We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veiw of bay, center of old Mumbai town”
Review of Hotel Marine Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marine Plaza
Ranked #38 of 463 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great hotel, with excellent breakfast, nice rooms, great location along Bom Bay, jogging and walks along sea wall, close to Gandhi park, Gates of India, slum of slumdog millionaire, connections to all Mumbai sights, reasonable price, service ok.

Room Tip: ask for ocean/bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladybug195364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for this feedback. It was a pleasure having you and we do hope this visit is one of many .

Have a Great Year.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 585 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Marine Plaza is a pleasant enough hotel but not one that inspires a passionate write up either for or against.

It's in a good location and right on the sea. The room had a strange annex that was supposed to be some kind of office but was really just a waste of good space. The bedroom and bathroom were nice in a bland, slightly old fashioned kind of way. The TV didn't work, the room service tea and coffee took a reminder before they arrived, and the wifi link wasn't easy to use. There was also a charge to use it which is frankly, annoying.

Breakfast was ordinary but with a fair choice of international and local dishes. The bar is bland and boring and there's some far better choices not far away.

Staff are good, special shout out for the Concierge who made some great recommendations for dinner...

All in all OK!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest

We appreciate the candor in your review and thank you for taking the time off in sharing the same.

We will revisit the points raised and hopefully exceed your expectations the next time around.

Wifi is now complimentary at the hotel for 1 device. This is an initiative driven by our guests feedback and you can be rest assured we are listening.

Have a Great year and best wishes to all back home.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A very nicely located hotel in South Bombay on Marine Drive for business or holiday. Morning breakfast (included in the room rates) is a perfect start to your day with a variety of fruits, juices, cereals and dozens of other veg/nonveg items. Very courteous staff and outstanding view of the necklace, if you have the sea facing room, make it a superb experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Its great to know that your stay went off well. We couldn't be more pleased.

Im sure the team will be as excited to know this and continue to put their best foot forward.

We look forward to having you back and Warm wishes to you and your family.

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great location, lovely view of the sea... Little dated rooms. But the service is amazing. The Chinese restaurant on 1st floor is absolutely top notch and I tried it on two occasions. Overall a decent stay. Only areas to improve Internet connectivity and modernise the rooms.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank enjoytravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guests

We thank you very much for this feedback. Its great to know that your stay was enjoyable.

Our hotel truly enjoys a great location and it does go a long way in enhancing one's stay.

Would like to apprise you that the refurbishment of all our guest rooms have now been completed and you will notice the difference on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again and Best wishes from all at Team HMP.

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ref: My stay in Room 1409 dated 13 to 15th Sept 2013

A hotel where there is no life, horrible reception service.

One of the hotels who do not accept : AMEX card, Diners Card etc.,

A hotel who does not explain the Bill details or provide one i had a lumsum figure of 1500 rs for IDD it can be more or it can be less no details.

Bathroom: When i asked at the reception as to why there is no necessities. The reply was that it was my problem if i ask i will get on not suffer no curtsey!

Airport Drop: The Hotel charges Rs 2600/- for a drop !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

People be careful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 848Ravindran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

I am distressed to hear this feedback and the unfortunate circumstances you were faced with. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the team.

A few clarifications that I would like to make is that we do accept all major credit cards such as Amex, Master and Visa and our airport pickup and drop rates are one of the lowest among our immediate 5 star competitors for the same category vehicle. The choice of a private cab instead of a hotel car is always there and comes at lower rates.

The Rs.1500 charge was for International calls to Oman where the breakdown is mentioned on our Epabx system. I am disappointed to know if these details were not shared with you.

I will get all details sent to your booker whose email address is on our records. Please feel free to write to me on receipt and I would be glad to assist in any way.

We do hope we get the opportunity to host you again, We pride ourselves on our hospitality and the transparency in all our dealings and confident of leaving you with better memories next time. Once again my deepest regrets for having failed you.

Sincerely

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The marine plaza hotel in mumbai is an amazing hotel which is on marine drive. Very well located for busniess travel having work in Town area.Food at the hotel is good and have opportunity to just walk and have good food at near by places. the hotel has an un-interrupted view of the queens necklace in mumbai which is a beauty. its location is optimum as it is close to fabulous shopping at the oberoi hotel and is in close proximity to kala ghoda and colaba causeway. the service in the hotel is amazing and so are the restaurants. 24X7 coffee shop is economically priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjayrajvanshi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for this feedback.

We couldn't be happier in knowing you appreciated us on several fronts. I'm sure the team will be excited to know this.

Look forward to welcoming you back and best wishes to all back home.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Big rooms, comfortable furniture, big bathrooms, decently priced great tasting food, excellent service.
Only complaint I have is on the spread for buffet breakfast. There isn't much of a variety nor very many different food to choose from

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you so much for this feedback. Its encouraging to hear the feedback on the product and service.

Your views on breakfast has been shared with our Chef and I'm sure he will look at ways at improving the spread.

I do hope this visit is one of many and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Have a Splendid Year.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 463 in Mumbai
863 reviews
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#77 of 463 in Mumbai
485 reviews
Marine Drive
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#117 of 463 in Mumbai
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marine Plaza

Address: 29 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Marine Drive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#31 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#45 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#55 Business Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $177 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Marine Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Arabian Sea at the end of Marine Drive in Mumbai is the Hotel Marine Plaza, a fashionable, luxury hotel setting international standards in hospitality and comfort. Our fantastic and spell-binding location is best enjoyed from the rooftop terrace garden or the coffee shop. Most of our well appointed bedrooms and suites have the calming view of the Arabian Sea. The Glass bottom pool and Jacuzzi on top of this fabulous 5-story atrium bring out the ‘Unique Marine Experience’ concept of this Boutique Hotel. Hotel Marine Plaza prides itself on the friendly and courteous way it looks after its Guests. Our service is truly impeccable. Our rooms have been given five - star treatment with every amenity to soothe and satisfy the Guest.The international character of the hotel is emphasized by an English Pub 'Geoffrey's' , an Award winning Chinese restaurant, 'The Oriental Blossom' which serves a tempting blend of the familiar with the extraordinary, and 'The Bayview', a 24-hour Restaurant , serving light meals and tantalizing desserts against a panoramic view of the Arabian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Plaza Mumbai
Hotel Marine Plaza Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing