We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guest-rooms in desperate need of a makeover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Ranked #28 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Guest-rooms in desperate need of a makeover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Located in one of Mumbai's poshest areas, Vivanta by Taj - President is surprisingly anything but a Taj Group property. Although the restaurants and the fare on offer are exceptionally high-class, the guest-rooms are a great let down. They are worn out and very tired. Much as I was when I checked in - after a hectic day in fast-moving Mumbai. Hoping to find my space in a pleasant room and slip into a comfortable bed, I was deeply disappointed. An unpleasant odour hits one upon entrance. The first thing I noticed was the room was much smaller than those in equivalent hotels in the city that I have stayed in on previous occasions. To make matters worse, it was dingy and anything but welcoming. I noticed there were strands of hair on the hand towels and the wash-basin in the washroom! The towels were greying and stained. Tired as I was, I chose to ignore the loo and get into bed hoping to get a 5 star sleep. The bed linen was awful, the kind you expect to find in a C-grade roadside motel. The pillows and mattress were of similar genus. Having said that, the hotel has all the facilities of a top notch property. The public areas are fine. Its restaurants are booming, as are its banquet halls. The spa and business centre are reasonably well fitted. Staff are extremely courteous and welcoming. It's the guest-rooms that are in desperate need of a makeover. Oh yes, just one more observation. If you are expecting a quiet business-like hotel, then this is definitely the wrong place to find yourself in.

Room Tip: Do check if there are any refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnandPadmanabhan, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We have noted your feedback and we are taking immediate corrective on the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    772
    247
    74
    55
See reviews for
380
403
224
918
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Minus:
Check-in was slow, telephone assistance was non-existent, elevators slow and wobbling, concierge takes age so get your bags up, Break-fast awful.

Plus:
Location, staff trying hard to deliver with all the Dis-advantages.

Need a rapid and whole-some makeover, stay away, until then!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Buderus17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnandPadmanabhan, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We have noted your feedback and we are taking immediate corrective on the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Super business centre with really customer friendly staff. Well served by 3 restaurants and the Thai restaurant is particularly good. Music a little too loud in the bar for comfort. Spa and pool facilities very good

Room Tip: High floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnandPadmanabhan, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

the staff were very friendly - especially the concierges. We were moved rooms to allow a friend to stay but the 2nd room was not as nice and it took us ages to figure out that to turn off lights you had to hold down buttons until they dimmed off. so try get a staff member to show you how to use the fancy lighting/tv/digital curtain system. also ask for one of the newer rooms. The spa was fab - definitely check out the different shower types - light mist/rainforest style. all free! :)

Room Tip: ask for a newer room on a higher floor facing away from the busy street to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taz1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnandPadmanabhan, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We have noted your feedback on the room change and regret the inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located right bang in middle of the business centre and hardly 2 kms from Nariman Point. Took me less then 10 mins and INR 30 to reach my office at Nariman Point and we are talking about India.

Also friendly front desk but could be crisper in service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rritzuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnandPadmanabhan, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

my favorite hotel of my india trip.will definately recommend to family & friends.
friendly staff ,very friendly pool staff. the staff at the spa was most helpful, make you feel at home and always got an ear out should you require anything .especially Sarika I will never forget your courtesy may you remain gracious.
Love S.SAHIB -202

Room Tip: I had an excellent view of the main enterance,, But do you really care the only time you are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHONA969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnandPadmanabhan, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

A great hotel that is very reasonably priced for its situation, style and excellent service. And the restaurants are superb too! But the best thing at this hotel is the genuine interest and enthusiasm of the staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myself2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnandPadmanabhan, Director of Sales at Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Sincerely,

Anand Padmanabhan
Director of Sales
Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
8.9 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#10 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,270 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
#36 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai

Property: Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Address: 90 Cuffe Parade, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#20 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#23 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#24 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#33 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a brand new signature of hospitality at the Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai ... Where a day is not just another ordinary day filled with long stayed hours; but a day is a million moments bursting with surprises. Masters of corporate theater, 21st century princesses, bon vivants ... you can all discover a new signature in the way you travel for business or leisure. Vivanta by Taj President is a fully renovated hotel with contemporary Superior Charm Rooms by American designer Dave Dunphy, fashionable state of art Deluxe Delight Rooms by Japanese Design Studio Super Potato, Premium Indulgence Rooms with lounge facility, Deluxe Allure Suites and Premium Temptation Suites. The hotel offers free Wi Fi, with limited bandwidth. Whilst meeting your business purpose with a fully equipped Business Center, Meeting Rooms and WiFi access; tantalize your taste buds to world class cuisines at Trattoria - all day dining, Thai Pavilion - best Thai cuisine in Mumbai, The Konkan Cafe - western coastal cuisine, Sugar n Spice - take away Deli and the Wink Bar - rated as the best waterhole for high spirits. Reclaim yourself at the signature JIVA SPA and rejuvenate yourself at the Pool and the Fitness Center. Vivanta is truly designed keeping the en age traveler of today in mind ... Experience signature Vivanta hospitality ... Welcome to Vivanta by Taj President Mumbai !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - President, Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Taj Bombay
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj President Bombay
Taj Hotel Bombay
Taj Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing