We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Mumbai Private Tour Full Day City Tour Dhobi Ghat Hanging Garden Mani Bhavan...
Ranked #3 of 171 Shopping in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Designed in the Indo-Saracenic style of architecture, this dome-topped museum with a blue and yellow stone facade, has art, architecture and natural history exhibits.
Santu Lussurgiu, Italia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

astounding sculptures, and very nice display, everything is well taken care of, and the people (also the guards) are very helpful

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank taariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    259
    57
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Now we are talking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The musuem was always incredible. When my grand father who was very fond of this museum use to take us children with a white sun topi on his head; we use to wonder why is he wasting our time showing us statues and big dead fishes when we would rather be drinking a cola on the boat in the gateway. Not knowing ofcourse that this is how we acquired our love of the museums and our history. Ofcourse whenever we went with all the visiting family children, it was always the same boring torcher.

And now its run in an manner where the today's youth are engaged in the way they must be engaged. Interactive, fun, good guides and plenty of workshops happening. You never know what interesting going ons will be happening now and the day ends before you even realise that it did.

Thats how museum must be run. So cheers to the present museum team. Its absolutely unexpected in India but who am I to blow against the wind. Carry on Please....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecomantra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great museum.. loved the ancient Indian coin exhibit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Shivaji Museum had the best exhibits I saw during my entire time in India. The artifacts were high quality items and well curated. The museum has local India antiquities and art including a very good ancient Indian coin collection but also houses an Egyptian exhibit. There is a modern art gallery as well as a natural science wing… a little bit for everyone. The building itself is a wonderful old colonial era structure well work a visit to see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank techadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayerisch Gmain, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Usually I am not a typical museum visitor. This place really impressed me as it was a mixture of India, history, especially about buddhism and how the country grew in all these years

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IME E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
178 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

A nice museum with a large collection of Indian art spanning a broad spectrum of periods and art forms. The collection does not seem to focus on any specific aspect of Indian art. The musem is rather large and often has special exhibits. It does not quite compare with the National museum in Delhi, but the collection is still strong and well worth a visit when in Mumbai. It is also located very close (walking distance) to the Gateway of India.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank goodgenes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing