We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is Must Visit for Visistors !!!”

Jain Temple - Mumbai
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Full Day Mumbai Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The city's most famous temple was built in 1904 and contains ornate sculptures and paintings.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It is Must Visit for Visistors !!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It is a more than a 100 Years Old Temple showing the Rich Culture, Rituals and Tradition of the Jain Community which is perhaps the only community with the very basic Principle of ( Ahinsa ) Non Violence of any Living Being on earth not even as small as an Ant. It is very tastefully Carved on Marble with use of Rich Colours by the Artists who almost complete their whole carrer working on just one Jain Temple. It is also very well maintained with Cleanliness and Hygene. If you are interested in knowing abut the real Culture and Richness of India then you can't miss this temple.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pankit-Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    124
    40
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“More than a Century Old temple in posh area”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a temple which is a part of every tourist who visits Mumbai. The jain community look upon with lot of respect. Its is soothing and good place for meditation. At the time of festivals it is overwhelmed by the devotees which looks excellent

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank drdilipdshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worthy”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A great temple to experience. Take time to learn the views of their devotees. We also did not miss the opportunity to take some wonderful pictures.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank amitchella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Get a View of Jainism”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you to like to visit places of worship of other religions, and you were in Mumbai, I'll recommended you to visit the Jain temple on Malabar Hills. (This appears to a nicer, well-to-do part of Mumbai).

The temple is attractive all right; elaborate achitecture, elegant, tastefully painted, highly elaborate and ornate roof, beautiful statues of saints and elephants, fine crafted pillars and archs and staircases, large main hall with high intricately painted ceiling, etc.

Serene and peaceful atmosphere mostly; but since the temple is beside the main road, expect disturbance from the traffic noise. The people are friendly, mostly can speak English; you may ask them abt anything and you'll get a nice reply. (Jains are known to be highly succesful, educated group of people).

However, advisable to learn a bit on Jainism before going there, for better understanding. Check out why they walk around with face masks. (just google 'Jainism'). It was originally an off-shoot from Hinduism, so you''ll note that the temple design is similar to Hindu temples, but no Hindu gods inside.

Wear decent clothing as you would in any places of worship. Take off shoes where required. Walk around the compound and take pictures, but not inside the temple itself. Be discreet and polite, and you will be welcome.

Get a feel of this ancient, beautiful religion.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jharsuguda, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have never been that religious, and my only intention was to look around the temple because many of my friends have talked me going to this place. I found the environment serene. I was able to take my mind off my work for few minutes.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank srirang a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jain Temple - Mumbai also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Jain Temple - Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing