We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical for short stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Mumbai
Ranked #131 of 431 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The property has aged. As soon as you enter, you can't help notice the wooden staircase which takes you to the first floor which has the reception and the rooms. If you are travelling alone and need a cheap place for short stays, this perfect for you. With economy comes not so courteous staff. The complementary breakfast is also below average. When I stayed there, I used to come only to sleep in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbhambri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

For a solo traveler this is prob the cheapest, cleanish place you will find. Still overpriced, even by Mumbai standards.

Rooms are boring and very dormish. Somewhat clean. Common toilets. This hotel is really a 'jam as many people in a room' flophouse for locals.

Worst is the internet policy. They periodically black out the internet on purpose. Westerners lose it. The sheepish staff are just following illogical orders.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Arriving late our hotel of choice The Travelers Inn was full but directed us a street over to the Windsor. At 1880 we were grossly overcharged for our room which was as close to a 'dump' as we have ever experienced. The room was dirty, every bit of it. The shower did not work and the whole hotel had a 1970's asylum feel to it. We have stayed many places around the world but money for what you are getting; this hotel is likely the worst we have ever experience. The wifi only works between certain hours and not within your room. Instead you need to go to the "common area" which is a small room with a table and a couple chairs. We literally checked out at the crack of dawn and even that was not early enough. We ended up going down the road to the "Hotel Everest" which was also basic but the staff were helpful and the rooms were clean. The nightly bill at the Everest was only 1000. To summarize if you are thinking of staying at the Hotel Windsor, just don't!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeBigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place should be shut down on legal terms. First of all, I had to pay the doorman $50 to let me in after midnight. If that wasn't enough, I made it to reception one minute late (my room was cleared well in advance) and six thugs (3 who dubiously claimed to be cops) beat my nose bloody. If you're still not convinced, breakfast is pure crap- 7:30 to 9:50 if you're lucky, and dry toast, cheap jam, and the tiniest dollop of butter you're ever seen. Still not bad enough? The owner fired the night porter for letting me talking to someone whom she thought was a drug dealer. How this place stays in business I'll never know.

Note pictures- bloodied nose from 'Cop" staff, also the drain from the sink simply splashes onto the floor!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is Mumbai, so you know in advance you will pay too much for your room. We only got to this hotel because the travellers inn was sold out. A non inviting hallway leads you to the second floor. The lady at reception is very friendly and helpfull. The hall and stairs are packed with backpackers with their laptops and Ipads. I guess they don't have wifi in the rooms. We got a double room with bathroom for 1880Rs (the cheaper options have sheared bathrooms) and the first impression was OK. But then it started: no hot shower, only hot water from the tap wich is steaming hot for 30 seconds and then lukewarm, dirty sheets ans smelly blankets, AC was in the room but did not work and when I informed how I could get it to work, the only answer I got was "no aircon!", an extremely noisy ceiling fan, dirty bathroom, a mirror full of stains -could hardly see myself in it-, a tap that I hardly dared to touch. To get hot water, a switch in the hallway has to be turned on, and staff always turns it back off. There is constantely a lot of staff in the hallways that is very pushy and nosy, always trying to have a peek in your room and try to get in with any excuse, waking you up at 8am for breakfast almost breaking the door down to get in while breakfast is till 10am, at 7am there is someone yelling in the hall as if he is selling chai on the street or so, TV is constantly breaking down.
We had a room at the back of the hotel, and the building at the other side has not drains, so all the water just pours out of holes in the wall and splashes on the metal roof below making a horrible loud noise. Bring earplugs!
Breakfast is included and was ok, only the chai was undrinkable and bitter. Location is quite good, walking distance from CST train station.
One thing was very nice, we had to catch a night flight and were allowed to stay in the room till 7pm without extra charge, so we could freshen up before leaving for the airport. That deserves an extra service point.
This hotel is acceptable because it is one of the less expensive options in Mumbai, but it certainly is NOT the best choise you can make and maybe spending a few rupees more can get you into a much better place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JobAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very good hotel, the room was clean. Since they were full they gave us a room with no shower but it was just perefect for our budget. The bathroom is shared but also very clean.The staff is very friendly, they were willing to help us and took very good care of us.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonzalogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank Ramoucho86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#73 of 489 in Mumbai
669 reviews
West End Hotel
#128 of 489 in Mumbai
233 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#131 of 489 in Mumbai
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colaba
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#62 of 489 in Mumbai
460 reviews
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#71 of 489 in Mumbai
496 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#16 of 489 in Mumbai
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Mumbai

Address: 10 Kumptha Street, Mumbai 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 431 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price Range: $12 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Windsor Mumbai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Windsor Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing