We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel in most happening location of Mumbai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentley's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bentley's Hotel
Ranked #175 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel in most happening location of Mumbai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Very elegant neat old British house architecture, helpful staff, and few steps for the most iconic buildings of Mumbai, got a good deal of about rs 2800 for 4 people will definetly recomand to others for pleasant stay in Mumbai

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikemannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    110
    84
    38
    42
See reviews for
24
100
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our first experience with Bentley's was so good that we decided to revisit the hotel when in Mumbai for the new year. And we weren't disappointed.
Since we booked a room quite late, it seemed like we wouldn't get a room in the main building of the hotel, and instead would have to stay in the annex building, in a room without an attached bath.
But on arrival, we requested Mr. Jaffer for a room with an attached bath in the main building, and he obliged. Very helpful and courteous staff indeed.
The room was nice and spacious, and the woodwork gave it a nice feel.
The best thing about Bentley's though is its proximity to prominent landmarks such as Gateway of India, The Taj, Colaba Causeway, Cafe Leopold, etc. So, it was fun walking around on New Year's eve, and welcoming the New Year at Leopold without a bother of walking back the short distance to the hotel at 2 AM :)
The complimentary breakfast at the hotel is the only sore point, and I sure hope the staff improvise on that front.
But the only eyesore apart, it was a good start to 2013 at Bentley's.

Room Tip: No idea about the annex building, but rooms in 2nd floor of the main building are quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We (2 female travellers) stayed in Bentley’s for 2 nights, room 20, an ensuite medium room at 2275R/night. We were surprised to find that the room was located on the opposite side of the road to the main hotel, and a little dubious when having climbed 3 flights of stairs, we were confronted with Indian men wrapped in towels, getting dressed!
The room is in a corridor with some rooms without en-suite, some with. However, these men were all quite friendly, and there are 1-2 other guest rooms on the same floor
The room itself is quite large, with a breakfast area, coach and very large, comfortable twin beds pushed together. There is a ceiling fan, and optional AC for an additional fee. The television does not work. It is reasonably clean, with high ceilings and a balcony overlooking the side of the building. The bathroom is very clean, modern and well equipped however there was little hot water (not that you need it when it is 28+ degrees outside!) Overall, one of the better Indian hotels I have stayed in, clean and comfortable. Very little road noise, just lots of birds outside. Price seems reasonable for Colaba. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Bentley's doesn't overachieve at all, but we were more than happy there. so it is technically a 3 but in reality i gave it a 4.
The Lonely Planet says it feels a bit like the Shining ... and it does, without the scary kids, blood and 'here's johnny!' stuff... so really, it;s just a big building. The crows and state of the building are all a part of the inexplicable India-charm and i was quite taken with the actually building and tree lined street.
The staff are friendly and helpful (organised us a taxi to the airport etc), the location is fantastic (close to the colaba causeway) No restaurant or internet cafe in the Hotel but like i said, the causeway is outside the door..
The cost was pretty good for Colaba (more expensive in Mumbai than it is in the North)
I recommend Bentley's and would be happy to spend a few more nights there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sventhebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights in November and despite some bad reviews i was pleasantly surprised. The building was in good condition for Mumbai and it felt safe
we opted for a small room, but this was perfectly big enough for out suitcases and all or belongings. It was excellent value compared to other hotels in South Mumbai.
the only negative (like all my other hotels in india) was the mattress. It was solid and really hard to sleep on. But like i say, i didnt stay on one comfortable mattress in the 3 weeks i was in India

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel twice always for one night - when we came to India and when we were leaving. I have to say, that we were very satisfied with the rooms and the service. The reception was very helpful, arranged quickly all what we requested.
We were renting two rooms - one with attached bathroom, the other one had private bathroom in the corridor. Both rooms were spotless, same goes for bathrooms. They were furnished with this old style furniture, but is went perfectly well with the atmoshere of the hotel. Both rooms had nice balconies. The hotel was quiet, very good for taking a rest after exhausting journey.
The breakfast was nothing special, but there are plenty restaurants around, where you can eat whatever desired.
I think it is a good value for the money especially considering the location and I want to thank to all the staff who are working there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarmila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel. The hotel is sprend out over a couple of buildings, with rooms of various quality but ask to look around and choose a room to suit. A little expensive copared to other cities in India, but perfect location and reasonable compared to other major cities around the world. Our room was a good size, clean and had hot water at any time of the day. AC worked fine and comfortable, if a little hard bed (but this is common in India). We had a little balcony over-looking a park. Breakfast consists of bread rolls and jam, and a pot of tea. Staff are friendly and helpful, organised a taxi to the airport for us at a resonable price. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Causeway Hotel
#367 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Hotel Godwin
#122 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Hotel Diplomat
#196 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sea Palace Hotel
#188 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#82 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
The Gordon House Hotel
#94 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley's Hotel

Property: Bentley's Hotel
Address: 17 Oliver Road | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Bentley's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Bentley Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing