We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau Windor Hotel is in ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Ranked #74 of 486 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I would like to tell all the tourist that Chateau Windor Hotel is in ideal location. First of all the staffs, rooms are hygiene and foods really likeable.
Price affordable even it is next to Hotel Ambassador

Very good hotel. safe location. Mainly staffs are friendly and proffessional,

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divakar_poojary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 491 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed for the 1st time at Chateau Windsor Hotel in 2010 and wrote a 1st (positive) review about it. I stayed there again in March and May 2012 and would like to share these recent experiences.

In March, having booked by e-mail, I didn’t pay any advance (vs. the usual one night advance payment on the hotel’s website), which was good, but the night receptionist could not find my booking. I was sent to a 1st floor room and was quite disappointed: same kind of “deluxe” room regarding equipment and décor, same price, but actually not the same value as the 4th floor room where I stayed in 2010: the room had no balcony; it’s one of the “inside” rooms, looking smaller and with a single small window facing the inside of the building: a rather gloomy sight!
Not that the room per se was bad, but it should not be billed the same price as the “deluxe” rooms with a view. To be honest, I was offered to change room as soon as possible, but finally stayed in the same since I was there for a 3-nights stay only.

In May 2012, I stayed on the 4th floor, where my room was just as perfect as the room I occupied during my first stay.
In fact, the hotel’s website features “regular” and “deluxe” rooms, but once you reach the hotel, you are being told about no less than 4 room types, including “suites”. This is rather confusing!
Wi-Fi is still 250 Rs for 4 hours, but during both stays, I experienced continuous connection cuts, which made even checking e-mails barely possible and internet a frustrating waste of time and money. Management seemed to be aware of the issue but couldn’t actually fix it during my stays.

Deluxe room’s price is still the same as in 2010, i.e. 5.000 Rs + tax. I’ve read a negative review by someone feeling scammed by the hotel, but it’s a fact that taxes have been raised several times in Bombay, and lastly in April 2012.
Currently 17.42% is levied (total room price is thus 5.871 Rs) and there’s nothing the hotel can do about it, besides not increasing its tariffs, which it actually did so far: this place is thus all but a scam.

Apart from these remarks about the “enclosed” rooms, unreliable Wi-Fi and somewhat outdated website, there’s nothing to criticise and much to praise: rooms are neat and very comfortable (pleasant decoration, good bed, cable TV, fridge, AC, electronic safe where you can store your laptop, intelligent lighting system … only prime quality amenities in perfect condition), staff is constantly very polite and efficient (a rarity in India), location is ideal in a plush area of Bombay (sea view on the roof terrace!).

A recommended place: if it doesn’t look at all like a Chateau from the outside, you definitely get lots of comfort and service at an affordable rate in a very pleasant area.

PS:
- Hotel has no restaurant but you’ll find plenty decent ones down the street.
- Simple continental BF is served in your room (even after BF time!) for 60 Rs per person only.

Room Tip: Try Deluxe room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegcutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Mumbai hotels are some of the most expensive in the world. Chateau Windsor Hotel is a gem when you weigh its location and price against all other similar hotels in Mumbai. We went in with high expectations after reading some positive reviews and our expectations were met. The Hotel exterior is the most disappointing part of the stay as it is in a fairly aged office building, taking up a few of the top floors. The elevator is old and you might immediately feel discomfort when arriving but the rooms are nothing like the common areas you see. We stayed in a deluxe room on the 5th floor and we had more than enough space, clean and modern bathroom facilities, and barely any noise from outside. The wifi (although not complimentary) has good signal and speeds are excellent. I was most impressed with the staff and their good service. Location is decent, close to Churchgate station and Marine Dr but a bit too far to walk to the Gateway of India. I think you would want to stay closer to Colaba for a short 2 night stay but definitely a good place for the budget but hygiene conscious traveller.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Great location, a few metres from the promenade

Friendly staff

Inexpensive but tasty breakfast, water etc.

Very clean and (looks like) recently refurbished rooms.

I like the idea of a laptop sized safe in the room

Better internet access than my hotel in Delhi - don't try to set up an account (as is implied by the wifi home screen) simply order a code from reception. If you follow the 'log off' instructions, you can switch off the wifi when you don't need (don't just disconnect), i.e. 24 hours is 24 hours of usage not a 24 hour period from when you start using it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This was a ok hotel. Location is very good, close to the Marine drive in Mumbai. If you want to have access to good restaurants, the location is very good. But if you need a hotel with restaurants and good dining options, this is not for you.

The service is ok. The rooms are clean but only offers very basic facilities. This is just a basic budget hotel. If you want little more, then go for the Ambassador hotel next door.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamirPandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The best bit about this hotel is the staff! This was the 1st hotel myself and my partner stayed at on our 5 month trip around India and Asia. The rooms were a little dingey and expensive for what was on offer, however our room was very clean.

The staff were fantastic and very accomodating. The 1st 3 mornings we were recovering from jet lag so did not have breakfast until late, which was after the hotel's set 'breakfast time'. The staff were more than happy to bring us our breakfast though to the roof top terrace.

Every member of staff was always very smiley and friendly (the friendliest we encountered on our travels!). We had booked an overnight train to Goa for 11pm on our last evening. Although the hotel was not able to keep our room (fully booked) they let us use the separate shower rooms and toilets in the hotel and even let us have a nap in their staff room before we had to leave for the train!

Although I'm sure you could find a better hotel room in Mumbai for the same price, I would come back to Chateau Windsor for the service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Upon arrival I was quite sceptical of the Chateau Windsor as the reception area is like something from the 1970s and very untidy! However after checking in and being shown to our room I was pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, clean and fairly modern. The bed was huge with fresh cotton sheets. The view left a lot to be desired but to get a good view in Mumbai you have to pay for it. The roof terrace was quirky and gave great views of across the city. The Gateway to India and Colaba causeway are within walking distance. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 486 in Mumbai
1,878 reviews
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 486 in Mumbai
882 reviews
Marine Drive
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#112 of 486 in Mumbai
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marine Drive
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#108 of 486 in Mumbai
227 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#141 of 486 in Mumbai
144 reviews
The Sahil Hotel
#30 of 486 in Mumbai
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Address: 86 Veer Nariman Road, Mumbai 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Marine Drive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#33 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $79 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing