We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Mumbai Private Tour Full Day City Tour Dhobi Ghat Hanging Garden Mani Bhavan...
Ranked #3 of 174 Shopping in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Designed in the Indo-Saracenic style of architecture, this dome-topped museum with a blue and yellow stone facade, has art, architecture and natural history exhibits.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
179 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A nice museum with a large collection of Indian art spanning a broad spectrum of periods and art forms. The collection does not seem to focus on any specific aspect of Indian art. The musem is rather large and often has special exhibits. It does not quite compare with the National museum in Delhi, but the collection is still strong and well worth a visit when in Mumbai. It is also located very close (walking distance) to the Gateway of India.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank goodgenes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    265
    61
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Upgrading Woow”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place i have visited with people from other cities or countries coming in for the first time to MUMBAI, & this time i realised that they actually have changed the name to addition of sections like the complete Eqytian section, & my fav Natural History...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trosun2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Can spend hours”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

One of the better managed and maintained museums in India. Huge collection of stone sculptures, old paintings, royal belongings, weapons...also has a section for natural history. A great place for kids to enjoy and learn

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vishakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get knowledge about India”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I learned a lot about Indian religion and history. I didn't make it through the whole building, there is just so much to see. You should go for the audioguide!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank allesforscherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Building Uninspiring Collection”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

good shop at entrance, particularly for books on bombay/mumbai history. they have recently created a downstairs exhibition of sculpture from across the subcontinent but sadly like most museums in India there is little sense of social & historical context and the spaces/places that they came from. nicely lit though. the other floors are in need of funds and better curatorial management. the collections seem haphazard and don't seem to relate to each other. I left feeling disappointed and frustrated. I know that this is an extraordinary country with a rich and complex social, geographical, architectural and artistic history that I had little to no sense of as i wandered through these rooms. These objects could tell fascinating stories in the hands of the right curators.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank loveotherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing