We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel with great service”
Review of Bentley's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bentley's Hotel
Ranked #196 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent little hotel with great service”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very helpful and accommodating people. Free maps, advice. Helped us buy bus tickets and collected the delivery from the messenger. Free water. Nice sea views. Spotlessly clean. They made no fuss about letting us recharge our phones and wait for our night bus ride in a room although we had already checked out. Totally recommended!

(-) no restaurant or room service
(+) helpful, clean, great value

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Łukasz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    113
    85
    38
    45
See reviews for
26
102
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
katmandu
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

the Bentley's is a very popular place for the travelers since ages,located at the center of Colaba,the best area in Bombay-Mumbay for the travelers.
The Bentley's can offer you very good ,spacious rooms with delightful victorian deco',or very narrow windowless rooms with playwood walls,from which the slightest noise from the next room is very very disturbing........
the Bentley's is clean,but sometimes you can be eaten by bedbugs,the service s good,even f the breackfast could be better..........
it is very quiet,especially if your room is facing the small parck,which closes in the evening.
let's say that the Bentley's,if you are lucky ,can be the best place to be in BOmbay-Mumbay!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: double rooms are more spacious ,quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giovannac547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Last time we stayed near CST, this time we wanted to stay in Colaba, and I just picked the one recommended in Lonely Planet. Didn't matter whether or not their choice was reliable, cos as usual we asked to see some rooms before deciding to stay.

First night the room was so big we couldn't really feel the A/C, so the next day we switched to another, still big, only a bit smaller, but the A/C worked much better there, and we were both satisfied.

Given it is Mumbai, at such great location, quiet, clean, good security, with hot shower, big bed, honest and courteous staff, gave us a bit of discount when requested (I guess we got it cos it was low season), and they accept credit card without extra charge, we both think we got a nice deal here! And when we asked nicely, they even cooked for us some instant noodles we bought in the street!

Manager wasn't overly friendly, but he was straightforward, helpful and honest whenever we asked him about anything.

This hotel is certainly a very good budget option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Beware: Accommodation in Mumbai is extremely expensive compared to the rest of India. Finding a clean, decent budget room at a great location is virtually impossible. After having tried various budget establishments around town, I conclude that Bentley's offers the best budget rooms around. Rooms are very spacious and clean. It offers a choice between
'luxury" rooms (more expensive) in the main hotel in Oliver road which is tucked away just behind the main drag in Colaba causeway, and rooms in the guesthouse in Henry road which is adjacent to Colaba Causeway. The Oliver road rooms are quieter than the Henry road rooms. That said, Mumbai is one of the noisiest cities in India and unless your room is sound proof you can forget about a quiet night anywhere in the city.
Staff are very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Non-street facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended in an old Lonely Planet as a favorite place for the economy traveler. We made a booking via e mail and received a three page writing of all the rules and regs and what if's. Our flight arrived late so we came to the hotel at midnight. Our second floor room had no proper lock. The TV only carried Indian language chanels and only in the morning. No toilet paper in the bathroom and no hot water. This was all for only 58 dollars a night. Things were so bad that is was futile to complain to management about the breakfast of hard toast and tea. Just leave...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderlust_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days from mar27-mar29. Took the small room,which is decent.Best thing about this hotel is the location.Right in hub of Colaba causeway and walking distance to gateway of India,BSE and other iconic Point of Mumbai too are nearby. Service is normal/average but given the room rates, I think they are good. There is no room service except breakfast-bread/butter/tea. But overall staff is good and location makes it a VFM Hotel. Besides there are plenty of restaurants all around.So Good for budget traveller.

Room Tip: i stayed in Annexe Bldg.The room I got had balcony towards colaba causeway and I liked that.I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Mumbai is an expensive city, and with this in mind, Bentley's rooms for appr. 30 Euro per night are a good budget choice in a nice neighbourhood. It is close to many sights and restaurants, but in a quiet side street. Our room was very small and rather worn and spartanic, but clean. The mattress, however, was one of the hardest I have experienced in India. 

Also, we had a negative experience connected to Bentleys: The driver the hotel sent to the airport to pick us up ripped us off, charging the price of 900 Rs per person and not per car. After a 20 hours flight I was too tired to realize this. Bentley's management reacted rather professionally and said to the driver that they believed us. The driver kept on denying that he overcharged us, but returned at least 450 Rs. I don't know if he still works for Bentley's, but I hope he will not try this again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stina_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Causeway Hotel
#383 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
99 reviews
Hotel Godwin
#138 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
240 reviews
Hotel Blue Bird
#290 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#82 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
634 reviews
Ascot Hotel
#104 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
301 reviews
Hotel Suba Palace
#62 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley's Hotel

Property: Bentley's Hotel
Address: 17 Oliver Road | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bentley's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bentley Mumbai
Bentley Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing