We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable in Mumbai”
Review of Hotel Suba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Suba Palace
Ranked #54 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Uvongo, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable in Mumbai”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was my first visit to Mumbai and I did not know where I wanted to be in the city.Thehotel was comfortable and clean. The situation is good , very close to the Colaba, gateway to India and Taj Mahal hotel and Leopold restaurant . The staff were very helpful with directions, organizing a taxi to the airport and always polite and friendly Breakfast was adequate and tasty. Good value for money. Basic but fine

Room Tip: No advice saw no other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    205
    91
    15
    17
See reviews for
86
149
54
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were early for our room reservation, but we patiently sat and waited for one to be available. I will always remember crashing the moment I hit the bed, and had the mother of all 20-minute power naps before I got up to seize my one day in Mumbai. Breakfast was a very continental buffet. But really, I spent the next 8 hours out of the hotel. When we returned, we had a very good Indian meal with great Indian service that promptly hustles and caters to your needs. We retired to a fairly decent room that is neat and clean (if unsexy), five floors up. We overlooked the view of the traffic jams of Mumbai from the fifth floor -- I'm glad the soundproof windows kept the noise out. What's most important to know is that "Suba" is closer to the airport than it is to tourist sites and shopping plazas on the other side of town which is a legitimate drive away. But if you need to be close to the airport, you won't do much better.

Room Tip: To see the whole crazy city of Mumbai, the higher up the better... not unless you have vertigo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Life_of_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 4 day trip to Mumbai. The price was steep for India, but the standard and quality of the room and the service is equivalent to what you get for the same price in the UK. It was the perfect soft landing for a 3 week tour of the country. The location couldn't be better for touristy Colaba, with plenty of nice restaurants nearby, and of course the Gateway of India at the bottom of the road. Clean, comfortable, nice staff, good breakfast, all mod-cons, and great location. Even the transfer from the airport was better than elsewhere on our trip. I would definitely stay here again if coming to Mumbai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madgesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
287 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Again, I relied on TripAdvisor on my choice of accommodation, and I was not let down. Thank you, reviewers!
Hotel Suba Palace is located smack in the middle of the tourist area of Colaba. We had arranged for an airport transfer and was driven by the friendliest driver ever. He not only guided us with stories through Mumbai as he drove but also gave us tiny bits of trivia about certain places as he drove past them. Nice!
All the staff were helpful and they greeted us warmly when we arrived. A great experience from the start, I especially like the quaint-looking elevator. Our 3rd floor room facing the street-front provided us with a glimpse on the street happenings below. Head up to the rooftop for an unobstructed view of the surrounding areas. It makes for great photo-taking. Complimentary WiFi is available for each device you have, but my one issue was that depending on where you are in the room, the connection strength varies. I found myself surfing the Internet standing by the window as it provided the best connection.
The Gateway of India and the Taj Mahal Hotel is merely a stone's throw away. If trawling the pavements for the best bargains are your thing, Colaba Causeway is another street away and is pretty much like Bangkok's Patpong, but please settle on the right price before purchasing from any of the stalls.
I will recommend Hotel Suba Palace not only for its location, but also for its hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCHSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location for a short trip to Mumbai, it is a 2 min walk to India gate in Colaba and also very close to the famous Leopold's cafe.

The staff all very helpful and it was free wifi (not the best but worked if you stood at the window)

The food was ok, but there are so many great places near by you will not really be looking to eat in the hotel.

It is about 1 hour 20 mins from the airport.

As an affordable hotel with a great location i would recommend the Suba Palace.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

First the good points : the location is excellent being close to the Gateway and Collaba. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was kept clean by the housekeeper.
However we expected more from this hotel having been booked here by our travel agent and they had booked us into some excellent 4 and 5 star hotels in other cities. The room was small and we had asked for a double so they just pushed the twin beds together. There wasn't much room in the bathroom, breakfast was of the standard you would get in a mid-range American motel (in fact I believe it is part of the Comfort Inn group) - not very much of it palatable for Westerners, pre-cooked omelettes were our daily diet!
To be quite truthful this is not a hotel I would recommend for westerners as my wife, during the four days here, felt very uncomfortable dressed in western clothes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveanddore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Location ideal for Gateway to India and OK for British-influenced Mumbai (VT, Cathedral, PoW Museum etc). The rooms are well-appointed with en-suite shower room; good air-con; iffy free WIFI; and cable TV. Also a reasonably priced (but non-alcoholic) mini-bar (e.g. small can of Coke for 50p). Best of all, breakfast included well-cooked omelettes.
One word of warning. I asked about tours and was directed to the hotel's driver (he actually works for an associated company). He sold me a personal tour of 3 hours for 1300 Rupees. He actually delivered a 2 hours tour (which didn't include most of British-influenced Mumbai - Cathedral, PoW Museum, High Court etc) and ignored my request to visit the glass & steel towers in the CBD. He also demanded that I pay road tolls. Despite all this he was shocked when I refused to give him a tip!! No service, no tip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brandreth16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.5 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
798 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#79 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#99 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#132 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#63 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#222 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suba Palace

Property: Hotel Suba Palace
Address: Near Gateway of India | Near Gateway of India, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suba Palace Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing