We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting mix of food, good service, erratic wine quality”
Review of Umame

Umame
Ranked #133 of 14,577 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“interesting mix of food, good service, erratic wine quality”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

went with local friends, its a restrained decor but a happy group of diners, locals, visitors, children. Menu is broad and as often happens with multi cultural menus it is good generally but not excellent in any single country style. Clearly popular as it was full.
Wine was erratic quality but probably the general issue of transportation and storage of wine in India which makes it difficult to mainatin quality, however wine is not inexpensive,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank combebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    70
    27
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food and Decor. One star less due to service and price.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great food (not outstanding). We had the Sushi and Masamman curry, along with some cocktails. Everything was great except the Sushi (just about average).

The Masamman was hardly authentic, but it was great. The cocktails were also very nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie0Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great taste !”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

One of the new comers in Japanese cuisine alongwith some of the Med cuisine is also served...try out it's Sushi rolls and the Lamb Shank...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaushikds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Limited Delicacy”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant in May 2013 for a family dinner. This is an off shoot of JOSS which was earlier at Kalaghaoda. We had pre-booked our table as they have two seating timings - 8:30pm and 10:30pm we prefer the earlier as its less crowded and food is on time, before the kitchen gets busy with orders.

We were very satisfied with the decor. Its simple dark toned wood and glass styled restaurant with seating at a distance. This is largely appreciated since the restaurants can get crowded and cattery at peak dinner time. The staff is well trained to take in orders without writing them down and they sure do know to do their job well.

The food servings were not very big nor small just perfect, but a single dish is just about right for one person so if you are in a group try to take multiple orders. The big hits on the menu oriental crab soup, dim sums, sushis, veg red curry pot rice and singapore chicken fried rice were really good. The menu does feel limiting for a vegetarian option, but they do have some delicacy to try. Overall good presentation of food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paymach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food, un-trained service.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Could not express it in any other way.....

The food is good. Yes, the portions leave a lot to be desired, literally and figuratively.
I'd recommend the crispy duck with pancakes & plum sauce. The soft shell crab is truly wonderful.

Be prepared for wines listed on their minimal list not being available, so, do not have your heart set on any particular one.

The service is very good. I'd say there would have been at least 1 person per table on that Wednesday night.

On the whole, I'd come here maybe once everytime I visit India.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thesahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umame also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Umame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing