We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool spot in a great part of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gordon House Hotel
Ranked #82 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cool spot in a great part of the city”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I've stayed here a few times and really like the area - a street away from Colaba Causeway, very near Gateway of India and in close proximity to excellent restaurants and fabulous shopping. It doesn't take long to feel like you belong here ...even the street dog Gauri belongs!! Gordon House Hotel is comfortable with a bit of charm in the individually decorated rooms and a good oriental restaurant downstairs. It's kinda casual with an international feel - you are likely to bump into interesting world travellers here, and Polyesther Nightclub on the ground floor pumps on weekends....careful that you don't stay in the rooms above the club, unless you're okay with thumping floorboards until around 3am. A good enough breakfast and reliable service make this a good choice....but I feel it's way over-priced.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms directly above the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    118
    33
    18
    33
See reviews for
40
67
48
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Located right behind Regal cinema and a stone's throw from the Taj is this boutique hotel.A perfect place to be located in S.Mumbai without having to get ripped by the usual 5* tariffs of Mumbai.Great theme rooms with good ambience and an even greater service.Neil at the front desk is an epitome of great service and hospitality.The only disadvantage is if you get one of the lower floor rooms over the disco - the floor vibrates!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Gordon House is more famous for its disc "Polyesther" and its restaurant "All Stir Fry" than for its rooms. But if you get a chance its a nice hotel to be in. And as a bonus the entry to disc is then free for you :)

But coming back to the rooms. Each floor is done up in a different style and that is what is real charming about this cramped little hotel. I've stayed in the Mediterranean one and I'll have to say, you won't find this kind of a decor anywhere else in Mumbai.

If you are staying close to the weekend, then try avoid the second floor its right above the disc, unless you like sleeping to some thumping music :)

The location is awesome, being right next to the bustling Colaba Causeway and also the business center of the city. To say it in a sentence. It gives you the best of both worlds :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MystiqueWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I booked this hotel based on the recommendation of the Wallpaper Guide, hoping to find something small but reasonably chic and relaxing. For the price I'm afraid even if you are on the 4th floor its terrible value for money compared to other hotels in Mumbai. The furnishings were tired and cheap, the room looked like it hadn't been redecorated for a good few years and was quite grubby. The fixtures and fittings were basic, and the air conditioning was really noisy. Similarly disappointing, the breakfast was limited and the hot food looked very unappetising.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Just spent 4 nights here. I was nervous as I had booked before reading all the negative reviews. When I checked in, I asked what floor I was going to be on & the guy said "4th" woo hoo. The room was great with lots of extras, sewing kit, full stationary kit, full bathroom kit, very cheap same-day laundry service, way more goodies that the subsequent alleged 5* place I proceeded to. Staff were great, location couldn't be better. Breakfast was great, however there was only 1 restaurant open during our stay, the ground floor one & this was too noisy so can't comment on the food. When I was at the reception on the 2nd floor, I could hear the nightclub & would have to agree that if you were on any other floor the noise would drive you nuts. They should open a nice diner on the terrace & close the nightclub. So if you insist on a 4th floor room at the back of the hotel you will have a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in varanasi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2011

A fantastic hotel, fantastic situation (very central), great rooms, spotless, good mattress, very friendly reception staff BUT the noise from the night club is unbearable. Breakfast average, breakfast staff not the most efficient or friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Each floor has a theme f a different element fire, water... Things in the lobby or inside the room are based on the theme of the floor. Staff was very hospitable, Indian food was good. Do not make an impression by the entrance to the Hotel Gate. It has multiple restaurant and a bar

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explore_ank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#59 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#102 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#227 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#136 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon House Hotel

Property: The Gordon House Hotel
Address: 5 Battery Street | Apollo Bunder, Colaba, Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400003, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#64 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Hotel
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai
The Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing