We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Ranked #63 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good value for a central location”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel has lots of great things going for it - the staff are very friendly and helpful, it's in a great central location, and the rooms are kept very clean. Unfortunately, my room looked into the inner courtyard, which meant that it was rather noisy at night (until about 11pm most nights). That said, the room was good for me (I didn't need loads of space, as I was on my own) and very good value given where it is. Internet access is extra - at Rs250 per 4 hours, but breakfast is included, and it's served on the roof, which is also a nice spot to sit and drink tea during the day. I'd definitely be happy to stay here again when I'm in Mumbai, but next time would probably pay the extra for a "deluxe room".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    226
    81
    23
    14
See reviews for
96
134
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

best location possible in mumbai. a hop away from churchgate station, 50 metres from the marine drive and 10 minutes walk from VT.
its a quaint little place at least 50 years old. the rooms are small but more than enough. the service is very good and the staff are old school friendly. if someone is travelling to mumbai and need a taste of old mumbai, this place is as good as any you will come accross.

Room Tip: you can book online. book the deluxe rooms. regular rooms can feel a bit cramped if a couple is plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saikatBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for a night after a long time (20 years!). I used to like it even then and the hotel has improved a lot since.
Location is fantastic with Churchgate station, Brabourne Stadium, Flora Fountain, Marine Drive and Nariman Point at walkable distance. View of the road is also entertaining.
Best feature of this hotel are the rooms! Luxurious in size for a hotel in Mumbai! It accommodated 3 beds and some more space.
There are number of eateries around. Pizza, full meals, snacks everything just at 2-3 minutes walk.
All the employees of the hotel were courteous and eager to provide service.
Breakfast on the terrace is another highlight of the stay in this hotel.
All these at relatively very reasonable pricing.
Whenever I have some work in south Mumbai and have to stay around, I will be using this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the road and that has attached bath (I saw one without attached bath).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubodhSohoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were given a room (515) which was right beside the kitchen/food preparation area. Thought that it was a little strange that food preparation was located on the same level as some of the guest rooms. To get to the room, we had to walk past the kitchen which was a little unpleasant. The problem with staying in a room so near the kitchen is that there is invariably a lot of noise early in the morning as staff prepare breakfasts. I'm glad we only had a one night stay in Mumbai.

The room itself was ok, but nothing to write home about. Room rates in Mumbai are high, so I wouldn’t consider this hotel value for money. The location near Marine Drive is good though.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 5th floor (reception level) as this is where the kitchen area is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Mumbai is a very expensive city. So this hotel offered decent value for money. The rooms are okay, enough place for 3 people, hot water, cheep and fast laundry service, breakfast on the roof top (coffee, tee, toast & eggs, banana).
It is located near the marina drive and therefore easy to reach. You can walk to many places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights on our trip in India and you do get what you pay for here - which is nice considering there are lots of other places that are not as nice and in the same price bracket.
The rooms are clean, modern, and well equipped. The location is great - half a block to marine drive, and a 15-20 minute walk to Colaba.
The only downside is that they charge for wifi - if they didn't I would have rated them higher on their value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at Chateau Windsor 3 nights and it was generally a pleasant stay. Our room was clean and comfortable, no bugs, no dirt. The bathroom was a bit basic, but clean and with hot water available at all times. The tiles on the walls were freaky, but I guess that was supposed to make the room chillier and one can get used to that fairly quickly (even though I felt like I'm at a hospital the first night ;)) We enjoyed the breakfast at the rooftop terrace and very friendly staff (they didn't even let me put stamps on my postcards - did that for me! the laundry we ordered at 10 am was nice and fresh at our door at 5pm sharp!) The location is GREAT - 15 mins to Colaba Causeway, just round the corner to Marine's Drive - wonderful for those evening walks... The only minus was the taxi situation - we ordered one via the doorman the last day of our stay in India. The taxi driver was apparently a friend of the doorman, the price was discussed before we set off (higher than we'd get from the street, but we were OK with this since we wanted to get to our destination quickly and didn't really feel like haggling) - but when we arrived at Juhu, the driver demanded 150 Rs more claiming that that's what was discussed. Not a nice touch :/ Generally I recommend the hotel - a decent place to stay at a really good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladystarrrdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#107 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#123 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residency Hotel
Residency Hotel
#16 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Green Hotel
Sea Green Hotel
#280 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#111 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Property: Chateau Windsor Hotel
Address: 86 Veer Nariman Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#48 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing