We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap/mid-range hotel in Mumbai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Ranked #72 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cheap/mid-range hotel in Mumbai”
Reviewed November 9, 2008

You could do a lot worse than this hotel in Mumbai. It's not top end and it's not particularly beautiful, but it serves a purpose - good room, not too expensive and very centrally located. We stayed in the recently renovated first floor with a small window which gave onto the central courtyard. We would have preferred a room that had a balcony onto the street, but those were higher up and under renovation when we were there. The room was well equipped and almost "boutique" standard with a designed bathroom and tv etc - it's been nicely done, though we were looking for more of and old world colonial charm (not really sure this exists any more...). The staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly. Location is great as it's a minute from Marine Drive and five/ten minutes to most the central sights. A great functional hotel - which is not to damn it with faint praise....

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank harryandberyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    228
    82
    23
    15
See reviews for
98
135
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, Greater Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Mumbai hotels are expensive, so you shouldn't really judge the prices by other India prices.

The location of this hotel is amazing - about 50 yards from Marine Drive, within easy walking distance of Churchgate, the museums and galleries at Kala Ghoda.

I stayed in one of the un-renovated rooms. It wasn't the Taj - but then at 30-odd pounds a night I hadn't paid for that! My room was basic but it was spotless, and serviced every day. All four walls of the room were tiled, which looked a bit bleak .

There is a very basic room service menu - Tea, Toast, Eggs and soft drinks, which means you can get breakfast in your room. At Rs 60, the breakfast is good value and the service is fast and (usually) friendly, and the Tea was leaves in a pot with a strainer - something I haven't seen in a UK hotel for years!!

The absence of a restaraunt isn't a problem as there are loads of really good places to eat on Veer Nariman Road. I agree with what's been said on here about the Gaylord (the Garlic Naan there is an amazing thing!) - but I also loved the Tea Centre, on the same side of the road as the hotel, a bit further up VN road

So dion't expect the Taj, as you certainly won't be getting it, but it' does the job!

  • Liked — Localtion, cleanliness and friendly service
  • Disliked — Room a bit bleak
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

I was really surprised at the brilliant standard of my room. It looks as if I had a brand new renovated room on floor one. It was very high tech and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was designer and the staff were all excellent. They were all really helpful and friendly. A great hotel to stay at a very reasonable price that is close to the beach area and offers great views of the ocean from just the end of the street. Also try the great pizza restaurant on the corner of the street, it’s really great food and service.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lmelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

I stayed there for a week in early March 2008. It is an Indian hotel so don't expect 5-star comfort but, having said that, it couldn't be faulted. The rooms were clean, all the staff and reception were very helpful and friendly, there was a personal safe in the room, there was wi-fi available or use of an internet computer if you don't have a laptop. OK the a/c was a bit noisy and expect a bit of noise on the street side but I can't say it worried me. The location is excellent, close to many good places to visit and, most importantly, many good places to eat at. Anything you want (sim card for cellphone, car with driver, etc.) the reception staff are only too happy to arrange. If you want good value in Mumbai then I recommend it. If I return to Mumbai, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MPRD_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I booked 2 renovated deluxe rooms direct through the hotel and they honoured the booking.

OK, this is an Indian style hotel and does not have some of the facillities offered by some of the bigger Western style chains. The old style operated lift only adds to the charm. The renovated rooms are spacious, fairly clean, have AC, a TV, fridge (but no minibar) and en-suites. Some of the renovated rooms have seperate bathrooms, some have balconies and some are more modern than others.

Staff are friendly enough. Service was also quite good.

In terms of location, the hotel is spot on. To the west you have Marine Drive, to the East is the Fort district. Nariman Point (Hilton, Oberoi) are also in walking distance as are a few banks including HSBC. It's worth tipping the staff about 10 rupees now and again (for carrying luggage etc). The Ambassador hotel next door is dated - don't even bother for a drink. Gaylords Restaurant is OK but a few of us got ill (possibly from ordering Indian food there - we are British Indians).

On a negative note my wife is adamant that two of her t-shirts went missing during our stay. Nothing of mine went missing. Please note they do have in room safes for secure items.

The taxi drivers linked to the hotel are OK but we had a few spats with them and ended up hiring new ones each day after they kept on changing their quoted prices. My wife speaks excellent Hindi so we were able to communicate with them fairly well (some of them speak English).

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank clockwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Mumbai is a crowded and expensive metro city, full of interesting historical sites within the city. Picked this hotel for its closeness to the Lamington Road. The hotel is only few minutes away from the beach and the Churchgte station.

I was shocked by its apprearence when I arrived. The lift is the good 60+ year-old "cage lift" we can hardly see it anywhere in major cities. I almost ran away to the nearby hotel when the staff show me the renovated Deluxe room on the 2nd floor. The room is equipped with all the bell and whistle of a typical 4-star room. The only complaint is the door doesn't have the manual lock, as the receiption lobby is on the 5th floor.

There are many eateries and restaurants next door. The Chinese restaurant is a no-no only if last resort. "Mocha" is a great place for coffee and food, very reasonable priced with great taste.

The Internet is cheap and good. The taxi drivers downstairs are reliable. The staff is very helpful.

I'll visit this hotel again if I want to stay south Mumbai.

  • Liked — Location and value-for-money room
  • Disliked — No manual chain lock on the door
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asia-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Chateau Windsor was the first hotel we stayed at on our arrival in India and I was extremely disappointed. Our rooms were very basic with terrible views. Just about all of the staff were rude and unfriendly. Evertime I left my room they were skulking around the hallways staring at me and making me very nervous. I went to the desk to buy stamps and despite there being 2 staff on the desk i was told to go away and come back later! The only member of staff who actually smiled at me or talked to me was the nice guy who covered the evening shift. He always had a smile & chatted when he saw me, unlike any of the other surly looking staff. The door staff will attempt to get you to use the taxi's they hail as they are on commission but if you use one of their taxis it will cost you twice, possibly 3 times as much as one you find yourself & you will find you get a driver that speaks no English which can seriously hamper your journey. We were never shown around the hotel and only logging on to TripAdvisor today did I see in another review there was a roof terrace! This hotel is basic and not worth a penny over £25 a night. It is horrible and seriously over priced.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — I hated it all and was glad to leave
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GeordieJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Astoria Hotel
#108 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
220 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,758 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#111 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#38 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
805 reviews
West End Hotel
#124 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
225 reviews
The Sahil Hotel
#31 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Property: Chateau Windsor Hotel
Address: 86 Veer Nariman Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#48 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing