We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Dhobi Ghat
from $28.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
from $180.00
More Info
from $86.00
More Info
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveler rating
396
411
168
30
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
396
411
168
30
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open air laundry washing clothes railway bridge fascinating place humbling experience take pictures visit this place laundromat overpass washer ironing linens rows stone thousands ironed garments
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

Well worth a visit to see the city's washing being beaten against stones to clean them and then hung out to dry on lines or roofs of buildings. It is massive. You have to watch out for the huge bundles of washing being trundled on carts being pulled by hand.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Surrey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

We visited here by taxi and got out on the bridge so we could overlook the whole area. We went early in the morning as this is when most of the actual washing is done. We were amazed at how many men were washing clothes, sheets, overalls, even saris in stone troughs and then beating some of the sheets on the stone side. The lines of washing were soon pretty full over this huge area. Many of the men had to climb up and down rope ladders to get the lines fastened in place. Such hard work.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank donnison44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

Very huge place tons of clothes are washed by washer-men (Dhobis). It is spectacle see how clothes beaten on a stone dried and folded.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Nangavaram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019

It was quite early in the morning when we visited this place. Decided to observe from a perch rather than startle the 'dhobis' with our presence and trigger happy photo-snapping.

It's quite a sight to behold as we watched them start their day.

Not necessarily a must-see but worth the while. It's quite educational and great for photographers.

Recommended!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Skaramoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019

This was a fascinating visit to see how the Dhobi wallahs do private and hotel laundry for many in the city it is a self contained community which even has its own school well worth a visit

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Penwyllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews