We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Ranked #68 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing location !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 09th June with my family. It has an amazing location, bang on Juhu beach. I chose this hotel mainly due to its wonderful location. It is not a big property. Lobby and restaurants are small as compared to Luxury hotel standards but this hotel has it's own elegance and charm which makes it one of the best hotels in Mumbai. Food is good but breakfast should have more variety of Indian dishes.Unfortunately, we were welcomed by heavy rains in Mumbai. There was no scope of moving out of the hotel as it kept raining throughout my one day stay. Had the hotel not been on the beach we could not even go to the beach due to heavy showers and my daughter would have been very disappointed. Thankfully, we were right on the beach all the time.We could have enjoyed our stay at this hotel a lot more if we were there on a bright Sunny day.

Wonderful hotel, Wonderful location !! Keep it up SUN n SAND !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sanjaysingh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Sanjay Singh,

Thank you for your kind wishes. I've noted your comments regarding Breakfast and shared your feedback with our Chef.

It would indeed be our pleasure to welcome you at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai during your next visit to the city.


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    267
    127
    49
    47
See reviews for
182
104
60
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is my second visit here and I really enjoy the mix of old and new. The rooms are a good size. I took a superior room and the little extra was worth it for the wonderful view. Staff are helpful and friendly. The only negative was the slow service on the front desk for check out.
When I visit Mumbai with my husband we will certainly stay here.

Room Tip: upgrade for a sea view... well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midjan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for patronizing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai and taking time out to share your experience with us! We have noted your comments regarding service levels during Check-out and shall have corrective measures put in place.

We would love to see you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had a great experience with this hotel. The staff is courteous and friendly. Many choices about dining but you can also walk to a close by area with many little restaurants. The beach is nice to walk along and the swimming pool refreshing; furthermore, I had a nice transfer to the airport early in the morning. It was a nice place to relax after a month travelling all over India before heading back home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sostraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to note that your stay was relaxing before heading back home. Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai and taking time out to write about your experience on Tripadvisor.

We would love to see you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

the best hotel to stay to see sun set if you stay in their ocean view room. very close to beach. quality of food is excellent especially we got south indian breakfast like idly, vada, sambar, chatni, etc.

Room Tip: suggest to stay in ocean view room to see sun set in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palanikanna1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand hotel, Mumbai.

It is quite helpful on your part to suggest our Sea Facing rooms to fellow Tripadvisor users. As you are aware Sun-n-Sand, Mumbai is India's first beachfront hotel, located right on the Juhu Beach.

We would love to see you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is ok, the lobby n reception areas are clean. However the rooms are old, and if you don't have a sea view facing room, then the rooms lack good visibility. There is very little room for natural light in these rooms. Hence it was no surprise to find a cockroach in our bathroom. Most hotels provide free wifi with your stay, so it was quite disappointing to learn that the hotel charges for wifi if booked from certain travel agents. Breakfast was ok. Would prefer to stay in a different hotel next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mithul_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Mithul Shah,

I thank you for your feedback.

Sun-n-Sand Mumbai celebrated its 50th Anniversary last November. We have been refurbishing our rooms on a regular basis. A great deal of attention is given to improving the guest experience at our hotel. We have recently renovated our public areas and over the next two months, we shall be renovating The Sunset Room and The Spa. However I have noted your comments pertaining to improving the decor of the rooms.

With regards to internet, we were offering free unlimited internet to all our guests until two years back when we realized that all hotels in our vicinity charge for internet exorbitantly. We charge only Rs 250/- per day for unlimited internet usage.

I have noted your comment about finding a cockroach in the bathroom. I have checked the hotel logs. However I have not found any such complaint in our records but let me assure you that we take all possible measures to make sure that such incidents do not take place. We have outsourced to a company which conducts pest control activity 24/7.

Thanks & regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Friendly staff but some of them could improve their English. The rooms are rather small and the furniture is old but the toilettes have been renewed.Breakfast was average except of the omelettes. They were very good. Easy beach access if you don't mind sharing with the locals.
You could go for a walk in the neighbourhood but have to be extremely careful of the cars as they drive very fast and there are no sidewalks or are occupied with merchandise,people or animals.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker insist for a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Marvin,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai and taking time out to share your feedback with us. We have noted your comments. your feedback helps us enhance our services.

Sun-n-Sand, Mumbai is India's first beachfront hotel, located right on the Juhu Beach, at a short 20 minute drive from the Airport. It is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers.

My team and I would love to welcome you again during your next visit to Mumbai.


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have been in sun n sand, Mumbai, from 14th may to 16th may2013.right from the pickup to drop at airport, the services was excellent, we booked the hotel directly on telephone,45 days in advance, as per commitment the vehicle, with play card was ready to pickup at airport, fast check-in with desired sea and pool facing room on 3rd floor was the next relief.
special complementary services were ,cookies in room, a bottle of mineral water, tea coffee maker with 5 variety of teabags, on call fresh fruit platter was there. at evening one hour complimentary drinks was served at business lounge. all the time staff was ready to serve us happily.The breakfast was excellent, rooms were neat and clean.
it was the peaceful holidays with the value for the money also. we will like to visit again in future and will like to gift week to my kids.

Room Tip: 3rd 4th floor sea and pool facing rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joginder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Joginder,

We are glad to note that you truly enjoyed your stay at Sun-n-Sand hotel, Mumbai and would also like to gift it to your kids. Thank you for taking time out to share your experience with us through Tripadvisor.

My team and I would love to welcome you again during your next visit to Mumbai.


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#75 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#88 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
#81 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#18 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#73 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Ramee Guestline Hotel, Juhu
#316 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Property: Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Address: 39, Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#48 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#62 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-n-Sand, Mumbai is India’s first beachfront hotel which was commissioned in 1962. A serene hotel, located right on the Juhu Beach, at a short 20 minute drive from the airport is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers. The major attractions around the hotel include the ISKON Temple and the Prithvi Theatre located just 5 minutes away. There are many shopping and entertainment areas near the Hotel. The outdoor swimming pool is just footsteps away from Juhu beach. AQUA, The 24 hour coffee shop has a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea and is rated as one of the best on the beach. The Kabab Hut serves authentic Awadhi cuisine and is very popular amongst hotel guests and local residents. The Kabab Hut is worth a special night devoted to the exquisite food, service, and ambiance. Rejuvenate at 'Ocean View', the fully equipped health club which overlooks the Arabian Sea. Sohum, the spa will pamper you, and don't be surprised if you bump into a Bollywood star. Your stay at India’s first beach front hotel with its first class service is sure to make your trip memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun And Sand Hotel Mumbai
Sun n Sand Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing