We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Bombay, nice boutique feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gordon House Hotel
Ranked #80 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Gurgaon
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Best location in Bombay, nice boutique feel”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed here for 1N during a quick business trip. The only reason I stayed here was that this was close to my meeting location and I didn't want to travel in rush hour. I was really happy to have made this choice. Located in the back alleys of the Colaba causeway area, nothing can beat the location.
Walking distance to Leopold, Gateway of India, Bade Mian, Taj Mahal Hotel, and many such Bombay landmarks is a definite advantage of the hotel. The hotel is also known for its great Chinese dining place called 'All Stir Fry' and is home to a happening nightspot called 'polly esthers'
The service isn't all that great, but it is more than compensated for by the quirky rooms. Each floor has a theme that the rooms adhere to. I stayed on the Mediterranean floor and the room was nicely done. The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom area was pretty cramped. The check in also happens on the lobby on the 2nd floor. When I stayed here, the exterior was undergoing renovation, but it didn't impact my stay as the workers were not present at the night-time.
Would definitely like to stay here as compared to Juhu, where I usually stay

Room Tip: Grab some breakfast at Leoplod and some Lebanese/iranian dinner at Picadilly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KetanMohile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    117
    33
    18
    33
See reviews for
40
67
48
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed 7 days at the hotel. The room was always clean and tidy and well kept. The service was always attended immediately. Good restaurant and various possibilities to choose your kind of food including good breakfast. Located well close to historical points and views. We would recommend for those who search for cosy home feeling. Noisy on Fridays and Saturday being close to Nightclub.

Room Tip: big and comfortable rooms bur noisy a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyd
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a night during a business visit to Mumbai. The hotel has a very modern European look and the rooms are spacious and perfect for a business traveler.

The service left a lot to be desired. I was given keys to a room occupied by someone else twice. I had insisted on a non-smoking room and the staff for some reason was checking me into non-smoking rooms that had other guest's luggage lying in the rooms. I was pretty angry and the manager called me up and apologized but the experience was a big let down.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

WHY would you put a nightclub in a hotel? Why, why why? People come to a hotel to sleep!

This place has gorgeous rooms and facilities. They have thought of every detail. Very soft sheets and towels, comfortable beds. (One other complaint: the air conditioning in my room sounded like a jet engine; it was impossible to sleep without it because the room is small and stuffy with no fan -- but then it was impossible to sleep anyway, because of the bumping nightclub music. For Pete's sake!)

Hot water, nice shower, good complementary breakfast, fast complementary wifi. Great 24-hour room service menu. Fast laundry service, a very helpful and attentive staff.

Seriously guys, you would have a wonderful place if you'd just close the nightclub and put fans in the rooms/install quieter air conditioning. But the way it is now, I wouldn't come back. I'm looking for a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are close to the front desk and you can hear the phone ringing, people checking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We were very happy to arrive at this lovely hotel at 3am after two hour delays at Immigration and our first experience of India. The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean and well equipped. The location is so close to local sites. Breakfast was great too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moreauwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gove, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

very helpful staff in a handy location; rooms had character and all the facilities you need when on holidays, within easy walking distance to several tourist sites and eateries, shops etc., much prefer to stay somewhere small and friendly like Gordon House than a huge impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Rather than an impersonal hotel, this little hotel has personality and location. We heard absolutely no outside noise and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Nicest of all is the location, only 2 minutes walk to the Gateway to India where it is easy to buy your own tickets to Elephanta Island or you are only a few minutes walk to the lavish Taj Hotel. There is a McDonalds nearby if you are still acclimating to Indian food recognician (which we were). The street behind the Taj has a lot of little stall type stores that sell soda if you like the bottled kind for your mini frig (I rarely drink an entire can). We didn't see any actual grocery stores but only had 2 nights here. The streets were busy as we were here during one of the many festivals but I imagine it is always fun, lots of street shopping available. Every evening at the Gateway there would be lots of gayily lit horse drawn carriages. Loved our stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-2SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#56 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#104 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#246 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#137 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon House Hotel

Property: The Gordon House Hotel
Address: 5 Battery Street | Apollo Bunder, Colaba, Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400003, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#64 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Hotel
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai
The Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing