We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Suba Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Suba Palace
Ranked #69 of 420 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

after a very long trip to india we arrived late to this hotel. Check in was well done efficient and room proved to be clean spacious and well appointed. Considering it's downtown location it was very quiet at dark. Location was tremdous to see the sites as it is just up the road from India gate and the Taj hotel. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the fort in Bombay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor seemed to have the housekeeping services and the biys were less than quiet middle of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G-clayton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    173
    82
    11
    15
See reviews for
65
129
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The hotel arranged a late night airport pick up. The man was there waiting for us (amongst the crowds!!), & he was very nice.
The hotel room had decent hot water & view outside window of the street which was interesting at times.
Hotel had good wifi.
Buffet breakfast was good also(although small). A mix of Indian & western.
Great location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days at the beginning of our trip and then 1 day at the end. Whilst the area (the main tourist section of Mumbai) can be overwhelming, the hotel is a very calming and soothing place. The staff are friendly, and were happy to make recommendations for food or things to see. The rooms were clean, spacious, and had all the mod cons- a/c, large telly, safe etc. Breakfast was really good, fresh food being replenished and staff to help you get you tea and toast to order, or help you determine what it was you were eating (although there are continental breakfast options the curry options were better).

The location is brilliant, just a 5 min walk in one direction to the Gateway of India/ Taj Hotel and the Prince of Wales Museum in the other.

I can recommend the lamb chops at Ali Baba restaurant, on Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Marg and a wander around will bring you to a couple of western bars.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleighLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a "boutique" type of hotel - friendly doorman (and good security) at the street, friendly elevator operator, and friendly reception attendants. I stayed here over New Years 2011 and it doesnt get better than this for location and value. It is one block from the Gateway of India, directly behind the Taj Mahal Hotel (the most expensive in all of India) and walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, and museums. The breakfast room was bright and spotless, and the breakfast buffet offered anything you could think of for either a Western or Indian breakfast. I liked the mix of Indian and Western guests. This hotel is a winner!

Room Tip: They all seemed good. My room was right off the reception area - but it couldnt have been quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElissaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Decent, clean rooms, tasty breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. Great location, close to the taj hotel and the gateway to india too. Make sure you make the short trip to khyber palace for one of your meals - great food there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days at the start of our month long stay in india. The hotel is good for seeing the sights of mumbai and close to some really good restaurants. The rooms are a good size and are clean. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of different dishes. Hotel was more then I would have expected to pay for this level of hotel but by mumbai standards I think it is as good as you will get.
We did have a problem with someone trying to contact us and been told that we were not staying at the hotel. but on the whole it is ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Good choice in Colaba. Location is great and hotel is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#180 of 420 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#116 of 420 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#55 of 420 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#89 of 420 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentley's Hotel
Bentley's Hotel
#128 of 420 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#139 of 420 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suba Palace

Property: Hotel Suba Palace
Address: Near Gateway of India | Near Gateway of India, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 420 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Suba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suba Palace Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing