We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Mumbai and Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Ranked #77 of 463 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were a group of ten friends travelling together and were in the Delux rooms on the 3rd floor. The rooms were large, wash room a nice size and both were very clean with crisp bed linen changed everyday. We used the hotel for 5 nights and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were always with smiling faces whether it be late in the night or during a rush time, at the same time the staff were very helpful. They served breakfast either in the room or it could be ordered to the terrace at the roof top. It was very convenient that they had the menus from 3 hotels close by from which we could order a meal and it was brought to the room. The location is excellent... 2 minutes to the Churchgate station, 2 minutes from the Marine Drive (if one wanted to walk or jog in the morning or evening, 15 minutes walking from the shopping area in Colaba, 5 minutes away from the Saree shops on Queens Road and walking distance to many galleries and Gateway of India. All in all we enjoyed our days at this hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor Delux AC rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoshiP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 485 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We are gap year students and after having a few poor nights sleep in some terrible hostels we checked into chateau windsor for a bit of luxury! Overpriced for what it is, but great staff, clean and spacious. We recommend punday as the driver to use who parks outside- a non-scammer, who allows you to visit the city at a fair price.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights on January 2011. The hotel is situated on the upper floors of a large ugly building and in the entrance nothing reminds of a hotel. We felt a little bit worried but then the doorman accompanied us in an old fashioned elevator to the reception on the 4th or 5 th floor. Reception was like a public office but rooms were located on a renovated wing. Our room was spacious and clean, in a good condition but the bathroom was outside. It was a private bathroom but we had to go out on the hall to get access to it and this was quite annoying, since we were not informed about that when we made the reservation and since the price was not cheap too( about 80 euros per night). I asked for another room but they told me they hadn't anything available. Our room was also quite noisy, both from the main street and from lack of soundproof between rooms. We liked the rooftop were breakfast was served, because it offered some nice views to the city and the sea. Breakfast was simple(eggs, butter toast) but ok. The hotel is located in a very convenient location, in a walking distance from Mumbai's main attractions and just a few steps away from the marine road where you can have a pleasant walk in the evening, see the sunset, come across with local people and dine in one of many restaurants located on the marine drive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikonas1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were greeted by extremely welcoming staff. Our room was spacious can very clean there was good hot water! I really liked this hotel only thing is that the wifi is not free and also did not work very well - too slow so could not get on. Breakfast is a very simple affair served from the rooftop where there are great views over the city

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tembi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

In a really good location with nice rooms and good service. We were there for 3 nights and loved it all. It's a little funky because you have to take the elevator up to the hotel which is on the upper floors. But they were very nice and accomodating. The price is reasonable and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast on the roof is a definite plus although everything arrived cold because the kitchen is on a lower floor. They did everything we asked - found us a good guide, recommended restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NjMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! Its about a 5 minute walk from Churchgate station and 2 minute walk to Marine lines. Really convenient if you want travel to Mumbai's major attractions.. Clean, comfortable, spacious and friendly staff!! Loved the hospitality shown from the doorman to the receptionist.. We had the superior triple room (3 adults, 2 kids) which was more than enough.. Clean rooms and toilets are not a given in Mumbai and we were lucky that this fit the bill.. Will definitely stay here again! Oh, there is also a vodafone store within 2 minutes if you want to grab an indian simcard (very helpful)!

Room Tip: Breakfast is good! Check laundry rates before your stuff in..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hussain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

THe hotel was perfecly situated and had nice rooms. The staff very friendly and helpful. Nice to sit on the roofterrace and eat breakfast. No luxury, but clean and neat. We will definately come back if we go to Mumbai again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majalisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 463 in Mumbai
1,841 reviews
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 463 in Mumbai
863 reviews
Marine Drive
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#109 of 463 in Mumbai
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End Hotel
#134 of 463 in Mumbai
228 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#132 of 463 in Mumbai
141 reviews
Marine Drive
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#117 of 463 in Mumbai
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Address: 86 Veer Nariman Road, Mumbai 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Marine Drive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai
#47 Family Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $80 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing