We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goon hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Ranked #70 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I like the location of this hotel.. just next to beach..
Saw many boolywood celebrities coming there..
Good food.. nothing to complain about.. rooms are nice.. hotel looks bit old now.. but still nicely maintained..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jainnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai and spending your time to review us through Tripadvisor. We are happy to note that you liked the location of the hotel.

Sun-n-Sand Mumbai turned 50 last year in November, a feat, that very few hotels in India can boast about. We have been refurbishing our rooms on a regular basis. The hotel’s recent renovations include a new lounge bar, Beachcomber along with a brand new Presidential Suite. We also opened a new Chinese restaurant, Haochi.

My team and I would love to see you again during your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 764 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent a week here last month and it kind of symbolises mumbai with hustle and bustle of weddings, bollywood stars you bump into who are regulars (albeit stars of the previous generation), swanky restaurants and a bar and best of all Juhu Beach.
Breakfasts were good, the pool nice and clean but I would avoid this hotel if you don't want to see weddings throughout your stay.
The location is excellent for Juhu but as previous posters have stated, the interior is dated and needs revamping to stay in line with rival hotels such as Novotel, JW Marriott and even Sea Princess.
One downside was that the Baby Cots in the hotel were substandard of what you would expect in a 4-5 star hotel. Add to this, when we found dust and asked for the cot to be cleaned, the housekeeping cleaned it and brought it back with the same dirt found again.
Attention to detail will improve this hotel, but as it has such a big brand, many will still keep using the same hotel.
I hope the hotel improves as the prices charged definitely makes one think about other options.

Room Tip: Avoid sea facing as there are always weddings on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

In Mumbai, the wedding season is between November to February every year. Sun-n-Sand Mumbai has an excellent beachfront terrace offering a breath taking view of the Arabian sea. Over the years this charismatic venue has become a popular venue for hosting weddings and get-togethers. In order to avoid inconvenience to our guests, we do not allow loud music at this open air venue. We also make sure that there is no noise beyond 10 pm at the venue.

We have been constantly improving the facilities and services at our hotel. We have recently introduced, Haochi, our brand new Chinese restaurant which has replaced the Sunset Room just about a month back. Sohum Spa was also renovated simultaneously. The AQUA spirit bar was renovated last year and is now called Beachcomber. The Coffee shop too was renovated in early 2011. We have also planned to renovate our guest rooms during the course of the year.

I thank you for your wonderful feedback and I assure you that we will take relevant actions to improve our guests’ experience.

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Hotel staff - very friendly and helpful.
The Food - a good selection and reasonable prices
Beverages - excellent and access to the executive lounge is great to start the evening off.

Unfortunately have to pay for wifi :(

Will definitley go back

Room Tip: pool facing is a great view in the morning and as the sun sets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonal d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to note that you would come back for future stay at Sun-n-Sand. Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai and spending your time to review us. I've shared your feedback with my team and it serves as a motivation to all.

It is quite helpful on your part to share room tips with fellow Tripadvisor users.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai!


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The worst hotel, I have ever been to.
The new year eve party was complete flop. The place was highly over crowded, BAD food, BAD alcohol, BAD d.j., Highly ill mannered staff!!! They lie in the name of a great new years experience. Charge heavily, but utterly poor service. I would never ever recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ankita2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to review us for the New Years Eve party held at Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you went through. Sun-n-Sand Mumbai only let out its beachfront terrace for the party. The event was organised by an event management company independently and was not organised by the hotel. The hotel's responsibility was to cater to the event management company's F&B requirement.

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Extremely slowly internet !! not worth to buy any internet package!!! Staff are not friendly,Chinese restaurant in the hotel 2 stars out of 5,Eat elsewhere !!! The beach is dirty !
Security man will not let you on the beach, just only after 12 pm
Do not spend your money and vacation there !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DlDelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused due to internet connection being slow. This has my immediate attention. We have invested in enhancing our internet connectivity and speed in all our guest rooms.

We have recently opened Haochi, our Chinese restaurant. Haochi offers contemporary Chinese cuisine, an elaborate dim sum menu and a full service bar. The menu has a blend of different regional cuisines of China such as Xiang (Hunan), Chuan (Sichuan) and Guangdong (Cantonese). We have specially hired Chefs from China to give our guests an authentic experience.

We do not allow guests to enter the Beach through our premises after midnight. This is followed keeping our guests security in mind. However guests can access the Beach through the main entrance which is 100 metres away.

Maintaining cleanliness on the Beach is the responsibility of the Municipal corporation. However the Hotel makes sure that the area near the property is kept clean.

We look forward to welcome you again at Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai!


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel has a great location. It’s right on Juhu beach. However if you are business getting to business districts at peak hour can be a pain. The hotel has a happy hour bar, where you would be served free of cost for an hour. The breakfast menu is quite limited.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustang13071978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai and taking your time out to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you loved the Hotel location. The Hotel is located close to Central Business Districts like Andheri, Bandra Kurla Complex (BKC) and Malad (West).

For Buffet Breakfast, we serve 8 Veg main course, 5 Non-veg main course, 2 Live stations, 3 Types of cereals & Juices, 10 Types of Bread rolls, 4 Fresh Fruit cuts, Cold cuts & Cheese Platter, Coffee, Tea. The Chef has been briefed about your request and we will try to incorporate new items in the Breakfast menu.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai!


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel with a superb location.
Also the rooms come with happy hours on all drinks for one hour every day.

You can venture out on beach anytime thru a private gate of the hotel.

Superb food at Kebabs Hut.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank rahoolgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to note that you found the hotel excellent and loved the location of the hotel. Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Juhu, Mumbai and spending your time to review us on Tripadvisor.

My team and I would love to welcome you again on your next trip to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
Sr. Vice President
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Juhu
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#73 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,980 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#89 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
841 reviews
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
#67 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#15 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,366 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#72 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
465 reviews
The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle
#43 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Address: 39, Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#49 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#62 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $123 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-n-Sand, Mumbai is India’s first beachfront hotel which was commissioned in 1962. A serene hotel, located right on the Juhu Beach, at a short 20 minute drive from the airport is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers. The major attractions around the hotel include the ISKON Temple and the Prithvi Theatre located just 5 minutes away. There are many shopping and entertainment areas near the Hotel. The outdoor swimming pool is just footsteps away from Juhu beach. AQUA, The 24 hour coffee shop has a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea and is rated as one of the best on the beach. The Kabab Hut serves authentic Awadhi cuisine and is very popular amongst hotel guests and local residents. The Kabab Hut is worth a special night devoted to the exquisite food, service, and ambiance. Rejuvenate at 'Ocean View', the fully equipped health club which overlooks the Arabian Sea. Sohum, the spa will pamper you, and don't be surprised if you bump into a Bollywood star. Your stay at India’s first beach front hotel with its first class service is sure to make your trip memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel Mumbai
Sun And Sand Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing