We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice for tourist sights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Ranked #69 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

this hotel is located in a good part of mumbai - close to the touristic sights of mumbai / colabra area. The hotel is clean, tidy and comfortable - and acceptable for the price.
The staff are generally efficiency and helpful - although sometimes you need to push them to be helpful.
The breakfast was basic, but acceptable for a few days.
If you are looking for a good value basic accommodation in the tourist area of Colabra/Churchgate then this is a good choice. If you are looking for more western style restaurants, bars, coffee shops then i would recommend staying in Bandra /Pali Hill area of Mumbai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sef_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Windsor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 483 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at the Chateau Windsor from 24th April for two nights. I would definitely recommend this place; All staff are prompt and willing to go that extra mile to ensure your stay is perfect. We were not happy with the initial room allocated to us which was near the kitchen. However the reception was more than happy to comply and immediately gave us a better room on the 02nd floor.

Rooms are clean and spacious. As for room service the hotel has menus from various restaurants around the area; the reception is more than happy to order for you.
Location is perfect. The only inconvenience I faced was while using the business centre to access my mails- they have only one printer which doubles up as a fax machine. When we needed some prints in the night it just wouldn’t work and it was quite frustrating, but the staff made every attempt to help us out; which was appreciated.

All in all highly recommended. Felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benedita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excellent location. We were given a choice of rooms, but chose the old-fashioned formica room which was en suite, as opposed to the more modern room which had a bathroom across the corridor. Spotlessly clean. Excellent service. Breakfast basic but adequate on the concrete roof.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PClaireT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed 3 days back for 2 nights. It was our 2nd stay , the 1st was 8 years ago.
This stay was even better because the hotel has been renovated. Check in was smooth and fast. We had booked a triple seater room and were shown two rooms- 302 and 304. 302 was much bigger but the bathroom ( dedicated to 302) was in the corridor. We chose 304 which had an attached bathroom.
Very well renovated rooms. Very clean. Comfortable mattress. No electric kettle in the room. But tea and snacks ( very limited menu ) and breakfast are served in the room as well as in the roof top restaurant.
There is a hair dryer in the bathroom.
The breakfast menu is fixed ( included in the room rent). Lunch and dinner are not served, but can be ordered from the innumerable eateries close by.
The staff are very helpful and polite.
The location is its USP. A stone's throw from Churchgate station and Marine drive, it is walking distance from many attractions. A walk along the sea is so easy due to its location.
Car parking is in the hotel compound itself, which is a luxury in Mumbai.
This hotel is excellent value for money.
We will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: While booking, please ask if the room has an attached bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Creaking up and down in an antiquated lift "driven" by a smiling attendant adds to the charm of this place. Whilst it does not have the appearance of the average hotel, the location is nevertheless very convenient and wonderfully close to the seashore. The service provided was wonderful, and any request was instantly dealt with by a very efficient young lady on the reception desk. Room service could not be faulted. We arrived in the early hours of the morning, and the receptionist was charming and prompt. Having (again!) left my mobile 'phone in my room the hotel telephoned the taxi taking me to the airport to have me recalled!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PadrePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were a group of ten friends travelling together and were in the Delux rooms on the 3rd floor. The rooms were large, wash room a nice size and both were very clean with crisp bed linen changed everyday. We used the hotel for 5 nights and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were always with smiling faces whether it be late in the night or during a rush time, at the same time the staff were very helpful. They served breakfast either in the room or it could be ordered to the terrace at the roof top. It was very convenient that they had the menus from 3 hotels close by from which we could order a meal and it was brought to the room. The location is excellent... 2 minutes to the Churchgate station, 2 minutes from the Marine Drive (if one wanted to walk or jog in the morning or evening, 15 minutes walking from the shopping area in Colaba, 5 minutes away from the Saree shops on Queens Road and walking distance to many galleries and Gateway of India. All in all we enjoyed our days at this hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor Delux AC rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoshiP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We are gap year students and after having a few poor nights sleep in some terrible hostels we checked into chateau windsor for a bit of luxury! Overpriced for what it is, but great staff, clean and spacious. We recommend punday as the driver to use who parks outside- a non-scammer, who allows you to visit the city at a fair price.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,779 reviews
West End Hotel
#125 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
225 reviews
Astoria Hotel
#108 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
822 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#104 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
419 reviews
Sea Green South Hotel
#184 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Address: 86 Veer Nariman Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#48 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $76 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing