We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel at key location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West End Hotel
Ranked #106 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel at key location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is at key location and very close very close to churchgate station.Though from the furniture and rooms, you can understand it is very old hotel but well maintained and neat and clean.staff is very prompt and offers good service

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rumit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    98
    63
    13
    9
See reviews for
39
39
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waikawa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I first stayed here in March 2009 and have been there on and off for the following 2 years. It is not by choice, but rather due to cost. An average room costs around $120.00 NZ a night. AC is noisy, the rooms are very basic, room service is ridiculously expensive, breakfast menu is berry berry predictable BUT and there is a very big BUT..... The location compared to almost other triple the price hotels is very central and the staff (from the front desk, room service, lift boys to the car parking attendants) are amazing.....
When you enter the lobby, it feels like you have honestly stepped back in time.....huge big fans, decor to match and all that is missing is the ladies with fringe hats and the gentlemen looking dapper smoking cigars....

Rooms
Above average in size that normally has an AC window that has a bucket to catch excess water and that needs to be emptied daily. They do have baby cots, but I wouldn't recommend as I saw them repaint one with lead paint. There are smoking floors and the smell if you walk down the stairs is vulgar.

Room service
Costs an arm and a leg. Like most hotels, the food is bland and generic. The indian food is a combination of western/india and the continental food is the same lol..... Generally room service is quick and you can ask for just about anything. I called reception and asked if someone could go and get some medicine for me as my baby was asleep and it was no trouble. Granted that the Bombay Hospital is opposite and there are literally hundreds of chemists/pharmacys everywhere.

Environment
As the hotel is located next to the Bombay Hospital, outside there are literally hundreds of people with all sorts of ailments. Generally the noise level in the room is fine, although the AC can be at times noisy. If there is a function on the top floor/terrace - this will change.....the elevator will be blocked for hours as it is small and houses maybe 4 or 5 at a push and the music is unbelievably loud - but will finish at around 11 or 12.

Security
I always felt safe both in and around the hotel. I would often go for walks in the evening with my 2 children and although there are beggars, street dwellers and sick people I never felt unsafe. One of the hotel boys if asked will accompany you up and down the street for quick supplies.

Car Parking and or transport
Taxis live outside the hotel so you will always find a cab. Get the price per km first before you even hop in.
If you have a car although parking is limited the attendants will find you a place.


Do not go cheaper and book with Hotel Sapna or Hotel Fortune which is about a 2 minute walk away....the rooms are a quarter, no, no an eighth of the size and although looks cleanish...they both certainly are not....

I have to add that the majority of people that stayed here while I was there seemed to be business people. I was there with my husband and 2 children (2 years and 9 months) and as noted earlier we stayed there on and off for about 2 years (possibly a total of 10 stays). This was due to us visiting Mumbai to oversee our house being renovated. The staff always accomodated our needs, bringing hot water to heat bottles, using bottled water to wash and sterilise bottles, heating baby food for us etc.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelArhanaar... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A great little hotel in a fabulous location. Near Churchgate Station, this hotel is based in the south of Mumbai, making it easy to access all the main hotspots and sites. A clean and simple hotel, it is the staff that make this place a great place to stay. So much so, I go back every year!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonki_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently on a work related trip. Most important thing for me was very very convenient location right in front of Bombay Hospital. Nearby access to Churchgate station, Marine Drive sea face.

Rooms were large and well maintained.

The building is old but charming.

An antique lift with open well from all 4 sides was a surprise for me.

Did not taste the food there as I was in a conference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely place, VERY helpful staff (best staff I've met from a hotel in India) and rooms were very clean. Great location and I would definitely return back. Only downside was the expensive wifi but the breakfast and dinner buffet were good.

Room Tip: Ask to a see few rooms, some twins are bigger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pleasant enough hotel, with friendly helpful staff, there’s always somebody to help you! Breakfast was adequate, buffet style. Would I stop again, yes! it is near Mumbai CSTM and opposite to Bombay Hospital. The room was very big and nice,

Room Tip: room are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesseq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Pleasant enough hotel, with friendly helpful staff, there’s always somebody to help you!
The rooms are a bit shabby and dated but a good size.
Breakfast was adequate, buffet style.
Would I stop again, yes!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsonabike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#57 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Astoria Hotel
#105 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#117 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#114 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Sea Green South Hotel
#138 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
The Sahil Hotel
#39 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Property: West End Hotel
Address: 45, New Marine Lines, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West End Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing