We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid Mumbai

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Orchid Mumbai
Ranked #60 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
325 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great place, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed there twice this month, once in the new wing and other time in old wing. Both side rooms are large with modern amenities but new wing is definately a shade better. The food is excellent quality and taste. The buffet breakfast has huge spread with lots of choice. Had lunch in one visit and dinner in other visit , both were very good. The service is pleasing. It may not be a five star as claimed but it is a excellent hotel at four star level. Location next to domestic airport with free pick up and drop.

Room Tip: Request for a room in new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and effort for the feedback.

We, at The Orchid Hotel, Mumbai appreciate your positive feedback about our location, rooms, the buffet spread and the quality of the food as well as the service of our staff. Your appreciation has been shared with the team as well.

Kindly drop us a mail the next time you plan a visit to The Orchid. We look forward to your continuous visits at The Orchid in the future and assure you of our best service and attention.


Warm regards,


Office of the General Manager
The Orchid Hotel,Mumbai
gmsec@orchidhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    574
    305
    134
    135
See reviews for
231
157
138
948
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This "eco-friendly" hotel is nice inside with nice enough rooms and a beautiful main dining room overlooking the foyer. The biggest problem is the distance from downtown - not a prob if you just need a place to stay on your way to another city since it is near the domestic airport. But it is a real trek to the sights of Bombay. Another negative is the mediocre quality of the food - in particular, stay away from the restaurant on the rooftop. A major positive - the staff are generally very warm and kind (not all) and if you have any travel needs ask for Pradeep at the travel desk! He performed several miracles for us.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and effort for the feedback.

We, at The Orchid Hotel, Mumbai appreciate your positive feedback about our rooms and the service of our staff. Your appreciation has been shared with the team as well.

We regret that your stay was met with inconvenience. We have spoken to the Food & Beverage Department regarding your feedback about the quality of food during the course of your stay and shall rectify the problem as soon as possible.

Kindly drop us a mail the next time you plan a visit to The Orchid. We look forward to your continuous visits at The Orchid in the future and assure you of our best service and attention.

Warm regards,


Office of the General Manager
The Orchid Hotel,Mumbai
gmsec@orchidhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I Stay on business here many times. It's comfortable and the food has never been a problem to me and to be honest - although not what I call a true five star hotel - it is certainly one of the better hotels in Mumbai - I still would recommend it on business if you are staying in the area

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

We, at The Orchid thank you for sparing your valuable time and effort for the feedback.

We appreciate your positive feedback about our location and the quality of the food. Your appreciation has been shared with the team as well.

Kindly drop us a mail the next time you plan a visit to The Orchid. We look forward to your continuous visits at The Orchid in the future and assure you of our best service and attention.

Warm regards,


Office of the General Manager
The Orchid Hotel, Mumbai
gmsec@orchidhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for a night on 28th Sept. 2012. Since we are members of the Orchid Gold program, we were entitled to a night's stay and we decided to go for it. Our room was in the new wing (room no. 630) We found the room quite big and the view was excellent. We had the view of the old runway. The view made the room seem even bigger. It was a delight to have such a view, it's quite a rarity in Mumbai...
The Service was good. The staff was helpful and smiling. The food was great too. The breakfast spread was HUGE and well-organised.
The proximity of the hotel to the domestic airport is its plus point as well as minus point. Its a plus point for people who want to stay just a night or have work in the suburbs. Its a minus point for tourists as its quite far from South Mumbai, which has all the sight-seeing.
Anyways, for us it was a very nice break from our routine...we enjoyed it quite a lot!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We, at The Orchid thank you for sparing your valuable time and effort for the feedback.

We appreciate your positive feedback about our location and the rooms. We also thank you for appreciating the service of our staff and the quality of the food. Your appreciation has been shared with the team as well.

Kindly drop us a mail the next time you plan a visit to The Orchid. We look forward to your continuous visits at The Orchid in the future and assure you of our best service and attention.

Warm regards,


Office of the General Manager
The Orchid Hotel, Mumbai
gmsec@orchidhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is one of those hotels that if there is nothing else available (and you are stuck) it is good for a night if you are on your way in or out of mumbai. It definately is not 5 star, barely makes 3. Food is terrible, terrace is not bad atmosphere for a drink in the evening. Rooms are ok, comfortable enough. Not my favourite choice! Close to the airport is the only good feature.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We, at The Orchid Hotel, Mumbai thank you for sparing your valuable time and effort for the feedback.

We regret that your stay was met with inconvenience. We have spoken to the Food & Beverage Department regarding your feedback about the quality of food during the course of your stay and shall rectify the problem as soon as possible.

Kindly drop us a mail the next time you plan a visit to The Orchid. We look forward to your continuous visits at The Orchid in the future and assure you of our best service and attention.

Warm regards,


Office of the General Manager
The Orchid Hotel, Mumbai
gmsec@orchidhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

it was just a so-so hotel.. Although it'a decent but doesn't go weel with the tag of 5-star.. staff were not supported.. room were just ok like any other medium hotels in mumbai.. there was no proper lighting in the gallery.. room service was pathetic.. even i have complained about the washroom which claims to be cleaned before issuing the room but it was just pathetic.. USED soaps & shampoo were kept in the washroom... food was just Ok. Dining area on the top floor was again a pathetic place to have drink and dinner.
This hotel is not good / recommended in compare to their tarrif.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vkumar2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We, at The Orchid Hotel, Mumbai thank you for sparing your valuable time and effort for the feedback.

We regret that your stay was met with inconvenience. With regard to the cleanliness in the room, we have spoken to the Housekeeping Department and have conveyed your problem to the concerned person.

We have spoken to the Food & Beverage Department regarding your feedback about the quality of food and service of the staff during the course of your stay and shall rectify the problem as soon as possible.

Request you to not let this experience deter you from visiting us in the future.

Kindly drop us a mail the next time you plan a visit to The Orchid. We look forward to your continuous visits at The Orchid in the future and assure you of our best service and attention.


Warm regards,


Office of the General Manager
The Orchid Hotel,Mumbai
gmsec@orchidhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had checked into Orchid being a little cautious, having seen some reviews earlier of not so good experiences from other guests. I had booked a day stay (0800-1800 hrs) for Rs. 4500 plus taxes. My flight arrived early at 5 am and the complimentary pickup arranged by the hotel got me to the hotel at 5.15 am. The front office was quite gracious to give me a room earlier than the scheduled day stay time of check-in.
The room was good, no issues and complaints at all. Had breakfast at the Boulevard, a just enough spread, but was quite sumptuous.
Had a call from Guest Relations around 1430 hrs about my check out time and the lady Lubna said it would be half charge extra. Had to explain her that I am on a day stay and my check out would be at 1800 hrs. She said she would check and revert which she didn't though.
Checkout was smooth, no hassles and was dropped at the airport.
Would sure recommend especially if u are on a day stay in Mumbai. The hotel is right beside the domestic airport and about 10 minutes away from the international airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We, at The Orchid thank you for sparing your valuable time and effort for the feedback.
We appreciate your positive feedback about our location, rooms and the quality of food. Your appreciation has been shared with the team as well.

We regret that your stay was met with inconvenience. We have taken up the issue with the concerned departments regarding your feedback about the service of the staff and shall ensure that such incidents are not repeated in the future.

Kindly drop us a mail the next time you plan a visit to The Orchid. We look forward to your continuous visits at The Orchid in the future and assure you of our best service and attention.

Warm regards,

Office of the General Manager
The Orchid Hotel, Mumbai
gmsec@orchidhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Ibis Mumbai Airport
Ibis Mumbai Airport
#53 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#25 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#21 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#17 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Holiday Inn Mumbai International...
#35 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Mumbai

Property: The Orchid Mumbai
Address: 70 C Nehru Road, Vile Parle East | Vile Parle East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#44 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Orchid Mumbai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid - An Ecotel Hotel in Mumbai is Asia's first certified eco-friendly five-star hotel. This 372- room hotel is strategically located adjacent to the domestic airport making it a convenient place for the business traveler to stay.The Orchid Hotel Mumbai presently offers the most unique luxury experience in the city that encompasses well appointed environment friendly rooms and suites which are stylishly designed, each boasting of lavishly adorned décor, luxurious ambience and modern services. All the guest rooms are fully air conditioned and replete with contemporary elements, Wi-Fi internet access, attached bath, telephone and television. The hotel also features a variety of lifestyle activities like an exclusive club floor with a private lounge, The Club Privé room, relaxing outdoor Pool, well-appointed business center, conference rooms and state-of-the art banquets. It has five specialty restaurants and outlets namely South of Vindhyas (represents a unique culinary concepts from South India), Mostly Grills (International fusion Open-air barbeque restaurant on the roof top), The Boulevard, (a 24 hours coffee shop located on the first floor serves delicious Indian, Continental and Asian cuisine), Merlin’s (Bar with Karaoke & a Bulgarian Band called Sparkles) and The Gourmet Shop (For cakes, snacks & sandwiches) that seemingly fit the business travelers needs. The 84 international awards reiterate the efforts of The Orchid of being a pioneer amongst environment friendly hotels.Our clientele form the who's who of the discerning international corporate. We, just like our discerning clientele believe in sustainable development and have created an experience where:"Deluxe need not disturb, Comfort need not compromise and Enjoyment need not be insensitive." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Orchid Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Orchid Hotel Mumbai
The Orchid Hotel Mumbai
Orchid Hotels Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing