We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, tacky and over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gordon House Hotel
Ranked #78 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I booked this hotel based on the recommendation of the Wallpaper Guide, hoping to find something small but reasonably chic and relaxing. For the price I'm afraid even if you are on the 4th floor its terrible value for money compared to other hotels in Mumbai. The furnishings were tired and cheap, the room looked like it hadn't been redecorated for a good few years and was quite grubby. The fixtures and fittings were basic, and the air conditioning was really noisy. Similarly disappointing, the breakfast was limited and the hot food looked very unappetising.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for The Gordon House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 274 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

Just spent 4 nights here. I was nervous as I had booked before reading all the negative reviews. When I checked in, I asked what floor I was going to be on & the guy said "4th" woo hoo. The room was great with lots of extras, sewing kit, full stationary kit, full bathroom kit, very cheap same-day laundry service, way more goodies that the subsequent alleged 5* place I proceeded to. Staff were great, location couldn't be better. Breakfast was great, however there was only 1 restaurant open during our stay, the ground floor one & this was too noisy so can't comment on the food. When I was at the reception on the 2nd floor, I could hear the nightclub & would have to agree that if you were on any other floor the noise would drive you nuts. They should open a nice diner on the terrace & close the nightclub. So if you insist on a 4th floor room at the back of the hotel you will have a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

A fantastic hotel, fantastic situation (very central), great rooms, spotless, good mattress, very friendly reception staff BUT the noise from the night club is unbearable. Breakfast average, breakfast staff not the most efficient or friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Each floor has a theme f a different element fire, water... Things in the lobby or inside the room are based on the theme of the floor. Staff was very hospitable, Indian food was good. Do not make an impression by the entrance to the Hotel Gate. It has multiple restaurant and a bar

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore_ank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

This was my fourth trip to Bombay since 2006, and my first and last stay at the Gordon House. This hotel is in a sort of limbo that precludes recommending it to anyone, for any reason. The room quality is fair to poor, with basic furnishings, a small bath, and shoddy, worn items that are showing their age: the stereo didn't work, the outlet shorted and deprived us of power, the AC didn't work well at all, and we had hot water for no more than three minutes at a time in the shower. The upper floors are not cool due to the large open area down to reception. The business center is smelly, tiny and windowless. There is mildew growing on the windows in the rooms.

Yet, for all this, we were paying prices just below the Intercon Marine Drive and a bit below the Taj Mahal Tower, or Bandstand/Bandra. These are infinitely better hotels with not a single negative thing about them, really. At the same time, we were paying a fortume more than the basic, bare-bones hotels like the Apollo across the street, and others nearby, which give you a basic, clean room in a good location. These are hotels so modest and priced accordingly that you have no real right to complain about shortcomings.

And the noise from the club was indeed a problem, even on the top floor. We heard vibrations and music until closing time, even though we were about as far away from the club as you could be in the hotel. If you put on noise-cancelling headphones, then the sound is lower but the vibration is more acute.

Positives: The location is the best in the city for tourists and shopping, the common spaces are clean and elegant, and the staff was caring, prompt and excellent. It seemed like they really cared about our problems. Of course this is the bare minimum in Bombay, where any person with a hotel job has seven to eight thousand people standing in line behind him or her waiting to assume that position if he or she fails or messes up in any way. So our hotel staff was excellent. The breakfast was also good, the restaurant clean and well-done, and the place felt safe. Security was basic but effective.

A word about the trendy "theme" of the hotel, and its "boutique" style: it really backfired, because it was all style over substance. If this was a solid, well-appointed hotel, then the funny note cards and explanations and little touches and boutique styling would have really set it apart and put it a cut above. But instead, what they indicate is that an Indian trained at a western business school found a way to use cheap and free frill and dressings to try to obscure a fundamentally mediorce hotel with a worn and aging physical plant, and charge a ridiculous premium at that.

My firm advice: either spend $60-$100 more a night and stay at the Intercon Marine Drive or the Taj Tower. It may seem like a steep increase up front, but in a while you'll forget about that and you'll have enjoyed your trip much more. Or, on the other hand, spend at least $100 less a night, stay at a less pretentious place, and come to terms with your modest room by realizing you're at least not getting swindled at the Gordon House. Spend the money on a nice dinner at rooftop Dome bar at the Intercon instead, watching the sun go down over the Arabian sea and the lights of the Queens Necklace come on on the drive below you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrandondP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Gordon House for two nights, just for a short getaway. Some of the reviews mentioned that the hotel was noisy, but we didn't have any problems with that - maybe because we stayed on Sunday and Monday when the club apparently was not open. The rooms were fine, nothing special. The furniture seemed a little old. The TV was tiny. We only ate the breakfast one day because it was nothing great, and and there is so many good places to eat in Mumbai.

The best part about the hotel is the location - it is located in the heart of Colaba. However it is very far from the airport, and will take you at least 1hr 15min to get to the hotel from the airport. But in Colaba there are a lot of nice restaurants and a variety of shopping. The service at the hotel was also excellent, everyone was very nice and helpful.

Overall however, I thought that the hotel is not worth the price. We paid $220/night including taxes. There are plenty of good hotels in Mumbai for $100.

The hotel doesn't have a gym, but they have a deal with a gym about 10 minutes away that you can use for free. The hotel arranges transportation. This was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

i was booked in here in error as we were meant to be in the much higher rated Gordon House SUITES near airport. This 'non suites ' place is 45 minutes downtown in deepest Mumbai. Very central but not an airport hotel.

I travel a lot and am pretty easy going but this hotel is very unimpressive. i had a 'Mediterranean' room which had dirty walls and and old dirty bathroom. Mould on walls and windows.

Airconditioning was ineffective and incredibly noisy, fan only had one speed, so i turned it off to sleep but the noise from a fan outside was just as loud, and the smell from kitchens entered the room.

I opened the drawer in bathroom and it fell out to show dangerous wiring on hairdryer. My colleague entered his room and the card socket for his room key fell off the wall.

there is no bar except a nightclub whish tahnkfully was closed as it was directly below my room.

there is a restaurant in the ground floor which seems to be a franchise.

security is average, a couple of guys on the door.

internet in room was unbelievably slow.....

if you want a downtown location which is one step up from a backpackers hotel and you want local flavour then you might like it. if you want an international standard hotel AVOID.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zowiebowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#63 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
822 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#98 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Palace Hotel
Sea Palace Hotel
#188 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
#311 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon House Hotel

Address: 5 Battery Street | Apollo Bunder, Colaba, Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400003, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#64 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $92 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Hotel
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai
The Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing