We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location for business people traveling all around Mumbai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Ranked #70 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Other than the best location their Chinese Haochi is tooo goood. Their Breakfast is also quite good. Value for money is best. Front desk can be faster and better but not bad. Wash rooms and bed are good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubaSubramaniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Sr. Vice President at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you loved the location of the hotel and Chinese food at our newly opened restaurant - Haochi!

We would love to welcome you again at Sun-n-Sand during your next trip to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 756 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

The front desk and the housekeeping staff were very gracious. I would like to personally thank Clarissa from the front desk (hope I got her name right). She was so helpful with the draping of my sari. I would have looked like a heap of 6 yards but she pinned and pleated me in so good that I got a lot of compliments! It is not just the help that counts but the way the help is offered. She was so full of smiles and so willing to part with her pins, so patient and calm that I am very glad to have met her!

The housekeeping staff always had a smile and a 'namaste'!

The lifts need to be aired or sprayed with some perfume. It smelt damp and dusty.

The beach is an easy access, so the run on the beach kept my weight in check in spite of the heavy wedding food!

Room Tip: Lots of noise in the corridors. So, check this before booking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanbhaktul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Sr. Vice President at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai and taking time to review us on Tripadvisor! I've shared your feedback with my team and it serves as a motivation to all.

We look forward to see you again at Sun-n-Sand during your next trip to Mumbai!


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had the worst encounter here with the reception staff who were very rude and arrogant, as follows- my MasterCard was not working for some reason, thankfully my relatives were there so I could use another card. Then the man at the reception, he works nights and has a moustache, refused me entry to the hotel unless I had paid in full for the stay. Usually what they do, and what they did for all the other guests travelling with us was place a temporary block on the card, then debit the funds upon departure along with any incidentals or mini bar use. He was persistent however on refusing me entry had I not paid the full amount and was extremely rude. The following day the supervisor and main manager of the hotel came down to listen to the case and we just received an insincere 'sorry' from the rude staff member, and even that was done after about 20 minutes of telling him off and making him understand what good customer service is. I don't know if it was because I am an Indian from overseas or whatever reason, management did nothing about the issue either- so I certainly hope this review makes a difference to those considering staying here. The rooms are also very old, the bed is like a hard plank of wood and you hear noise in the corridors all the time from people walking past. The only thing decent was the food, quite tasty with the overpriced bar drinks and pool area. I had some family staying at the JW Marriott which was a little bit more expensive but a proper 5 star world class hotel, if you are staying in Juhu, book something a little reputable, not this hole of a place.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1/2 are no good, try to ask for higher levels.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsingh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Sr. Vice President at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

As you rightly mentioned in the review, we place a temporary block on the card during guest check-in. However since the Mastercard that was provided to us declined, the reception staff wanted to secure the payment and hence insisted on charging the full amount from your relative’s card. I apologize for the inconvenience that you had to face on this account.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai.


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is an attraction for visitors due to being frequented by actors. Also the major attraction is the pool deck and coffee shop with ocean views. Other than these, rooms are smaller, but furnished and stocked nicely. The noise carries from one room to other through walls and ceilings easily and thus not too comfortable. Rooms with ocean view are good and other rooms are not worth value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view are good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goyalair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Sr. Vice President at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s beachfront location. The rooms at Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai are larger than most hotels in the vicinity. Most of our Superior Rooms (referred as other rooms) are used to accommodate airline crew, corporate and budget clients. The Ocean View Rooms, because of the view they offer are sold at a premium over the Superior Rooms.

My team and I look forward to welcome you again at Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai.


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Its a decent property with good quality rooms and good food... Good staff ... The attraction here has always been Mr.Jeetendra (Bollywood Star) .. Each time i have stayed here i have seen him jogging in the morning ... I keep wondering probably its his property ... Have seen this hotel in lot of movies as well ...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debjani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Sr. Vice President at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai and taking your time out to review us on Tripadvisor.

Sun-n-Sand is a leading group of five star hotels which strives to serve both business and leisure travelers.
The Mumbai property is the flagship hotel of the Sun-n-Sand group and was commissioned in 1962.

It was the vision of Mr. Gul Advani and Mr. John Voyantzis which gave birth to Mumbai’s first five star beach hotel. Since 1996, under the leadership of Mr. Rajesh Advani (Managing Director) the Sun-n-Sand group has leveraged its presence at strategic business and leisure destinations in Maharashtra. The group, besides, Mumbai, currently operates 5 star hotels at Pune, Shirdi and Nagpur.

My team and I would love to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Imposible to relax. Very loud music every day. This seems to be more of outdoor night club than an hotel. No consideration whatsoever to clients with such loud music volume. I will never again return.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank carlos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Sr. Vice President at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to share your feedback with us through Tripadvisor. It is our endeavor that all our guests have a great experience when they stay at our Hotel.

In regards to your comment about the noise, in Mumbai, the wedding season is between November to February every year. Sun-n-Sand Mumbai has an excellent beachfront terrace offering a breath taking view of the Arabian sea. Over the years this charismatic venue has become a popular venue for hosting weddings and get-togethers. In order to avoid inconvenience to our guests, we do not allow loud music at this open air venue. We also make sure that there is no noise beyond 10 pm at the venue.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay at Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai. Your feedback help us to ensure that we maintain our service levels.

We would love to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai and assure you of enhanced serviced levels.

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Highly satisfied with the stay as always & it's truly a home away from home....
Very friendly cooperative staff takes care of all needs very efficiently...
Superb food
Bar with a best view
Superb is the Word !!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ssb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Sr. Vice President at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for patronizing Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai! We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. I've shared your review with my team and it serves as a motivation to all.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai!


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Juhu
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#73 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,966 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#89 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
834 reviews
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
#69 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#16 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,339 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#21 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,253 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#71 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Address: 39, Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#49 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#62 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $121 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-n-Sand, Mumbai is India’s first beachfront hotel which was commissioned in 1962. A serene hotel, located right on the Juhu Beach, at a short 20 minute drive from the airport is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers. The major attractions around the hotel include the ISKON Temple and the Prithvi Theatre located just 5 minutes away. There are many shopping and entertainment areas near the Hotel. The outdoor swimming pool is just footsteps away from Juhu beach. AQUA, The 24 hour coffee shop has a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea and is rated as one of the best on the beach. The Kabab Hut serves authentic Awadhi cuisine and is very popular amongst hotel guests and local residents. The Kabab Hut is worth a special night devoted to the exquisite food, service, and ambiance. Rejuvenate at 'Ocean View', the fully equipped health club which overlooks the Arabian Sea. Sohum, the spa will pamper you, and don't be surprised if you bump into a Bollywood star. Your stay at India’s first beach front hotel with its first class service is sure to make your trip memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel Mumbai
Sun And Sand Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing