We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mumbai City Tours- Day Tours - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic real Shantaram tour with Prabhakar's brother Kishore Khare!

As a HUGE fan of Shantaram, I researched high and wide for a tour that would take me to the places... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
dinadubi24
,
Madrid, Spain
Shantaram

I had the chance to finally meet him so here's Kishore Khare, Prabaker's brother contacts! You can... read more

Reviewed January 10, 2019
llichRausa
,
Milan, Italy
via mobile
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
32
4
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
4
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour interesting facts tour guide amazing city open air laundry real mumbai marine drive juhu beach kishore stops characters bombay slum sassoon highlights perspective sights
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 43 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

I had the chance to finally meet him so here's Kishore Khare, Prabaker's brother contacts! You can reach him on whatsapp easily!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank llichRausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2018

We were a bit skeptical at first, but the Shantaram Tour with Kishore Khare is an awesome 5 hour tour of places in Bombay that feature in Shantaram . A Marathi-speaking native, Kishore is a 62 year old excellent tour guide. His late brother, Prabakar Khare, as well as his parents Rukhma and Kisan Mango Khare are all featured in Shantaram, so the tour feels super authentic. Regardless of his connections to the story, Kishore speaks very good English and enthusiastically showed us many of Bombay's most interesting places, such as the open air laundry, Sassoon Docks, the slum Lin lived in and more. At the end we had a late lunch together and a great time. Highly recommended. Starts at 10 AM at Taj Mahal Palace and ends 4-5 hours later depending on traffic. There is no web site or agent to book one simply has to find his number and book the tour directly with him. His price was also extremely reasonable.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank georgl675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2018

We only had the day off our Cruise ship and wanted to get to know Mumbai. We booked a “ city Sightseeing Tour” with Viator which listed it as 5-6 hours in duration. It wasn’t until we met the guide we were told it was a 4 hour tour. Our guide from “ Mumbai Dreams” was a lovely young man with who took us to many places. What the tour lacked was information and explanation. For example we were taking to a point across the street from the Central train station for a photo op. We were not taken inside or given any context on the importance of the Terminus and the volume if people it handled each day. Also our last stop was the Gateway of India. We were given no information on this site. In both cases fellow passengers gave us some highlights that they had learned from their tours over dinner that night. Our guide seemed motivated to be successful in this business and may benefit from more training so he can relate the interesting facts about Mumbai’s highlights in the future. I was also disappointed that Viator did not represent this as a half day tour when we booked.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank TheWalkers9113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Hey guys I would absolutely love to do this tour. Sounds amazing. But how do I book it?!

Thanks
Jordan

Date of experience: September 2018
14  Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

Heena showed us the standard sights - the remnants of the Raj in Mumbai, which are some fabulous examples of British colonial/south Asian architecture mix. For me the highlight of the tours were the lunch box delivery station, the flower market (5:30 am) and the morning fish market (6:30 am)(bring disposable overshoes). Heena also took us to local Mumbai restaurants, instead of the usual tourist restaurants - loved the food.
This was a 1 1/2 day expedition.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank BBLikesToExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews