We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Ranked #62 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very good stay”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in Mumbai for two nights on the way back from our holidays in India . We arrived very early from the train station and were given the room straight away. Very pleased with the service, would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    226
    81
    23
    14
See reviews for
96
134
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

As the saying goes "you get what you pay for" but here you get a bit more! After staying in a few hotels in Mumbai we found that all budget hotels are not created equal. We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our stay in Mumbai, and could not have been more pleased. Overall we found it to be a very nice budget hotel in an excellent location.The hotel is clean, service is excellent, and you are within walking distance of the best museums. The staff takes every opportunity to make sure you are taken care of. They are friendly without being overbearing or attempting to send you on a tour every time they see you. We stayed in room 205 and the "penthouse" on the 6th floor. I really enjoyed the room on the top floor the best, its a small bungalow surrounded by a garden of potted plants. You have the whole floor to yourself and a small "terrace" area to sit outside and relax. My only (slightly small) complaint is the wifi would range in speed from serviceable to nonexistent. As my boyfriend and I were hoping to get a bit of work done during our stay this presented a small problem. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to see Mumbai on a budget. An added plus is they have a WONDERFUL restaurant right across the street called the Gaylord. We ate here twice during our stay. It helps to have a restaurant within a minute walk that has great food at fair prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived very early in morning in Bombay and they made it very easy after a long flight. Did noot expect much but room was very clean and loads of channels on the tv. Memory foam mattress and location is great for visitors. Great for a couple to spend a few nights there, breakfast good and cheap. If you want a nice place for a fair price pick this one. staff very good as well.

Room Tip: any should be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomAndElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and we have no hesitatation in recommending it to anyone looking for a good value hotel close to Churchgate Station, CST station, Marine Drive and Colaba, Our room was clean and quiet and more than adequate as we intended to spend most of our time sight seeing and only required the room for sleep. The included breakfast on the roof top was basic but it was pleasant to have it out in the open. The reception office was very efficient and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anjar, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staying so close to Churchgate station and the Marine Drive was unthinkable at such a budget.
I earlier expected the authorities to compromise on the service they provide for making it an affordable fare, but i was pleasantly surprised and proven wrong. The room was fantastic, very luxurious, and equally neat. The service is very prompt. The atmosphere is kind of homely, not exactly the sort one would expect from a South Mumbai hotel. But heck, as long as the stay is so comfortable, one would care lesser.
Quite a recommendable place in my opinion !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subarna-8586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here last week for 4 nights during a business visit to Mumbai... I was taken aback when I looked at the Hotel Building from outside.. It was nowhere near a hotel building. It was more of a Serviced Apartment and that became true as soon as I was taken to the reception.

The hotel is 5 floors and the entrance is just a Elevator. You have to take the elevator to go the reception which is on the 5th Floor... Is not a proper reception but more like a government office. Then I was directed to my room which was on the first floor.

Room 109 - The room was not like the other areas of the hotel, this was modern and the furniture and the make of the room is quite new as compared to the building. However there was no Sunlight in the Room. The room has sufficient space but the location was a bit cramped.

For me the fact that there were no signals on the phone was a big dampner. So a warning for Airtel connection holders.. There are no signals et all in the rooms for Airtel mobiles and that was BAD... Imagine being a different city with no phone...

The staff is fantastic and very courteous... However they gave me another bad news which was not what I expected.. There is no restaurant in the hotel... when I say NO... I mean No, Nothing, Niyat.... So for any lunch or dinners you would have to hop out and eat... There are a number of options to eat outside though...

The breakfast which is free is just eggs and bread... or veg cutlets... Coffee and yeah.. that's it....

The location as mentioned by others is very nice... Next to Nariman Point/Marine Drive... Walking from Church-gate station.

Overall an Average experience....

Room Tip: Read my review above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyDua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel has lots of great things going for it - the staff are very friendly and helpful, it's in a great central location, and the rooms are kept very clean. Unfortunately, my room looked into the inner courtyard, which meant that it was rather noisy at night (until about 11pm most nights). That said, the room was good for me (I didn't need loads of space, as I was on my own) and very good value given where it is. Internet access is extra - at Rs250 per 4 hours, but breakfast is included, and it's served on the roof, which is also a nice spot to sit and drink tea during the day. I'd definitely be happy to stay here again when I'm in Mumbai, but next time would probably pay the extra for a "deluxe room".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#107 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#121 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residency Hotel
Residency Hotel
#16 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Green Hotel
Sea Green Hotel
#282 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#109 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Property: Chateau Windsor Hotel
Address: 86 Veer Nariman Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#48 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing