We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Receptionists, but bad Room Service.”
Review of Hotel Marine Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marine Plaza
Ranked #40 of 461 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

At first they couldn't find my reservation, but eventually the receptionists found it, and upgraded me to a suit Which was wonderful. Every time I came across them, I received a warm and caring welcome. Their service is as good as top hotels in NYC. I found the location very convenient. Breakfast was very pleasant besides them waiting to quickly clear my table. Unfortunately, during my stay I came back to my room to find that room service had cleaned my room, but also my clothes where scattered all over the floor. I didn't expect this kind of clean up! Although I received a friendly welcome, I wouldn't go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YlifeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are pleased to know that your stay went off well, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

We lay great emphasis on our training programs in ensuring all guests needs are well taken care of, and your HK comment is not lost and will be taken up with the team to understand this better.

Please forgive us.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 581 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

clean well kept hotel and rooms very inviting. Beds very comfortable in the room, well equipped great pillows. ocean facing is a bonus. The breakfast was well stocked, with fairly attentive service getting confused when more guests showed up. Reception very approachable n management is serious about service. its a great location and when in mumbai, i am coming back here. i have enjoyed sarovar hotel stays. i would avoid using taxis that are called by the door man if the taxi is not metered. i suspect the door man has touts lined up. we had an over charge when using such non metered taxi.stay concerned. i did advise the reception however.

Room Tip: see if they wd upgrade you and or ocean facing. the folks are keen to help out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guests

Great to know that your stay went off well and you were happy with the overall product as well as service.

I'm sure the team will be excited to know this.

In mumbai, all taxis are metered and one must be mindful and insist on the meter. You get the odd one out, trying to earn the extra buck.

The hotel has its own private cars and has no association with any taxi's and you can be rest assured the transparency in booking and the billing is all above board.

We look forward to having you back and best wishes to all back home.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel is worth for its location, calm & peaceful surroundings, courteous staff and cozy room. Above, this hotel is value for money in terms of comfort and simplicity. Breakfast is good in its 24 hour Bay View Restaurant. We can enjoy our stay either with family on vacation or alone on business trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhajaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guests

We are very pleased to know that your stay went off well.

Having being blessed with a great location that offers fantastic views of the Arabian sea, the overall experience can be quite refreshing when combined with a good product and great service.

We are happy to have to have met your expectations and look forward to having you stay with us once again..

Have a wonderful year.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for a week, and changed rooms twice.
The hotel is currently under renovations - on a room by room basis. What this shows is that the hotel is very conscious about overall decor quality (very good) - but what it means is that many of the guest rooms are stinky with paint and solvents (very bad). I arrived at my first room late-night and was so tired that I didn't complain- but after one night I had a booming headache from the off-gassing paint chemicals. I Asked to change that morning and was moved to a floor with new carpets - same thing ...more smell. The third room was un-renovated, so the room was a (little!) bit shabby, some of the the bathroom fixtures were in poor shape, ...but at least no smells or chemicals.

The final room also had problems with the cable TV for the rest of my stay... 500 channels but only 50 working and of those only 10 in English and not showing Bollywood movies. I'm all for experiencing culture wherever I go,... but all the same... hmmmm!

The breakfast is good, with a decent mixed (indian/western) buffet. The bar on the ground floor is expensive but quiet and relaxing, and the overall feeling of the hotel is not pretentious and but very welcoming. The staff are clearly making efforts to keep the guests happy, but they are strictly reactive. If you want anything then you need to ask for it,... and make your request very clear as to what your expectations are.

The rooftop pool and terrace are very nice, and provide a great view over Marine Drive. Almost every evening that I was there there was a private party on the terrace - so guests could not use the terrance to go out in the evening and see the lights, and enjoy the cool breezes. On the one evening without a party, the terrace was closed by security at 20:00. All of this is understandable, but unfortunate, as it is one of the main attractions of this hotel in this location. On the evenings where the terrace is not booked the management should offer the terrace for guests - and providing bar service up there would be smart.

All in all I think the hotel is a very nice place to stay, the rooms are reasonable (when not stinky) and the location and amenities are good. I will stay there again in the future - hoping that the renovations will be completed and the rooms properly aired out. However for those staying in the near future, be vocal about problems and clear about your expectations.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the side street still have a corner view of Marine Dr. and cost less. The full vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for sharing your views and are happy to know that although you were appreciative of our overall staff and service levels, we were found wanting on the product size.

We do have our challenges as you rightfully said due to our ongoing renovation and minimizing the fallout is key to us. We use humidifiers and vaporizers to keep the place as fresh as we can, but yes, its a challenge.

We should be through with this exercise very shortly and I'm sure you will see the benefits on your next visit. We are very focused on getting this right in giving all our guests a great product at tremendous value.

Please accept our apologies and we look forward to your next visit. I'm confident you will leave with fond memories..

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband, daughter and myself decided to stay here after a glowing review from a friend. Staff are always exceptionally polite but not everything that is promised is delivered. For eg. our room was not ready even after 12 noon check in and there was the smell of paint work that made us feel sick. A humidifier was supplied only after complaining. Our suite which had two rooms had towels, robes etc only for one. The petit fours which were supposed to be replenished were not done on the third day. Bathroom very small for a suite. Overall the staff are good but housekeeping needs to shape up. The business centre is not even manned for the 8 hours that it is opened and it is very meagre. I had to used the conceirge's computer in order to check in online before departure. The hotel promises a lot but cannot deliver. Not a good sign if a hotel wants to do well.

Room Tip: If you are a single traveller then this is a central place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for this feedback. We are pleased to know that our staff came across as polite and friendly, however sorry to have let you down from the Housekeeping end.

We have shared this feedback with the team who I'm sure will take this up as a challenge in improving.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to host you once again . We are very keen to make amends and leave you with a more positive impression.

Best Wishes and Have a Great year.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We hosted a party on the rooftop...the view of the queen's necklane a.k.a. marine drive is amazing!!...the food was cooked to perfection and the service was good too...it was quite a memorable experience

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank far_valli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for this feedback.

The Allamanda Terrace has plenty to offer and does a make a beautiful venue for wedding receptions and cocktail parties. We are glad it left you with great memories.

Your comments will be shared with the team and we look forward to hosting you once again.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely location for all the sights with a superb view of Marine Bay. Close to the cricket ground. Good restaurants, friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Good quality rooms and value for money. Fabulous sunsets from the roof top pool! We would certainly select this hotel for a return trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 'superior room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osteofran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest

We couldn't be happier in knowing your stay went exceptionally well.

I'm sure the team will be as excited to know this and motivated further to give their very best.

We hope to see you again and our best from all at Team HMP.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,183 reviews
Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
#49 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
687 reviews
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
857 reviews
Marine Drive
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#114 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
444 reviews
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#71 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marine Plaza

Address: 29 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Marine Drive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#34 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#45 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#55 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $171 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Marine Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Arabian Sea at the end of Marine Drive in Mumbai is the Hotel Marine Plaza, a fashionable, luxury hotel setting international standards in hospitality and comfort. Our fantastic and spell-binding location is best enjoyed from the rooftop terrace garden or the coffee shop. Most of our well appointed bedrooms and suites have the calming view of the Arabian Sea. The Glass bottom pool and Jacuzzi on top of this fabulous 5-story atrium bring out the ‘Unique Marine Experience’ concept of this Boutique Hotel. Hotel Marine Plaza prides itself on the friendly and courteous way it looks after its Guests. Our service is truly impeccable. Our rooms have been given five - star treatment with every amenity to soothe and satisfy the Guest.The international character of the hotel is emphasized by an English Pub 'Geoffrey's' , an Award winning Chinese restaurant, 'The Oriental Blossom' which serves a tempting blend of the familiar with the extraordinary, and 'The Bayview', a 24-hour Restaurant , serving light meals and tantalizing desserts against a panoramic view of the Arabian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Plaza Mumbai
Hotel Marine Plaza Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing