We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$232
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$217
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$166
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$121
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$107
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$87
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$112
$73
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
141
238
86
23
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
238
86
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurchgate stationmarine driveroof terraceminute walkdeluxe roomssouth mumbaifamily roomwalking distanceshiv sagarchurch gatenariman pointexcellent locationceiling fancable tvbudget hotelair conditioningtea coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 503 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great start to our trip with a fantastic location next to the marine drive and close to all sightseeing attractions, church gate, university, court house, 20min walk to the Taj and the Gate of India.
The Hotel has no frills but it's clean, safe, comfortable and has a nice shower with hot water. The staff are very friendly and helpful I would certainly stay there again on my next visit to Mumbai. The wifi was a bit temperamental but the staff were very helpful in trying to fix it. It's paid for wifi but its still very cheap.

You are also 2mins from the very popular restaurant Samrat and try Koh at the international continental hotel just on the marine drive it also has a great roof top pool and night bar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've stayed here 8 times in the last 1.5 yrs and I'm not even remotely tempted to look at any other hotel in Mumbai. In the same location, I doubt you would get anything under 5000 rupees a night, and the room size in other hotels nearby, for the same cost, is very small with barely enough room to walk around. Windsor is the best deal in my opinion, when you consider size of rooms and location.
Pros -
*Best location, right by Marine drive and some good restaurants.
*Easy to get cabs right outside the hotel. 5-minute walk to Churchgate railway station
*Very clean, well-maintained and the delux rooms I usually take are spacious and have attached bathrooms. Also I see someone complaining about the room not having cupboards. I've stayed in 6 different rooms, and they have all had cupboards. Also, the cupboards have an electronic safe. One must remember this is NOT a luxury hotel. But the rooms are very comfortable and well-maintained.
The same reviewer complained about plug points. I travel with 2 phones, a tablet and a laptop. I've been able to charge every one of them at the same time in the room. That's like 4 plug points minimum per room!
*Great service. The housekeeping folks and the managers who sit in the 5th floor are accessible 24X7. Many times I've asked for a bottle of water in the middle of the night and have always been supplied with one promptly. They are very flexible about the booking dates during the off-peak season. They try and accommodate all your requests.
Cons -
* Only breakfast, their omelet/toast is very good. But there are plenty of cheap as well as expensive restaurant options all within a 10-minute walk radius. This is certainly not a deal breaker.
*Wi-fi reception in some rooms may be poor.
*You may not find toothbrush, paste etc. But they do provide shampoo, body wash etc.
*The view is not of the Bay. But it is definitely NOT shady, as another reviewer remarks
*Superior room might be a bit cramped, better to take delux by paying 500 bux extra.


Finally, about this statement from a reviewer- "hotel is good if you are to pay Rs. 1000 per night "
Well, I'd like to say - You'd be lucky to find a clean dorm room for 1000 bux a night in this location. At Windsor, you get a spacious room with an attached bath for 4500. It's certainly worth it.

Room Tip: Go for the delux room. It's got cupboards, electronic safe. And the room is more spacious. It's definitely worth paying the Rs. 500 extra!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theflaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was my visit with family and also for business purpose.I stayed in room no.104.The room size was approximately 150 sq.ft.and bathroom was about 40 sq.ft.It can be said that room size is very moderate.Overall cleanliness and service is good.Breakfast is served on terrace where few tables are laid in open.This hotel do not have full serviced restaurant but have pantry.Menu for the breakfast is fixed, either eggs or veg cutlet.The look and feel of the hotel is not plush but very much need oriented.

This hotel may be good for business travelers who requires locational advantage of Churchgate.The price tag is on higher side one may get better choice in this tag.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are better furnished.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSRIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here for the Mumbai test match so it was probably not typical to have so many English residents. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Rooftop was a good place for breakfast and to relax in the early evening but needs an injection of new furniture. Breakfast limited - if you don't like eggs the vegetable cutlets become a bit repetitive!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Chateau Windsor has a great location... Just by Marine Drive in Mumbai... Also near some very good restaurants... Gaylord, Pizzeria, Not Just Jazz by the Bay, and Khyber in Kala Ghoda!!

Stayed here in 2008 and then came back in April 2012... Would recommend it for everyone for its great location, clean and spacious rooms!! Would comeback once again to Chateau Windsor whenever I'm in Mumbai :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safaaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews