We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
Ranked #33 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The services here are excellent. One thing you notice here is the staff friendliness and helpful attitude. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, the hotel theme is on ancient indian script so one will find different coloured rooms on different floors. Fair distance from airport can take around 30 minutes from airport but cant be better, remember you are in mumbai one of the biggest and busiest in world.
The breakfast is quiet good but can have more indian food variety on the menu. The bar list is great have drinks from round the world enjoyed my evening on bar. dhiraj (hope rightly spelled) restaurant/bar manager was very kind to explain about single malts quite knowledgeable. But was surprised and disappointed to find no Marlboro in this bar. the ambiance here is very pleasing as its white n white all over the lobby level, there is one staff who always keep cleaning this area, quite a task to handle. theres a club next door which is part of the hotel and free for hotel guests(pool, bowling,tennis etc), but one should prefer hotel restaurant for better service, its my preference as a foody traveller. but hotel location is good for business as its quite away from south mumbai-bombay. Will come back.

Room Tip: Rooms really good. location good for business. food quality good in hotel's restaurant. take roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was a privilege to have you stay with us at The Fern Residency, Mumbai. We are glad to learn that you were impressed with the overall services, facilities & the ambiance at our hotel.

I have shared your feedback with my entire team.I regret the inconvenience caused to you due to nonavailability of Cigarettes at the Bar, be rest assured as suitable corrective measures has been taken with immediate effect to rectify it.

We appreciate your feedback with regards to have more Indian items on the menu,will ensure your suggestions are looked into.

On behalf of my team, I Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again in our midst soon.

Warm Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    189
    34
    9
    11
See reviews for
80
60
18
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was transiting Mumbai to my onward flight to Greece. Having a timespan of approximately one & a half days to spend, decided to book in to one of the hotels whereby I can spend some quality time with my local friends.


I must say that it was probably the best of the hotel I must have ever stayed in the city of Mumbai. Having stayed in in renowned international brands, The Fern compared to them is nothing less. Modern rooms, great ambience, cleanliness & the facilities offered at the Acres are the ones to look out for had a great time there. All this at such "REASONABLE PRICE.....UNBELEIVABLE".

The breakfast spread was huge offering a taste satisfying both the India & Western palate.

The staff at the Front desk were amazing, managers on duty are always at your service with a smile on their face with the gesture to help you with all your queries at all time, they really make our stay more comfortable.

Would really return back to "The Fern, Residency" upon my next visit to the city.

Room Tip: Hotel landmark : "The Acres Club" , will help you locate the hotel better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donaldd1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you so much for your valued feedback. It gives us much joy in knowing that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and liked the overall quality of accommodation and service extended by our friendly staff.

We are also glad to learn that you were happy & impressed with the variety of recreational facilities offered at The Acres Club.

We have shared your insightful feedback with the rest of the team at the hotel and they are delighted to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us.We shall ensure that we strive to always meet your needs and requirements and continue to wow you during your further visits.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your favorite hotel in this city as soon as possible.

Warm Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very far off!! Even the pre-paid taxi drivers from the airport did not find it... Despite several calls to the hotel.
Rooms and cleanliness quite nice.
Check out at 10:00 seems very early and unusual. As well as taxis to the airport arranged by the hotel are totally overpriced. Despite business hotel very instable wi-fi. Still far away from western standards!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd206cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Fern Residency, Mumbai!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback via your mobile phone.

Firstly, We are pleased to learn that you have appreciated the rooms & the cleanliness.

That said we are truly sorry for the negatives that occurred up during your stay and we would like to address them:

It appears that the major issue was your taxi driver’s inability to find our hotel.
As you are aware, Mumbai is a huge and widely-spread out city having a number of neighborhoods, the hotel is situated in one these prominent locations and is accessible to the business hubs. The maximum duration for a drive from the airport should be no more than 30 min, however it also completely depends on the level of traffic you may get. Our location is near a well-known landmark (The Acres Club) in Eastern and Central Mumbai and is known to any competent taxi driver who regularly plies that route.
Our location is also very clearly marked on Google Maps.

That said, we unfortunately cannot guarantee the quality of PUBLIC pre-paid taxis taken from Mumbai airport. This is truly out of our control. These drivers are given no training or background checks and are frequently newcomers to the city themselves.

For this reason we always recommend our own airport pick up service (which is very reasonably priced when compared to other hotels or private car services in Mumbai, or airport pick up services in most cities in the world).

While we cannot match the cost of a public taxi, there is a very good reason why most hotels and residents in Mumbai discourage their guests from using such public taxis.

During the tenure of your stay we did have issues pertaining to unstable bandwidth due to a failure by our internet provider. We have now rectified the issue and introduced a back up provider.

SInce our inception, we have had several Western and International guest patronizing our hotel, and appreciating our standards & services as can be witnessed by the generally excellent comments on the Trip Advisor forum.

Your constructive suggestions will definitely help us address the areas of concern. In case you would be visiting the hotel at any given occasion please do let me know (Mr. Sanjib Mukherjee -gm@fernresidencymumbai.com )as I would personally take care of your stay and the arrangements.

Warm regards
Sanjib Mukherjee.
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

we had an excellent stay, the staff was friendly and very helpful, the breakfast was nice as well, though the location is bit away but it is worth visiting and staying, Rooms are modern, very clean and the hotel is good for family. overall it is a good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel services and my team. We are glad to learn that you were impressed with the overall services at our hotel.

I have shared your feedback with my entire team. Your words of appreciation are huge motivation and encouragement for us at The Fern.

On behalf of my team, I once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again at The Fern Residency, Mumbai.

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Mumbai is an expensive city for good hotels so I am always on the lookout for different options. I needed one night's accommodation before flying home and this was perfect. Just 30 minutes from the airport (ask driver for The Acres Club in Chembur as the hotel is not yet well-known).
The front reception were very welcoming and efficient and the room large, very comfortable and tastefully decorated with designs inspired by scripts from different Indian languages. Everything worked well: room service, ironing board request, help with ordering local taxi to get to Colaba (45min away). The breakfast buffet is excellent and varied with fruit, cereal, a variety of hot options. They are clearly aiming at the international business traveller and I felt they set an excellent standard. I appreciated being able to look out of window onto a city view. My stay was too brief to take advantage of the sports and leisure facilities on site but they certainly seemed like a nice addition.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueheron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Fern Residency, Mumbai !

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on Trip Advisor forum. We are pleased to learn that you were impressed with the overall services the hotel had to offer & especially the breakfast.

I have shared such wonderful comments with my entire team, as the team truly prides itself on being able to provide a home away from home to our patrons.

We truly value your business and hope you will give us the opportunity to host you once again at our hotel and make your experience a rejuvenating one.

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentallen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have a great stay at the Fern Residency, the staff here is very friendly and helpful. They have a good breakfast buffet and the food is good. They are very clean and well maintained, we found them to be very reasonably priced for what they offer, great value for money! The only bad is that they are not in a prime location, they are bit far away from Mumbai center but we managed to find out way there everytime. We were very happy with our stay here, we will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It was a privilege to have you stay with us at The Fern Residency, Mumbai. We are glad to learn that you were impressed with the overall facilities & services at our hotel.

I have shared your feedback with my entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Fern Residency, Mumbai.

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Brand new hotel. Very good bedding, nice rooms and very nice service. All confort for business or pleasure. Access to the sport club with big swimming pool and all sports facilities. Buffet breakfast. About 45 minutes from airport. On Sunday quick access for visiting Bombay. Dining at The Acres good and fairly priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjib M, General Manager at The Fern Residency, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your commendation.

Our main objective at The Fern Residency,Mumbai is to ensure that all our guests are satisfied with their entire experience and it is good to know that you were impressed with all aspects of our hotel.

Thank you so much for your patronage and we hope to see you when you are next in Mumbai.

Best Regards,
Sanjib Mukherjee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
7.2 mi away
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bo...
#34 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Orchid
The Royal Orchid
#147 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
#141 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hote...
#15 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
7.5 mi away
Royal Orchid Central Grazia, Vashi
3.8 mi away
The Oriental Residency
The Oriental Residency
#59 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Residency, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Residency, Mumbai

Property: The Fern Residency, Mumbai
Address: The Fern Residency, Mumbai Hemu Kalani Marg | Chembur, Mumbai (Bombay) 400071, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Residency, Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Residency, Mumbai is located in an up market residential area with high quality malls, cinemas and clubs in the immediate vicinity. Try out the live music & entertainment at The Acres Club within the same complex, Chembur’s beautiful golf course just 5 minutes away or visit the famous RK Studios in a minute’s walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Fern Residency, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing