We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West End Hotel
Ranked #105 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a night, it is near Mumbai CSTM and opposite to Bombay Hospital. The room was very big and nice,the staff were good. But the meals were all buffet style and the menu of the lunch and dinner were same. The dinner items were not fresh,the pulao, vegetable,dal and the non veg items of the lunch were mixed with some fresh stuff and served. It is near to the fashion street and there are eateries outside the hotel. Perhaps it is better to stay there and eat outside.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomaSomnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    98
    64
    13
    9
See reviews for
39
39
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wonderful hotel in Mumbai.Located right opposite the Bombay Hospital, this hotel is close to both Marine lines as well as Church gate.
Very good and comfortable hotel with amiable staff members. Excellent managerial staff.
The rooms are very spacious.I think the USP of this hotel is its location.
Must advice your friends and relatives so that they too can experience the charm of staying inthis hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Located exactly opposite the Bombay Hospital, the West End Hotel is a pretty old hotel, and we found the facilities comfortable and the staff pleasant. The most impressive feature of the hotel is the size of the rooms. They are pretty spacious. The bathrooms are good too, and clean.
we felt safe here , amenites and facilties are quite antiquated for the price we paid. Location was okay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfar57tehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yavatmal, India
Level Contributor
303 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located exactly opposite the Bombay Hospital, the West End Hotel is a pretty old hotel, though well-maintained. I have stayed at this hotel often, and always found the facilities comfortable and the staff pleasant.

The most impressive feature of the hotel is the size of the rooms. They are pretty spacious and airy. The bathrooms are good too, and clean. The lobby and the reception area is also of a decently-large size. The restaurant is satisfactory. Like I said, I have stayed here often, and I have no inclination of looking for any other hotel if I have work in South Mumbai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shridhar_Jaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

As a woman travelling alone I felt safe here but the rooms are old, amenites and facilties are quite antiquated for the price I paid. Noisy and poorly furnished. Location was okay- walkable to Marine Drive and Churchgate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sitaananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

When it comes to good food and spending quality time with your family/children outside; West End Hotel, Mumbai is one of those places.

We have since our childhood experienced this place. Now we planned and celebrated our child's 1st birthday. The staff, their support and the excellent food made our occasion; a GRAND success.

Looking forward to visiting the place... again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdilBamanbehram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I know that Mumbai is an expensive city for rooms, even though it is in India. However, the West End rooms are way overpriced. They are dingy and poorly furnished. My wife and I booked a junior suite to have a relatively superior room. However, the junior suite they gave us was especially dark and gloomy. We requested a downgrade to a regular room, which was a little better. At the end of the stay they refused to adjust the room price because we had pre-booked through Agoda, so we were forced to pay for a junior suite. We complained to the assistant manager, who refused to do anything or even give me his name. The best feature of the hotel was the friendly staff (not management).

Room Tip: Be very careful about prepaying for this hotel, because you no longer have any leverage. Junior sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssimring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#50 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Astoria Hotel
#104 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#120 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#116 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Sea Green South Hotel
#138 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
The Sahil Hotel
#41 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Property: West End Hotel
Address: 45, New Marine Lines, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West End Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing