We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the level of comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
Ranked #41 of 456 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spotted this hotel and decided we would prefer to stay a bit out of central Mumbai and get more for our money. It is particularly good value if you can take advantage of one of their special packages. One word of warning – none of the taxi drivers (either from the airport or central Mumbai) knew where it was, but luckily we had a phone with GPS, and could help them navigate!
We were delighted with our spacious room up on the 9th floor, and had no trouble with noise at all, despite there being a wedding taking place at the Acres Club every night of our stay. The bed was huge and very comfortable, there was plenty of storage space, tea & coffee making facilities and a free bottle of water each every day. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with a nice range of toiletries, a very good shower, and usefully, a pull-out clothes line if you wanted to wash through a couple of small items and get them dry.
The included breakfast was very good, offering fresh fruits and juices, freshly cooked eggs, Indian buffet breakfast and cakes and breads. You could have multiple top-ups of tea or coffee too.
I used the gym at the Acres Club, which was well equipped. We had thought we might spend time by the pool, but it is definitely a pool for swimming, not for lying beside – no lounge chairs or anything like that. We also ate in the club twice, and found the food tasty, so that is an option if you’ve been out all day and don’t want to head off again.
Provided you don’t want to in the heart of Mumbai this is a really well-priced option.

Room Tip: Upper floors are certainly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiFlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you felt comfortable and well looked after by the team.At The Fern Residency, Mumbai we strive to exceed our guest’s expectations at every level & committed to quality services.

The management is committed to ensure the very best of services at all times.

Guest’s feedback s like yours are always very important for us to improve our service standard and we treat each feedback respectfully.

We hope to welcome you back to The Fern Residency, Mumbai once again.

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 459 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

I just returned from my trip to Bombay, India and I stayed at The Fern for 11 days. Room was nice and comfortable. Staff was always eager to help you in any way possible. Breakfast was great for Indian taste, but it may not be for westerners. Choices for westerners were very limited and baked goods were looking terrible. Internet service is terrible in the rooms, but great in the lobby. I was told that they only have 2MBPS service in India so what do you get out of that in a hotel with 99 rooms. Overall, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter than the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shobhana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

We thank you for selecting The Fern Residency for your stay in Mumbai.

We at The Fern Residency, Mumbai appreciates your effort to share the experience on TripAdvisor. Its is indeed encoraging to read your experience and the same has been shared with the team .

Your feedback pertaining to western choices in breakfast & the WiFi connectivity being poor has been well noted & be rest assured that corrective measure has been taken to have them rectified.

At the onset, please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

We do hope that you have the occasion to visit us again and it will be our endeavor to provide you with our best service at all times.

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Budget hotel in the heart so city . The food is tasty and reasonable priced. Rooms are big with wi-fi facility. Using only biotique products which are good for health.taxi is available easily. Monorail is just next door .leisure club is near by and request for using the same. Overall good business otel
Ly

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADITI-ABHISHEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was a privilege to have you stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you were impressed with the overall services at our hotel. I have shared your feedback with my entire team.

We thank you once again for your appreciation and your positive feedback and look forward to seeing you back at The Fern Residency, Mumbai.

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Ok - So you have an "average" budget for your hotel, you don't need the "Taj" experience, nor do you want some motel look-alike shack in down town.. so what are your options?? the Fern!

the stuff are simply amazing - they add such a personal touch with everything, make you feel right at home. Over breakfast they got to know what I like, what I ate, and after a day or so, it was being bought to me without me even asking!
the overall food was excellent, no matter what you ordered.

the rooms' are new, stylish, and clean, and well maintained.

the only draw-back, it's a little away from downtown Mumbai.

I highly recommend the place - and you also get access to the Acres club which has the pool/Gym/Squash/table tennis/karam/chess etc etc

go and check this place out !

Chetan Davdra

Room Tip: no matter which side your room was on, the view is not going to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chetandavdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you for your commendation.

Our main objective at The Fern Residency, Mumbai is to ensure that all our guests are satisfied with their entire experience and it is good to know that you were impressed with all aspects of our hotel.

I have shared your feedback with my entire team.

Your words of appreciation are huge motivation and encouragement for us. We will continue to strive to add more value and comfort to your future stays.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again at The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely plush hotel for reasonable price in an expensive city. Room was large, clean and very comfortable. Comfy bed, sparkling bathroom and shower and good breakfast. Staff helpful. A little tricky to find by taxi, ask for Acres Leisure Club next door.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ClaireDris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel services and my team.

Your words of appreciation are huge motivation and encouragement for us at The Fern Residency, Mumbai. We will continue to strive to add more value and comfort to your future stays.

We hope you will give us an opportunity soon in the near future.

Looking forward to seeing you back at The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised (and not so) when I saw this place is ranked 12th overall iMumbai (at the time of writing this review). Reason being that impost places the Fern label will get you good rooms and basic services. But here you pay the same and get even more, access to the Acres Club facilities (that has a Gym, a Pool and good Club rate eating options..)
Rooms are clean and modern, restaurant serves good food (limited in choice) but 8/10 items are cooked very well. A well stocked bar and good trained hotel staff...
All in All the best Value for Money...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prayag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you so much. It was really heartening to read your feedback and I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and services that we offer.

I have shared your feedback with my entire team, your words of appreciation are a huge encouragement & motivation for us at The Fern Residency, Mumbai.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed few night in December again. Nice economical Hotel in the Town and Location is also central. Standard room with breakfast and free wifi is what i needed and that is what this Hotel provides you with ease. Its a small property and sometimes difficult to find for new visitors. However the dinneri ordered (Non-veg Biryani) was really bad and didn't like any food service within hotel, so i prefer to have food outside.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank iMNasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you for your kind observations on the facilities and services offered at The Fern Residency, Mumbai.

I have personally noted down your feedback regarding the quality of food & service rendered during your stay, be rest assured that all corrective measures have been taken to have the same rectified.

Your valuable suggestions will definitely help us address areas of concern and will most certainly help us restructure and synergize the processes to the levels expected.

Looking forward to your continued patronage.

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
4.7 mi away
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hote...
#15 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
705 reviews
9.0 mi away
Residency Sarovar Portico
Residency Sarovar Portico
#20 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
361 reviews
10.2 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
#156 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
121 reviews
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Navi Mumbai
7.8 mi away
Hotel Yogi Executive
Hotel Yogi Executive
#3 of 33 in Navi Mumbai
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Residency, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Residency, Mumbai

Address: The Fern Residency, Mumbai Hemu Kalani Marg | Chembur, Mumbai (Bombay) 400071, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 456 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $94 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Residency, Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Residency, Mumbai is located in an up market residential area with high quality malls, cinemas and clubs in the immediate vicinity. Try out the live music & entertainment at The Acres Club within the same complex, Chembur’s beautiful golf course just 5 minutes away or visit the famous RK Studios in a minute’s walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fern Residency, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing