We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average property, poor food/service”
Review of The Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resort
Ranked #50 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2011

First impression of The Resort located in Mumbai yet on the outside because of the location was good. That was lost the moment we got down of the sealed AC comfort of our car as we realized that the nice location stinks so bad of fish smell, you'd mistake you have reached a fish market with tonnes of fish being sold. the enclosed restaurant had a nice view of the sea, but the food was bad and the service even more worse. Besides the food was quite expensive, one can get way better food in restaurants within Mumbai for much lesser. We had received a one-year membership as a gift certificate and we barely used any of it. Not even the stay because our attempts to book a room 3 times over six months failed!! That too given the place didn't look that busy at all. Wonder why? The hotel also looked quite old, and definitely didn't look like a 'resort'.

All in all a below-par experience which I would definitely avoid in future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nandu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 812 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

Have been the resort for both personal and work purposes. Its a good place to spend a quite time with your loved ones. Recreational facilities are ok, but love its beach view. its best to go in winters. Buffet served is good and at night its candle light setting. Rooms are also good.

Room Tip: Beachside rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ritzy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We had stayed at this Resort for 2 nights in the month of Jan 2011. The Resort is a beautiful place for relaxation in a crowded city of Mumbai. The Check-In and Check-out process was smooth. The room and washroom (with bath tubs) was very clean and equipped with all modern amenities. My room (Deluxe-Pool facing) also had a balcony, and one wouldn't really mind sitting the whole day there, and enjoying beautiful view of the Pool and Aksa beach. We could look at the Sunset directly from our balcony.

Good points :
1. Room & washroom was clean/ spotless
2. Lot of recreational facilities- Swimming Pool, Gym, Spa, Games room (with carrom board/pool)
3. Suitable for even young kids- Kids swimming pool, Goofy park with Slides and Swings, and small kiddies room with Tricycles and riders.
4. Aksa beach is directly accessible from the back gate of The Resort
5. Excellent room service- we could get the hot milk for our son even at 11pm in the night.
6. The buffet breakfast, Lunch and dinner everything was good with lot of varieties.
7. Excellent location, you will not feel that you in a crowded city of Mumbai.

Negatives :

1. Did not come across any bad experience as such. However, there are lot of companies who arranges for conference at this resort, and on such days, you have to opt only for buffet lunch or dinner and don't get a-la carte option.. Buffet is very good.. but you end up paying more and eating more too :).
2. Food is expensive- Buffet Lunch- Around Rs.800/- per person and Buffet Dinner- Around Rs.950/- per person. But buffet has lot of options to choose from..

All in all, a wonderful experience, and would definitely recommend this resort to everyone and would like to visit there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank asavari83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

A wonderful place. So near yet so far away from the hustle bustle of Mumbai. Sea facing rooms give a wonderful view of the Aksa beach and the hotel facilities are above average. Good food and courteous staff. All in all a great place to have a relaxed weekend.

Room Tip: Look for the sea facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mukul_Anju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I chose this property for our office conference after seeing 4-5 properties, in Lonavala, Khandala & Goregaon.
The calm & clean atmosphere impressed a lot. The staff was always smiling and courteus. It was a well orchestrated procedure right from showing the property, the pricing, selection of food, best price offer and last but not the least delivering the services.

60 of our staff stayed for 2 nights, attended conference, danced, dined and drank but none of them had any complaints.

Not only the sales person who would get the credit of this sale but all the banquet manager, the chef, the captain all treated us very well and listened in detail about requirements.

I recommend The Resort.

Room Tip: Rooms at 2nd or 3rd floor have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank banerjeeamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We enjoyed ourselves at the resort, thou on arrival we were a little disappointed by its exterior, but were surprised to find the interior really good. Our room was really clean and cozy. The bathroom was absolutely spic and span. My kids enjoyed themselves both in the square bathtub as well as the kiddies play area. Food was okay, they could improve quite a bit on its quality. All in all we had a wonderful time, would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank W C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

having such an option within an hours drive from central mumbai is truly amazing. First of all if you like to spend a weekend near a beach (more at he resort which is along beachside) then this destination is for you.
The property over the last 10 years i find it aging a bit but still qualifies for a luxury resort
The pool, food and service are good (though would strongly recommend to do for the buffet option especially if u r just staying overnight) the in room dining experience was not good
would recommend to bargain for a full board accommodation in advance. Avoid rainy season since with the balcony doors locked you miss out the option of just relaxing to the sound of the sea waves and sea breeze.

Room Tip: second floor sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Retreat Hotel & Convention C...
#114 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
416 reviews
Pali Beach Resort
#193 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
283 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GCC Hotel And Club
#55 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
196 reviews
Hotel Accord
#56 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
218 reviews
Juhu
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#71 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort

Address: Madh Marve Road | Malad West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400095, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#50 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $71 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a resort. The Resort!Your escape from reality is just a short drive away from Mumbai. The Resort - a deluxe beach hotel with excellent relaxation facilities provides you with the soul-soothing ambience of Aksa beach, a luxurious getaway overlooking the sea within the city. Yet away from the chaos. The Resort is an ideal Wedding destination besides the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
The Resort Hotel Mumbai
Mumbai Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing