We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ginger Mumbai Mahakali
Ranked #50 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very good budget hotel”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel it at a very insignificant location in Mumbai. But it is a very good hotel. Neat and clean rooms, beautiful dining area, and a very nice food menu. The only problem was perhaps the soup. Something new to me was the fact that you can refill the bottles on your hotel corridor. So, free water!

We were promised a double bed, but got a twin bed room. That and the abysmal soup taken aside, this is a hotel I would go and stay again. In fact I will be visiting Mumbai shortly and might consider this hotel again..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayan_bhattacharyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Mumbai Mahakali, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Mumbai.

Your concern about the F&B offerings has taken up with the F&B partner & we have asked the team to ensure that food quality is upto the standard. You will experience a marked difference in the quality & taste of our F&B offerings during your next visit.

We are sorry to hear that your dissatisfaction regarding the options available on the beds and its size. We have escalated your feedback to the concerned department for corrective action.

We are nevertheless glad that your overall stay experience was delightful and also we would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for the cleanliness of the hotel, rooms, restaurant and facilities which will be passed on to all concerned departments.

Providing the best of services to our guests has always been our endeavor. We regret and find it unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. We assure, you will experience a marked difference during your next visit. Looking forward to see you at Ginger Hotels soon!

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    93
    53
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
22
23
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We got very good rates in Ginger Andhery Mumbai, it is new hotel, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, good to stay for a short business trip. Decent staff with very good service. If you book little prior you get very good rates, I have also used the hotel for a day check-in with a very decent price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeets123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Mumbai Mahakali, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback & words of appreciation.

We at Ginger Hotels will continue to maintain our standards to enhance the overall experience of our valuable guests.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Hotel.

Looking forward to your continued association with us.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Basic no frills clean and well maintained. Don't look out of ur window.nice restaurant which is a blessing cause there are no options around.you have to jus get down from your vehicle and get into ur vehicle,what i mean is u can't step out of ur hotel. Feels like u are in the middle of a village market. Location is bad.
Absolutely no toiletries provided.Good place to sleep getup and leave.
No centralised ac so lot of noise

Room Tip: View from the room is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreaktheRoutine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Head of Operations at Ginger Mumbai Mahakali, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Mumbai.

The feedback regarding toiletries not being available has been passed on to the house keeping department as we stock such items which could be availed on request.

We are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction, with the location of the hotel. With regards to your concern, we would like to inform you that our website has maps of all Ginger hotel locations.

We understand you were dissatisfied with noise of the AC; the same has been brought to the Engineering department's attention for immediate action.

We would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for cleanliness, which will be passed on to all concerned departments.

It has always been our endeavour to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

After returning back from US, my company alloted me this hotel for one weeks stay. I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are clean, staff are helpful. my AC was not working but the staff immediately came and fixed it in midnight.
the complementary morning breakfast variety is good. overall a very good experience.
there is an option of paid laundry and good free Wifi connection is available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmarNaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Public Relations Manager at Ginger Mumbai Mahakali, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback & words of appreciation.

We at Ginger Hotels will continue to maintain our standards to enhance the overall experience of our valuable guests.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Hotel.

Looking forward to your continued association with us.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed in Ginger Andheri for a week. Rooms are neat and clean. The environment inside the hotel is calm in comparison to the bustling traffic outside. Please avoid rooms in the front of the building. Its closer to the main road and too noisy.

All basic amenities are in place. Being a part of self help group hotels, the hotel gives u many amenities which u wont find in other budget hotels. There is a gym, a common area for ironing clothes, common RO water dispenser etc.

You can get the room service from the restaurant, they had tied up with. Overall nice experience apart from the fact that they are always running short on staff, you might have to wait a bit longer.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitesh7vks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Mumbai Mahakali, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Mumbai.

We understand that you were dissatisfied with the noise from roadside. Based on your valuable feedback, we are looking into the feasibility of replacing the windows with vacuum sealed windows.

Your feedback regarding slow service has been taken into consideration with the concerned department heads for corrective action. The teams have been briefed to be more efficient to ensure that our guests don't face such issues.

We are nevertheless glad that your overall stay experience was delightful and also we would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for the rooms and facilities like Gym, common ironing area and RO dispenser which will be passed on to all concerned departments.

It has always been our endeavor to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

very difficult to get a booking here if you approach them directly,i had to get a corporate booking to make sure i had a room.
just another no frills hotel,only difference tata name associated with it,maybe thats the reason it bit clean.reasonable price if you are staying for a night or two.wont recommend for long stay unless you have booked it beforehand.The staff is not at all helpfull to accomodate you for another day if you forget to extend for a day or more even if the rooms are empty.
rooms are average,you wouldnt expect it to be like that.but what do you expect from a budget hotel?
atleast they could brighten up the rooms,good bed spread,linens,curtains,to make customers
happy n relaxed.
although internet is available,its limited.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Public Relations Manager at Ginger Mumbai Mahakali, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Mumbai.

We are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction, regarding the hotel’s front desk staff. The team has been briefed and training has been imparted to be more efficient to handle such issues.

We have noted your concern with regards to hotel booking and forwarded to the relevant department for immediate action. Also your feedback regarding room appearance has been taken into consideration with the concerned department heads for corrective action.

Please be rest assured that we remain committed to upholding the highest standards of our services, as expected of Ginger Hotels. We are nevertheless glad that your overall stay experience was delightful and also we would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for the cleanliness of the hotel and price which will be passed on to the concerned departments.

It has always been our endeavor to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed for 2 night and 3 days.First of all not provided basic things like soap,shaving kit,dental kit etc etc.. which other hotels will provide all those things for the lesser room rent.apart from that variety of food is not there in 'In-room' dining service Menu card, like rice items..chapatis..etc.Finally i wanted to say is NOT WORTH FOR THAT MONEY.I have to come again to this place by next week for 4days official trip but i will not stay in ginger hotel.
Thank you.

Room Tip: keep Vairiety of food.please provide basic things
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Mumbai Mahakali, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Ms. Radha,

I sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us. I note with deep regret that our services did not meet your expectation during your recent stay at Ginger Mumbai.

Your feedback regarding the lack of basic amenities has been shared with the Hotel Manager. However, as a standard practice Ginger hotels do not provide these amenities but could be provided on request. We will ensure that this is placed in your room prior to check in for your future visits.

With regards to the in-room dining menu, the dishes are intentionally limited to avoid inconvenience to our guests as the space to place the tray is limited and this can become very messy if dishes with sauces and gravies are offered. However, we also have a very elaborate restaurant menu at the restaurant which you can certainly make use of. We have forwarded your concern to the F&B vendor.

It has always been our endeavor to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one. Our Hotel Manager will get in touch with you to ensure that y=he will personally take care of your requirements during the next visit that you have planned.


Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Residency Hotel Andheri
#55 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
446 reviews
Hotel Accord
#52 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
214 reviews
Vile Parle East
Ibis Mumbai Airport
Ibis Mumbai Airport
#48 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,759 reviews
Keys Hotel Nestor
#69 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
506 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hotel Le Grande
Hotel Le Grande
#54 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Mumbai Mahakali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Mumbai Mahakali

Property: Ginger Mumbai Mahakali
Address: Mahakali Caves Road | Near Holy Spirit Hospita, Andheri East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400093, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Mumbai Mahakali 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 116 aesthetically designed Rooms available in Single, Twin and Standard Room types. Enjoy a host of Smart Basics features such as hassle-free check-in, Safe Zone, gymnasium, high-speed internet, meeting rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ginger Mumbai Mahakali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing