rooms we got were facing the sea and the view of the calm sea, the virgin sand and the softly swinging palm & coconut trees was a real visual treat!! The rooms are well appointed and has all the facilities and amenities which are normally offered by a 5-star resort. The open pool side adjacent to the beach front is a fantastic place to chill out the whole day. One can take a dip as much to the hearts desire, sip beer or drinks at the 24 hr coffee shop or just relax on the beach chairs or hammock with a book to read or simply bask in under the sun.

The resort has good restaurants & bar serving the best wines and multi-cuisine. The food quality is excellent and the ambience very refreshing. The gardens & lawns are well maintained and are great for an evening walk while watching the sun set. The beach is good for a walk, but I would like to caution that the Aksa beach is a dangerous proposition to venture into the waters. One should refrain from venturing into the sea, even if you get tempted to just wet your feet. There have been many drowning accidents in the past each year and one must just stick to the hotel pool for all types of water adventures.

The hotel property has all positives in terms of location, staf, services, offerings and customer satisfaction. The only negatives that I found were that, the resort lets out their property for day picnics to large size groups and this can at times frustrate the hotel residents due to noise and loud music, although I must say this might not be a regular occurrence. The other problem that I felt was if one ventures for a walk on the beach, there are a lot of outsiders & hawkers that loiter around the beach and try to pester the visitors or con them. I felt the beach was not a secured place even though the property is bang on it.

Overall a very good & refreshing experience for the entire family. They have some good & affordable packages to offer especially over the weekends inclusive of all. Truly an ideal gateway for a chotta break for the family & friends!!

  • Liked — Location, property layout, food, services
  • Disliked — Day picnic noise disturbance.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sc0rpi0n65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Spent two day at The Resort in Madh/Marve Mumbai. The resort is superb set in lush greenery on Aksa Beach. The only drawback is it's quite remote. There's no other restaurants / entertainment in the vicinity so you're forced to use the hotel bar & restaurant, which is quite pricey and busy during the weekends. This is an ideal place if you want to get away from Mumbai City's hustle, great way to end a shopping trip. Also very close for Essel World & Water Kingdom.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiyushKotecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

The beach is better than the other beaches of Mumbai but since it is very rocky and not worth a swim. The Resort stands with beautiful lawns but it looks very old and worn. The service staff do not even smile and go around like zombies. It is sad that such a weekend getaway has such a sad look and feel.
The breakfast and the lunch spread was not as any five star would offer. Very few dishes. The staff has a lot to learn on service. Especially how to pick up the plate from the table without dropping the spoon on the guest. They even need to learn how to serve without spilling on the table.
Tea and coffee service was pathetic. A five star not able to serve lemon tea and green tea? The resort needs to under renovation and train their staff with the latest etiquettes and update themselves on hospitality services. Will not recommend this place till it undergoes change.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Psalm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I found this hotel apt for Family fun, especially for a person drenched in his business 365 days a year. Definitly not to typified as a luxurious resort, but can meet most of the demands for a family seeking fun on weekend. Attractions being the Aksa beach, sea views from the room, pool, children's play area , garden and I would rate it's spa on the higher side of the scale.

  • Liked — SUMPTUOUS BREAKFAST
  • Disliked — ALTHOUGH NEAT & TIDY BUT THE DECOR NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KANKARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

We stayed at Resort for 4 nights after some days in Colaba area. The Resort offers great escape from city buzz: located by the beach, beautiful poolside and room balcony with sea views (deluxe room). Though surroundings seem to be great, a word of warning is in place.

- Be prepared to eat in hotel restaurant, since no shops or other restaurants are nearby. Hotel buffet is always the same, though the food is ok if you stick to vegetarian dishes.
- Poolside has only 6 sunbeds, so you need to be quick in the morning, and there is a covey of crows flying around looking for victims.
- The level of service is not in line with the amount of staff buzzing around (orders get mixed, forgotten or delayed).

But all these things are rather minor drawbacks and you may enjoy the place in spite of these. The only thing that really made me mad was the hotel memberships sold to us when reserving the room. They advertised that with the hotel membership you pay less for the stay and you get several benefits, but the promised benefits (complimentary breakfast & airport pick-up/drop-off, etc.) just disappeared one by one. And you needed to reclamate hard to get things solved. There didn't seem to be big enough manager to solve the problems. If you anyway choose this hotel, stay away from the memberships and you will be better off.

  • Liked — The poolside
  • Disliked — I felt the hotel was untrustworthy
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Xinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We spend a week in The resort during Christmas holidays. There were practically no other western visitors at the same time, which might have been because of the 26/11. Overall I would say that it definitely was worth of the 140euros/night when compared to hotels in the city centre with the same price level. Though you can't even start to compare it to Hiltons in Eastern Europe where you can get a room for the same price. Compared to European quality level, I would say that The resort is a 3½/5 star hotel. But in Indian standards it's really good.

Its location was awesome. If you take a deluxe room, your view will open to beautiful sand beach. Hotel pool was also almost empty everyday, but it seemed that the hotel was extremely popular wedding site as there was a party every night. Noise came straight through the walls but gladly they usually ended it before eleven o'clock.

Staff was very helpful and tried always their best. Sadly few of them seemed to have any training for the job and especially in the restaurant working was chaotic. Same applied to the spa, they didn't seem to have much experience on the treatments they offered. But considering the low price, it was good enough.

We had morning and evening buffet. Breads and deserts were very good, but the main course wasn't. Meat in the main course was barely meat, just bones and ligament.

Only complaints we had about the restaurant. Waiters forgot things, high caste visitors got served our meals and we had to wait, when eating outside the discount we had didn't apply even though it wasn't mentioned anywhere, evening buffet's drinks weren't included (not even water) in the buffet but morning buffet's was, etc.

Connection to the city central was good enough. Since the popular Aksha beach was just outside hotel, Rikshas were available all day. It cost 600rb (10e) to get to Malad train station and then ~100rb (1,6e) in first class by train to then Mumbai centre. It takes about an hour in total. Don't even think about getting there by any other means.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dexter777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai (Bombay)
1.4 mi away
The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre
The Retreat Hotel & Convention C...
#116 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
384 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#171 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
263 reviews
17.1 mi away
Suvi Palace
Suvi Palace
#2 of 2 in Vasai
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Vasai Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#73 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,864 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
#71 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort

Property: The Resort
Address: Madh Marve Road | Malad West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400095, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#50 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a resort. The Resort!Your escape from reality is just a short drive away from Mumbai. The Resort - a deluxe beach hotel with excellent relaxation facilities provides you with the soul-soothing ambience of Aksa beach, a luxurious getaway overlooking the sea within the city. Yet away from the chaos. The Resort is an ideal Wedding destination besides the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Resort
The Resort Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing