We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Chateau Windsor if you stay in the deluxe room!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Ranked #71 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2007

We were only in Mumbai for a night after an extensive Indian experience. (See our other reviews of hotels: Delhi, Jaipur and Goa). We booked through the hotel website and arranged a pick up and transfer at the airport to the hotel - saves the hassle and best price bargaining! This was very efficient and good vfm considering the distance from the airport to the hotel.

The hotel was just off the harbour front - an absolutely excellent location, ten minutes from India Gate, the Elephanta Island Ferry and lots of sights and the train station!
We paid extra to stay in a deluxe room which was the nicest room we stayed in during our India experience; well worth the extra money. However, we also had a late flight to London the next day and were given a (free!!!) courtesy room for an hour which admittedly was small and less salubrious but you do get what you pay for. Mumbai is a major city where space is at a premium.

Positives: very clean and modern room, comfy bed, a/c, amazing hot power walk-in shower, great location, use of courtesy room, very quiet, efficiently run, helpful staff, will look after your bags if you have a late flight out and need to leave your things to go off exploring.

Negatives: basic rooms are basic but no complaints to be fair. It is 26km to airport (one and a half hours by car - busy traffic)but that's not the hotel's fault and it is worth the effort because of the location.

Extra Tip: we wish we had booked a couple of days in Mumbai - it's amazing and worth spending time in. Good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HolidaySaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Windsor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 483 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2007

We were very disappointed to pay for a deluxe room, which we thought would be a reasonable standard for a 2-3 Star Hotel. However, we got a room without air conditioning, noisey, and with a dirty bathroom and sheets. Would not recommend anyone, even someone we don't like, to stay at this place! DON'T GO HERE!!!!!!

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank frank1234Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Our first port of call in our 2 week India trip in April, so a little surprised at the size of the room. Literally a shoe-box. But this was Bombay afterall with sky-high property prices.

Although we had booked an AirCon'd room, they tried to fob us off initially into a non-AC room. Threatening to leave, they "found" an AC room.

It does have its merits though - it really is very clean and the location is UNBEATABLE. You have the Ambassador hotel next door and Intercontinental 2 mins walk away, and these charge the expected 4-5 star prices.

We didnt spend anytime in the room apart from sleeping, packing etc, and only stayed for 2 nights, so the size and decor of the room caused amusement after the initial "shock" of small room size.

Apart from the initial room hiccup, the staff were very friendly and were flexible with our check out time (we left at 2pm). I would definitely reccomend this place to someone on a mid-range budget, but with cleanliness, location and Air Con as a must.

Oh yeah, there's the fantastic "Gaylord" restaurant 3 mins walk on the opposite side of the road, for the BEST North Indian cuisine we had in our 2 week journey (which included dining at 5 star restaurants and palaces in Rajasthan). On our way home, we stopped off especially at Gaylord to have our "final supper" before flying back.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sportysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

My daughter and I stayed in a "deluxe room" in March for 3 nights. It was clean and the staff was excellent and very accommodating, but the place is a dump. The walls of our room were white tile (looked like a hospital room), the beds had worn sheets and bedspreads that I wouldn't touch (though no obvious dirty spots--just hideous), and a bathroom that smelled of moth balls and through the walls of which we could hear everything in the bathroom next door (including that awful hocking noise). It is a good location, and it was nice to have a safe. Our requests for extra sheets was promptly honored (we didn't want to use the bedspreads), and the place was very quite. When my daughter complained that our room hardly seemed deluxe, they lowered the price! That's the main reason we stayed another 2 nights--that and the very nice staff.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooljeansmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

This is not a hotel with amazing rooms. The rooms are very simple. About half the size of a standard U.S. hotel room, but it still has everything - full bath, nice bed, couch, wardrobe, ac, tv, and wireless internet for $2/hr.

The highlight of this hotel is the service. The room service is at your door the minute you are done ordering. The hotel managers are very helpfull. They will help you with just about anything - laundry $0.50/artical, taxi, car for hire $20/day, resturant deliveries free, cold mineral water $0.70/large bottle.

Over the course of our 4 night stay we got to know the workers there. They truly are there to help you and service you and never once expected a tip. They answered to our every need. When it came time for us to leave, I was truly sad to go. Our stay at the Windsor was like no other hotel. It truly felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TomTom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Obviously, there are far nicer places to stay in Mumbai, but it seems like it would be difficult to get a better deal than the Windsor. However, we sprung for a deluxe room - perhaps recently renovated? - while our friend's room looked a lot less modern.

The front desk of the Windsor is on the 5th floor. The staff aren't super warm, but they were helpful with every request we made. They picked us up from the airport, recommended local restaurants, helped us with directions. Beyond that, there is wi-fi in the hotel, on a pay per hour(s) basis. The room was really clean. Only downside was maybe the bathroom, it smelled like mothballs and wasn't all that big.

As the headline of my review says, you basically get what you pay for. It's not fancy, but it was a good experience for us.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkaboutnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Do, not let the reviews fool you. This hotel is not that nice. The rooms were far from modern, and looked like a bad hospital room from 1950. The bathrooms were not a pretty site, and many share the out walls with other bathrooms. Not even the TV worked right in this place. Far over rated.
Also do not get the pick up service from the hotel, you would do better haggeling with the taxi's, your going to have to get use to it anyway.
The staff at the hotel were good though, that is true. The location is also good. The internet however was not free. They had wireless, but charged 100 rupies per hour.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickknight007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#18 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,782 reviews
West End Hotel
#118 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
226 reviews
Astoria Hotel
#112 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
823 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#106 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
419 reviews
Sea Green South Hotel
#182 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Address: 86 Veer Nariman Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#48 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $77 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing