We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for BKC”
Review of Grand Hyatt Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
Ranked #23 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient for BKC”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently stayed for a week during an event at the BKC (which is 15-25 minutes away by taxi). This hotel is about an hour to downtown Mumbai (taxi time can vary dramatically dependent on traffic). First impressions are very good, this a clean modern international hotel. I found reception and concierge service was excellent. Room was superb, comfortable, well appointed, and very clean. Breakfast buffet is vast with a large selection of Asian and western foods, although at busy times be prepared to ask 2 or 3 times and wait for your tea or coffee to be served. I ate on several occasions in the Indian and Italian restaurants, reciving good food and service in both, but the better value for money option is in the downstairs buffet restaurant. If you have recently read that Mumbai is one of the cheapest cities in the world to live in, dont be fooled into thinking that includes the Grand Hyatt, by UK standards this hotel is expensive, the set up capitalises on short stay business travellers.
I did witness a couple of hygene issues in the bar, a waiter standing on the counter to reach a high shelf, and a floor brush used to clean broken glass off the same counter. On neither occasion was the counter wiped clean before normal business resumed.
So in summary a mix of the very best that a hotel has to offer and a few areas that leave room for improvement.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Mumbai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Grand Hyatt Mumbai! Thank you for your valued feedback. While we are glad that you liked the close proximity of our hotel to the central business district of Bandra-Kurla complex, the service extended by our staff and food at our award-winning restaurants Soma, Celini and Fifty Five East, we are concerned to hear that you noticed issues pertaining to hygiene at one of our food and beverage outlets.

In regard to the same, we would like to highlight that our staff generally refrains from climbing on the bar counters for accessing the top shelves or even while following our daily cleaning schedules. Cleaning around our food and beverage outlets is typically carried out in the earlier part of the day to avoid any inconvenience to our guests. We do keep a brush at the bar to clean broken glass pieces and we can assure you that that the same brush is not used to clean the floors. Our housekeeping team is in charge of maintaining the cleanliness around the public spaces and are always on call if immediate attention is required.

We request you to treat this as an isolated incident and regret any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Please rest assured that this is not typical of the high standards of quality and service that we aim to achieve.

We once again thank you for your feedback and truly look forward to welcome you again at Grand Hyatt Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    848
    231
    87
    102
See reviews for
382
279
218
1,662
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, it's perfect to spend a night close to the airport.
Rooms are comfortable, big, clean and beautiful, and the lobby is fantastic.
Breakfast is good, but not excellent.
15 min by car from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gianmarco_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Mumbai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Grand Hyatt Mumbai! Thank you for your valued feedback. We are happy that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and liked the convenient location of our hotel from the airport, the quality of accommodation we offer and the lobby of our hotel.

We are also glad to hear that you liked the breakfast and we will definitely address your feedback about the same with our teams.

We once again thank you for your feedback and sincerely look forward to welcome you again at Grand Hyatt Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Grand Hyatt is a good business option in Mumbai, located close to the airport as well as business areas.

The rooms and good, clean, well kept. There are lot of mosquitos in the area...though the hotel is making all attempts to keep them away.

The staff is efficient. The breakfast options are good, could be better.

Value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Mumbai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Grand Hyatt Mumbai! Thank you for your valued feedback. We are glad that you like the location of our hotel from the airport and the business hubs around the city, overall quality of accommodation and the service extended by our staff.

The comfort of our guests is of the highest concern to us and as rightfully mentioned by yourself, we have engaged the services of the country’s most prevalent pest control company in order to assist us in combating the external environmental issue of mosquitoes.

In addition, we are concerned that though you did like our breakfast options, it did not meet up to your expectations. Your feedback shall be duly shared with the concerned department.

We once again thank you for your feedback and truly look forward to welcome you again at Grand Hyatt Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel stay, good service and great food. The buffet service here is simply the best that I have experienced with different sections around Indian, continental, Chinese, Thai and Japanese. Also a good wine menu. The rooms are large and comfortable. Service is very nice as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiranjib G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Mumbai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Grand Hyatt Mumbai! Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us and are glad that you liked our hotel, food at our award-winning restaurants especially the interactive, multi-cuisine spread at Fifty Five East, the selection of fine wines that we offer, overall quality of accommodation and the service extended by our staff.

We once again thank you for your feedback and truly look to welcome you again at Grand Hyatt Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

i attended a 3 day conference in Grand Hyatt recently and I must say that the service and food quality is a big let down. There were no service staff to serve Masala Chai and when I called them to serve, each one just asked the other to do it and in the end i helped myself....not once, not twice but a few times. The food quality was poor and not up to mark for a 5 star hotel. I suggest more training and friendlier service is required for the staff.
otherwise i wouldn't suggest having a big conference in this hotel, not able to handle and cope with big functions.

Room Tip: Needs more improvement
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Mumbai, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Grand Hyatt Mumbai! Thank you for your valued feedback. We are really sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced in the midst of your conference by our staff and regret the fact that no one from our service team was present on the occasion to assist you with refreshment service.

We are concerned to hear that you did not find the food being served at our hotel up to your expectation. We request you to treat this as an isolated incident and regret any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Please rest assured that this is not typical of the high standards of quality and service that we aim to achieve.

We once again thank you for your feedback and sincerely hope that you would return to Grand Hyatt Mumbai so that we may regain your confidence in some way possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Booked here as the company travel agent got a good rate vis-a-vis the Trident and Sofitel in nearby BKC. Excellent location - 20 minutes drive from the international airport in the afternoon, and 10 minutes from the domestic airport for a late morning departure. Very convenient for business meetings in the north (MIDC) as well as the south (Nariman Point).
Plus points - excellent buffet breakfast, extremely courteous staff, and excellent quality of toiletries. Lobby area very conducive for meeting business guests.
Niggling points - room appeared dated compared to the Trident BKC where I had stayed a year earlier. Water accumulated in the shower area and sounds of dripping and draining continued for 15 minutes. For a hotel so close to the domestic airport, one would have expected a complimentary shuttle.
Overall, fair value for the £125 per night that was charged.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootlooseSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Mumbai, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Grand Hyatt Mumbai! Thank you for your valued feedback. We are happy to know that you had a great time at our hotel.

It also gives us much joy in knowing that you liked the central location of Grand Hyatt Mumbai from the domestic and international airports and the business districts of North and South Mumbai. We are glad that you liked the Lobby area, the multi-cuisine, interactive breakfast spread at Fifty Five East, amenities placed in the rooms and service extended by our staff.

In our endeavour to provide you with an enhanced level of products and services, we are currently undergoing refurbishment around the property to keep up with the contemporary look of the hotel. We are sorry to hear that there was water accumulated in your shower area and the water was dripping in the bathroom for 15 minutes. We regret the inconvenience caused and rest assured the same shall be communicated across to the concerned department.

In addition, we offer complimentary airport transfers to our guests staying in the Club rooms located on the exclusive Club level floors and the suites.

We once again thank you for your feedback and truly look to welcome you back at Grand Hyatt Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt Mumbai to take a break for the Christmas holidays. The rooms were well equipped and maintained well. The restaurants were splendid, we tried the buffet for two meals and they were both excellent with a wide spread of cuisines ranging from Indian, Lebanese, Chinese etc. the dessert section was also excellent. The staff at the restaurant were very friendly and paid special attention to our requests with a nice special touch that made us feel extra welcome. The exteriors are a bit run down, but i could see extensive repair going on to spruce up the exteriors.

Overall great hotel to stay. I would stay again and also recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Nik_Pereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Mumbai, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Grand Hyatt Mumbai! Thank you for the great feedback. We are happy that you and your family spent your Christmas holidays at Grand Hyatt Mumbai and had a wonderful time during your stay with us.

We are glad that you liked the overall quality of your accommodation, the food at our award-winning restaurants; especially Fifty Five East – our multi-cuisine restaurant offering an interactive spread of delicacies from around the world and the personalized service extended by our staff. Grand Hyatt Mumbai has maintained a distinguished presence on the hospitality front for almost 9 years, as you noticed we are currently undergoing renovation and refurbishment around the hotel to offer esteemed guests such as yourself enhanced and refreshed products and services.

We once again thank you for your feedback and truly look forward to welcome you back at the hotel during your next visit to Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,794 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,609 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,748 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,145 reviews
Trident, Bandra Kurla, Mumbai
#7 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Mumbai

Property: Grand Hyatt Mumbai
Address: Off Western Express Highway | Santacruz (East), Mumbai (Bombay) 400055, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#18 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#20 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#21 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Mumbai is located in the centre of Mumbai, India. More than a hotel, it is a multi-dimensional lifestyle complex located just 10 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport and 20 minutes from the international airport and in close proximity to Bandra-Kurla complex, Mumbai’s rapidly developing business district. The hotel features luxurious accommodation, contemporary serviced apartments, dining & entertainment options, spa, recreation & fitness facilities, conference & exhibition spaces & an international shopping plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Grand Hyatt Hotel Mumbai
Mumbai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing