We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful getaway, complete VFM”
Review of The Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resort
Ranked #60 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway, complete VFM”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a very aptly located property if you are looking for a quick peaceful getaway not too far from downtown Bombay. The property is well maintained - large manicured lawns, a clean pool, direct access to the Aksa beach and several indoor activities. I would recommend this place for families and couples. I have stayed here thrice - once in the villa and the other times in the deluxe rooms. The villa is simply superb - equipped with all modern amenities including an in-house sauna & jaccuzzi. It also has its own private terrace with a great sea view. Would recommend the villa if you are travelling with family. The deluxe rooms are also spacious and VFM. Both food and service are good, plenty of variety in the buffet. There is nothing to do in the vicinity of the resort (besides the beach) and hence I would recommend this for a short stay.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the upper floors - 3rd or 4th as they have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freeworld83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    320
    117
    45
    48
See reviews for
306
217
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very good location right on beach with plenty of tropical greenery in lawn. Rooms are very neat and clean. But front office is not very professional including travel desk. That was the sole dark spot in entire hotel. Breakfast and dinner were really good though expensive.
No nearby shops or other restaurant choices for miles.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank kamlesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not a bad property although I wouldn't rate this is a 5 star property, more like a 3 1/2 star. The room was nice and spacious and clean. The service was prompt and courteous. The food was OK but I couldn't justify the prices. The pool area was not bad but needs upgrading and maintenance. Location wise, it is a little too interior, but given the fact that it is a beach resort, the distance is justified. Good property especially for honeymooners and romantic getaways and for families with kids. I wouldn't recommend this place for business travelers and solos like me only because of the location and there is nothing to do other than lazing around all day. Overall, it was a good value for money and comfort. I would not categorize this hotel as luxurious, but more like "enhanced comfort." I definitely recommend this property for people that seek good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sonnycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked a villa at The Resort for a family weekend getaway and this place was very good in many aspects:
1) Location - Not too far from Mumbai town area and located at Aksa beach. The resort had direct access to the beach

2) Property - The property itself was pretty good and the villa was awesome, just perfect for a family outing. It was equipped with Sauna and Jacuzzi too and there was a private sea facing garden with provision for BBQ as well.

3) Facilities - The pool was large and clean enough and there were other indoor games like TT, Carrom, Billiards.

4) Restaurant - the food was average but they offered many varieties which was good.

Now some negatives:
1) Spa - The spa closed at 6pm in the eve which is too early
2) The temperature control for the air conditioner in the villa was not working properly and we were actually freezing in there. However, the staff was prompt in taking action

All in all a pleasant stay and a good time. Definitely recommend this.

Room Tip: If you are a group of around 6-7 definitely go for the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had some work in Mumbai and at same time kids has school holidays, so we selected The Resort as it was away from the city and yet close. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool a lot. The pool attendants were really nice and helpful. During evenings we shopped at the nearby Inorbit & Infinity malls. The breakfast buffet spread is nice although the bakery can certainly be improved. The drawback of this hotel is it's maintainance - the furniture was creaky, lifts shaky and AC noisy. I think they were renovating so probably the whole place will be better once that is complete. The ocean facing deluxe rooms have a nice balcony overlooking the pool and these rooms are very big and nice. The staff is very well behaved and helpful and their service with smile makes up for the old infrastructure. Overall we were happy with the service and experience but will recommend to visit only when The Resort gets completely renovated.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor ocean facing too with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumantkachru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My friend gifted me honeymoon stay there and it was just so perfect....... room was decorated with rose petals and baloons......with complimentory cake, cookies n champagne......room was spacious overlooking sea.....wow! jst perfect for honeymoon couple. I would like to thank entire hotel staff n specilly hk staff for decorating room so beatifully n front office (Ajay) for alloting nice room and making our stay special and comfertable. My all best wishes with you......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalaka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai (Bombay)
1.4 mi away
The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre
The Retreat Hotel & Convention C...
#116 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
402 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#201 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
277 reviews
17.1 mi away
Suvi Palace
Suvi Palace
#2 of 2 in Vasai
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#75 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,932 reviews
17.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Vasai Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
The E Hotel at Eskay Resorts
The E Hotel at Eskay Resorts
#106 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort

Property: The Resort
Address: Madh Marve Road | Malad West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400095, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#50 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a resort. The Resort!Your escape from reality is just a short drive away from Mumbai. The Resort - a deluxe beach hotel with excellent relaxation facilities provides you with the soul-soothing ambience of Aksa beach, a luxurious getaway overlooking the sea within the city. Yet away from the chaos. The Resort is an ideal Wedding destination besides the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Resort
The Resort Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing