We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad !! Could be better !!”
Review of The Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Resort
Ranked #42 of 456 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed there a few weeks ago. I suppose the hotel is not been renovated in a really long time as there were a few things which disappointed me. Firstly the Closet was very dirty. I think no one must have opened that closet in months as there was so much of dirt and dust accumulated on the hangers and the safe. Secondly when we asked for 2 plates in the room, they said it would charge us 300 INR per plate. (This was shocking as well as annoying) Which hotel in this world asks you to pay money for a plate which they would be taking back after the guests are done eating.
They price is pretty decent for a beach front property and it is a comfortable and quiet stay but just look out so they do not rip you off this way.
All in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimbaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom1976, General Manager at The Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post a review on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during the course of your stay with us. We will be grateful if you could share your contacts with us or email us on sales@theresortmumbai.com so that we can further investigate the grievances raised by you.

It is only through constant feedback from discerning guests like you that we are able to gauge our services and make amends which is our constant endeavor.

We hope to see you very soon in our midst again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 837 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed there for just a day. Check in 10th Dec and check out 11th Dec. Though i was out for official trip but luckily(got almost a unplanned vacation) or unluckily(1 business day was wasted as Co. picked reort at wrong location far from meeting places) i got 1 night stay here. Property is nice. Beach on the front just 1 Minute walking. The buffet dinner is fantabulous. Soup was very nice. infact the entire spread both in dinner and breakfast was nice. Rooms are exotic. Baywatch magazine caught my first eye the moment i landed in the room. Though for some strange reason i didnt get proper sleep may be because i had to wrap up early in morning or may be my business day lost. But overall a decent stay.

Room Tip: Choose beach facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HimanshuSinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom1976, General Manager at The Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you.

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post a review about your experience at The Resort, Madh Marve, Mumbai. We are glad to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and the services and facilities were to your satisfaction, as complete satisfaction is our goal.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and look forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your personal endeavors.

Warm Regards
Anuj Prakash
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

right on the beach, all hotel rooms are the same - standard - no great shakes - does not differentiate in any manner -- the buffet is the highlight, the food is the best that I Have had in a long time anywhere- lack of variety is more than adequately compensated by the QUALITY and flavour - unlike most places in Mumbai, am sure you will find something to eat greedily on. some areas not cut corners on goes a long way in customer satisfaction. Vanilla and strawberry Ice-cream is absent thankfully. - in comes Coffee flavour and Butter scotch.
the scorns -- room service is poor - and every bottle of water is repeatedly rubbed down as CHARGEABLE -- thats fine dear - if i will pay for the first i will pay for all of them - dont tell me i will not drink water because you are charging for it and i am trapped on your property.
Staff is polite otherwise and there is a BAYWATCH coffee table book in case you want to flip through something in the room.
PS : dont get scared away by the smell of drying fish -- you will get used to it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himanshu_Jaitly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom1976, General Manager at The Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you.

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post a review about your experience at The Resort, Madh Marve, Mumbai. We are glad to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and the services and facilities were to your satisfaction, as complete satisfaction is our goal.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and look forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your personal endeavors.

Warm Regards
Anuj Prakash
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

If you paying 6,000 rs for a standard room and getting a stained bathroom and bad service, it's not worth it.
I did not find anything exceptional about this hotel.

Rooms are standard, bathroom was old, tub had stains.
Tv would not work, had to keep calling front desk
Only advantage is it's location facing the beach.
Pool was big and clean.
Breakfast very standard

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhshpk_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom1976, General Manager at The Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you.

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to post your review on TripAdvisor

First, please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. However, I am sorry to note that you were not happy with certain issue pertaining to bathroom and service. We have made a note of your points and have taken them up with the concerned department heads who have investigated the same and remedial action taken.

Thank you for your feedback. We do use guest feedback as an integral way of examining our operations and, where necessary, implementing changes that will benefit the overall guest experience at the Resort. As such, your concerns will be taken into account and reviewed, so that we can minimise any similar experience for future guests.

Once again, I regret that your experience at The Resort did not meet your expectations. I sincerely hope that we will have the chance to welcome you and your Family to The Resort to restore your faith.

Warm Regards
Anuj Prakash
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Though it has been around for quite some time, it is always a pleasant feeling while driving toThe Resort. The ambiance and the Resort's access to the beach lends it a very Goan feel. Imagine, you can be in a beach side resort within an hour from Mumbai. Our room had a nice view of the swimming pool and the sea beyond.
We have always relished the various specialties at their buffet breakfast/lunch/dinner at High Tide. Especially their Sunday brunches are lavish, the breakfast itself would suffice for the entire day but then the brunch is so tempting with oriental, Italian, Indian (north Indian, Gujarathi) and not to miss the curd rice from south India and the delicious spread of western desserts and mithais makes it Value For Money.
The place is ideal for conducting marriage receptions in the poolside and lawn areas.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the old rooms as the resort was undergoing renovation. I would recommend the ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom1976, General Manager at The Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Gita,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you.

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post a review about your experience at The Resort, Madh Marve, Mumbai. We are glad to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and the services and facilities were to your satisfaction, as complete satisfaction is our goal..
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and look forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your personal endeavors

Warm Regards
Anuj Prakash
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the Resort for 2 nights from 29th November for our 1st anniversary. After searching a bit for a place to have a nice relax outing in mumbai itself we zeroed down on this place. The location is definitely a big UPS as it is just opposite the Aksa beach and away from the hussles of a big city like mumbai, the place is very quiet and peaceful.

We got ourselves checked into a delux room which has a good swimming pool and the sea view from its balcony. The rooms are big and seem to be just renovated. The food is good and the buffet has varied options to choose from. The best part which i liked the most is the service. Everyone around greets you with a smile and always eager to help you. They try to make sure that you have a memorable stay and take away only happy memories back home.

A place worth visiting if you wanna have a relax outing in mumbai, I would surely like to go there again.

Room Tip: Delux rooms have balcony with swimming pool and sea view. try to get rooms on the higher floors for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogeshkkanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom1976, General Manager at The Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Mr. Yogesh,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you.

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post a review about your experience at The Resort, Madh Marve, Mumbai. We are glad to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and the services and facilities were to your satisfaction, as complete satisfaction is our goal.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and look forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your personal endeavors

Warm Regards
Anuj Prakash
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I had been to this place during monsoon and I was amazed by the quality of service I received. Property is well maintained and rooms are very well designed. This place has raised my expectations. Food is good, pool is placed in a such way that you can enjoy sunset from pool watching seashore. Go there to experience the same. Value for money guaranteed.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank prathama0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom1976, General Manager at The Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you.

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post a review about your experience at The Resort, Madh Marve, Mumbai. We are glad to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and the services and facilities were to your satisfaction, as complete satisfaction is our goal.

I would also like to thank you for having recommended our hotel to other guests as being a value-for-money product

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and look forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your personal endeavors.

Warm Regards
Anuj Prakash
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai (Bombay)
The Retreat Hotel & Convention C...
#110 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
421 reviews
Pali Beach Resort
#205 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
284 reviews
Hotel Accord
#52 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,825 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#80 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
647 reviews
GCC Hotel And Club
#1 of 1 in Mira Bhayandar
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort

Address: Madh Marve Road | Malad West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400095, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#49 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $73 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a resort. The Resort!Your escape from reality is just a short drive away from Mumbai. The Resort - a deluxe beach hotel with excellent relaxation facilities provides you with the soul-soothing ambience of Aksa beach, a luxurious getaway overlooking the sea within the city. Yet away from the chaos. The Resort is an ideal Wedding destination besides the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Resort
The Resort Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing