We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chaotic shrine in a little island in the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Haji Ali Mosque

Haji Ali Mosque
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.00*
and up
Private Full-Day City Tour of Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sitting on a jetty in the Arabian sea, this spectacular white mosque was built to honor and house the remains of the Muslim saint Haji Ali.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Chaotic shrine in a little island in the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

You can only access this mosque when the tide is down as the path to get there is completely submerged.
I've been here around 5 times on separate visits during my visits to Mumbai. It's full of locals (both Hindus and Muslims) many of whom climb the rocks at the back of the building. Be sure to walk around the whole place - despite the mayhem and crowds, you can find some respite around the back, where people are either praying in silence, or sitting on benches.

You'll find a lot of people (including the blind and disabled) lining the path to the Mosque, and also street vendors selling souvenirs and flowers and religious items. It's not a particularly pretty sight, and you may get haggled (though I find it much less than other places in India), plus there's a lot of rubbish dumped around the sea, but if you're in Mumbai you're presumably not there for the tranquility and fresh air!

If you go there at the right time you may be lucky enough to hear the blind Sufi singers which is quite beautiful to listen to.

Visit this place if you want to experience a holy Muslim site in the sea, and yet in the heart of Mumbai. It's quite a unique experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya-N-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    398
    180
    42
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
306 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great sufi shrine but terrible entry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Haji ali was a sufi saint and this mosque is built in his memory.It is situated on a tiny island in the middle of the sea and one enters through a pathway from mahalaxmi.
the pathway and entry is choked with beggars and the management has done little to either remove them nor to improve the path considering it has a lot of contributions.
however once you are inside the shrine it is nice ,women and men follow different corridors to get to the shrine ,there are sufi singers sometimes who sing soulful music .
best time to visit would be early morning avoid peak monsoon and not during festivals.
once you come out you can enjoy juices,icecream and fruits at haji ali fruit corner,their sitaphal icecream is super.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sujatapant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Old world CharmHeart of Mumbai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I visited this mosque last year inspite of having seen it at a distance from the road and from rocks near Mahalakshmi temple. There is no fees and no exorbitant charges. Even though it is called a moaque, it is a most secular place. One can buy Chadars made either of flowers or fabric to lay on the shrine. The route can get slippery during high tides. So one may want to avoid that and avoid going during heavy rains as well as the path can get slippery. Absolutely worth a visit and revisit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gayatri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Distraction during the walking visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Three years ago, I was there with my ex-wife with our Hindu friend in his late 60s from Kutch who was in Mumbai for a few days and his pal a Hindu Gujarati man who lives in Mumbai. They suggested a walk to Haji Ali Mosque which is on a little mound about half a mile's walking causeway on the sea. Due to much public and narrow causeway, they both walked in front and us two behind.

So, immediately a beggar girl of about ten years walks with us constantly asking us for money. So, I made polite conversation, asked her name and what she does and what is this and what is that. I knew if I paid her off, another one would take her place. So, we have no time to ourselves with this constant intruder. The two men got no beggar following them and they told her to leave us but then they talked with each other and could do nothing. That is how it went all the way there, into the place and back and then I gave her a few rupees and we took our taxi back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JafferManek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“noorwale bholebhale piya haji ali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This place is always full of people who need divine help no matter you are hindu, muslim, christians, sikhs or else you may go to the divine court of baba haji ali where he is resting in peace.it is located in the waters of arab sagar.a wonderful divine place to pray to ask for peace, love and whatever , if your prayers answered go again to kiss the thresholds of this place to say a true thanks!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanjy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haji Ali Mosque also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Haji Ali Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing