We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Foodicted .....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nawab Saheb

Nawab Saheb
Ranked #144 of 14,438 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $61
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nawab Saheb serves authentic cuisine inspired from royal kitchens of India, offering an ambience perfect for dining that is stylish, elegant and homely. The unique pre-set menu offering enables service to be warm, friendly and pampering.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Foodicted .....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

How often to you go to restaurant of a premium hotel with no expectation (considering a past experience and a lousy concierge experience) and come out super delighted.
It's been 3 years that I last visited Nawab Saheb and keeping in mind the past experience I was actually apprehensive, to top it up we were told by the concierge manager that there were no tables available, it was only after immense amount of persuasion did they they agree to give us a table at 7.30 pm.
We were a family of 6, my folks, wife and kids (kids who are so good with food that with a sniff of the aroma of the food, can judges the quality of food)
The ambience, the short menu (specially vegeterian) hadn't changed much but that was the only comparison I could make after 3 years, beyond which everything was qualitative.
The starters were mouth watering, so was the main course, considering that kids tweaked the menu and tested the Chef Mr. Atiqs ability but he delighted us with food beyond imanignation not only with his culinnary skill but also his personalized touch, we could only compare the quality of food to ITC Delhi, which for me is a benchmark.
So my suggestion if you are a vegeterian, and know how to tweak your order a bit then please give Chef Atiq to delight your taste buds, a special mention to the Executive Chef Mr. Sandeep Pande who's should be lauded for the faith he put in Chef Aitiqs safe and skilled hands, and also extending his warmness with a short conversation to engage a patron with his/her feedback.

Wish the Hotel could take cues and learn cause by the time we left it was 9pm and 70% of the tables were still unoccupied (so much for we are Sold out, by the reservation). The hotel is only keen to make Annual members but once done they are least bothered.

So what a shame for a fabulous team to be with disaster of a management.

So kudos to Mr. Sandeep Pande and his team for making a usual dining day to be our best so far.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VishalDugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheidari, Director Operations at Nawab Saheb, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Nawab Saheb !

Firstly i would like to thank you for taking time out to give your valuable feedback . I am extremely delighted to know that we were able to make your evening memorable. Thankyou for recognizing Chef Atiq and Chef Sandeep, i will ensure that they get their due recognition.

It is concering for me to learn about your experience you had three years back and also the incovinience you faced with the concierge team. I assure you that your feedback has been taken very seriously and i will personally ensure that we fix all issues so that such miscommunications are never repeated in the future.

In the end i am extremely glad that you walked away with fond memories and i really do hope to see you soon back at the restaurant. Once again my sincere gratitude for sharing your feedback and assuring you of the best of our services at all times.

regards

Hemant Tenneti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    43
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Robust indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Grest food than was just mind blowing and robust it reminded me of native food from north and my friend just shocked with food coming in and taste was outstandg there signature daal was amaging I think theuy beat peshawari food also

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raj2013yah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Nawab Saheb on sat evening with some guests. The restaurant is on a level lower below the lobby of Rennaissance Powai. The interiors are well done and ambience great. The staff is very courteous.
We had a mix of veg and non veg food. The lamb galouti kebab served on sheermal roti is superb and their signature dish. Everyone visiting here needs to have it.
The dal nawabi is very good on taste and is a must also.
Even though we had ordered the ala carte, they have a fixed veg and non veg menu. The fixed menu is extravagant and good for the food lovers who love to binge.

For rotis, one should try the khamiri and waranki patatha. Something different from the normal tandoori rotis etc.

The sweets/ deserts are worth to try for. Gulab jamuns and kulfi are the ones to check.

Overall was very satisfied .quite place to take the guests with background ghazal music.

Prices are steep but worthy.

Recommend for everyone who wants to have a hand on good indian food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sameer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved d daal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Exceptional food tha comes from nawab saheb n amebience is perfect for all had dinner last night wit group of friend n all loved d kebab n daal which is there USP. And last was paan which was awesome

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank svahar001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kebab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had come with family for dinner n started with special set menu at great price for option which includes lobster, prawns n graeat kebab n some special item called galati was yumm service top notch n perfect n food keep on coming

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paruldambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nawab Saheb also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Nawab Saheb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing