We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Ranked #71 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Obviously, there are far nicer places to stay in Mumbai, but it seems like it would be difficult to get a better deal than the Windsor. However, we sprung for a deluxe room - perhaps recently renovated? - while our friend's room looked a lot less modern.

The front desk of the Windsor is on the 5th floor. The staff aren't super warm, but they were helpful with every request we made. They picked us up from the airport, recommended local restaurants, helped us with directions. Beyond that, there is wi-fi in the hotel, on a pay per hour(s) basis. The room was really clean. Only downside was maybe the bathroom, it smelled like mothballs and wasn't all that big.

As the headline of my review says, you basically get what you pay for. It's not fancy, but it was a good experience for us.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkaboutnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Windsor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 483 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2007

Do, not let the reviews fool you. This hotel is not that nice. The rooms were far from modern, and looked like a bad hospital room from 1950. The bathrooms were not a pretty site, and many share the out walls with other bathrooms. Not even the TV worked right in this place. Far over rated.
Also do not get the pick up service from the hotel, you would do better haggeling with the taxi's, your going to have to get use to it anyway.
The staff at the hotel were good though, that is true. The location is also good. The internet however was not free. They had wireless, but charged 100 rupies per hour.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickknight007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2006

Stayed: November 2006
8  Thank Nikito_Laurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank exploreanew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ian-of-ypres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

18  Thank strabo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#18 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,782 reviews
West End Hotel
#118 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
226 reviews
Astoria Hotel
#112 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
823 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#106 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
419 reviews
Sea Green South Hotel
#182 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Address: 86 Veer Nariman Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#48 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $77 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing