We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Ranked #75 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

One of Mumbai's oldest hotels.
Had the pleasure of spending about 5 night here over a few weeks for business

Gladly stay here anytime in Mumbai - there are more luxurious hotels but this place has a feeling u can't buy

Nothing like diner outside with the sound of the surf behind you
Or waking to beautiful sunshine in the beach

You don't even realize the chaos just outside the gates

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDoug90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience & photos with us. We would love to see you again at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Juhu, Mumbai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    271
    133
    50
    50
See reviews for
186
106
61
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Property is one of the oldest in Juhu. The swimming pool is one among the oldest pools in Mumbai. This 5 star hotel has over all good staffs. Friendly and informative. The Rooms are old types but immaculate presentation. The Beach view and the restaurant make you Relaxed. Some of the prominent people in Juhu would visit this place to use its facilities like gym, Pool and Restaurant. This hotel stands in the pool of hotels near by and stand out on its uniqueness.

Room Tip: The sea facing side has good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princelychennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience & photos with us. We would love to see you again at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Juhu, Mumbai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patiala
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel location is very good. Its located right on the Juhu beach and has convenient access to the beach. I took the ocean view room, the view from the room is excellent. Room service was very good, staff very well behaved and courteous. Breakfast was excellent and the food I ordered in the room was also delicious. Overall I had a very good and hassle free experience, strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Take ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raminder N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We would love to see you again at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Juhu, Mumbai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

wouldnt say a 5 star according to international standards.
staff is friendly and helpful,food is nice .location is nice .
wish they would better the layout and facilities.
rooms are clean but small.accessible to both domestic and international terminals

Room Tip: choose beach side for view ,otherwise its not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajeev V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We would love to see you again at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Juhu, Mumbai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Once again had the same memorable experience at the Sun n Sand. The great view, caring service with smiling faces. Its just the same. I just hope they do not try some new stunts and continue providing hospitality the good old way.

Room Tip: Even if you have to pay a little extra, go in for the Ocean Facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sajid_Mahmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It is with the help of valuable feedback such as yours that we can continue our efforts towards attaining guest satisfaction.

We would love to see you at our other 3 properties in Pune, Shirdi & Nagpur as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

AVOID AVOID AVOID NOT RECOMMENDED

This is no more than a 3 star hotel, never a 4 star and they are claiming 5 stars eg same as Oberoi, Hyatt and Sheraton, what a joke!!!! Plus the place looks like a Slumdog moviue set, draped in white plastic every where so obstructing the view from the so called pool view rooms.

They did not tell me when I checked in at 4pm from an Emirates flight that the room they were putting me in on the 4th level with an Agoda booking fully paid by credit card was right under the level they were renovating with jackhammers and percussion drills during the day.
Consequently the load noises woke me up drove me to complain to management. Seemingly very nice they showed me room 221, at the opposite end of the noises and I agreed to move. 15 mins later they sent a bellboy to who took me to a room on the 3rd level and now intermediate between the 5th level percussion and the ground level bar renovation - ditto drilling noises.

I complained again - LOUDLY - and about 10 mins later a lady arrived to say the 221 (with a "pool" view, which it did not really have, see later) was not available because of pest control. I have been India too many times and immediately I smell a rat. Protested again – VERY LOUDLY AS I WAS VERY TIRED - JET LAG – only now for the lady to say the pool view room would be an extra Ro1000 per night. I got really angry – both the 3rd level and 4th level rooms were not habitable during the day and were not as per Agoda booking. Finally after a further delay they let me have 221.

Here are some other things wrong that they need to fix – mould in the shower, very limited breakfast for European, very India-centric with only eggs and cereals, fruit and a few tasteless breads and cakes. Or greasy hashbrown and bacon or sausages swimming in fat, or anaemic tomatoes capped with hard cheese.

After my run in with management about uninhabitable rooms my conclusion is this is not for business people, and I do NOT recommend. Especially during the monsoon season and during renovations.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms at the front of the hotel under the 5th level renovations. Avoid the sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

The Presidential Suite has been under renovation since early July and scheduled to be completed by mid of September. During this period we have ensured that all the rooms below the Presidential Suite are blocked and not allocated to our guests (a total of 15 rooms). In your case it seems that there was an error on the part of the Front Office and I deeply apologize for the lapse.

I've seen the pictures that you posted and a corrective action has already been put in place. The outdoor area needs to be covered during the monsoons as a large part of it is used as Banqueting Space for our guests whereas the area by the pool operates as an outlet to serve our guests using the Health Club and the Swimming Pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked room on Hotel's website for 4 adults and 1 12 year old my son. We asked for non smoking room but they put us in beat-up, junk, smoking room which room has wooden floor but bedding were stinking with smoking smells. It was not comfortable sleep with stinking bedding smell. I was going to ignore this but in morning we found some mean people working in breakfast area one of the guy came to me and ask to pay for the breakfast for one extra person, which was my 12 year son. I had his passport to prove his age. They wasted my 20 minutes for this at the time of the check-out. We had bad experience. Staff has no smiles on there faces.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We indeed accommodate children below the age of 12 years on complimentary basis without an extra bed inclusive of breakfast. However it is the responsibility of the restaurant staff to verify this. We apologize in case you were inconvenienced because of this.


Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with the help of which we can improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#74 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,946 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#91 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
820 reviews
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
#73 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#17 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,300 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#68 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
462 reviews
Ramee Guestline Hotel, Juhu
#350 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Property: Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Address: 39, Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#52 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#62 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-n-Sand, Mumbai is India’s first beachfront hotel which was commissioned in 1962. A serene hotel, located right on the Juhu Beach, at a short 20 minute drive from the airport is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers. The major attractions around the hotel include the ISKON Temple and the Prithvi Theatre located just 5 minutes away. There are many shopping and entertainment areas near the Hotel. The outdoor swimming pool is just footsteps away from Juhu beach. AQUA, The 24 hour coffee shop has a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea and is rated as one of the best on the beach. The Kabab Hut serves authentic Awadhi cuisine and is very popular amongst hotel guests and local residents. The Kabab Hut is worth a special night devoted to the exquisite food, service, and ambiance. Rejuvenate at 'Ocean View', the fully equipped health club which overlooks the Arabian Sea. Sohum, the spa will pamper you, and don't be surprised if you bump into a Bollywood star. Your stay at India’s first beach front hotel with its first class service is sure to make your trip memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel Mumbai
Sun And Sand Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing