We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Expensive Mumbai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residency Fort
Ranked #18 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our initial impression of this hotel was not good, as they put us in a second-floor room with no window, though we had specified when we booked that the room must have a window. When we complained, we were quickly changed to a room on the third floor with a window in the bedroom and one in the bathroom that can be opened. There was no fly wire but we could keep the bathroom door closed to ensure no mosquitoes came into the bedroom. The room was small but very clean and comfortable, with quiet air-con, cable TV, a good bed, with way too many pillows and cushions, a fridge and a safe, which we didn't use.

There are two areas that we think could be improved. For the price paid here, there should be a bottle or two of complimentary mineral water supplied each day, and free WiFI should be provided. Even the cheapest of hotels we've stayed in are able to do this for their guests, so it would be good if Residency follows what Kolkata's Kenilworth Hotel did recently and remove the expensive charges for WiFi. At least internet was available free on a computer in the lobby.

Breakfast was included and quite acceptable, particularly the made-to-order cheese omelettes. When we came down early on the second day, the Indian breakfast items were not yet ready, so perhaps this needs improvement.

The hotel is very well located near many interesting sights and good restaurants. Staff are friendly and helpful and allowed us to leave our bags and use the hotel facilities during the afternoon as we waited for our late night train.

We enjoyed our three nights here and would recommend it as value for money in expensive Mumbai.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Residency Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,782 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

+ clean
+ a decent selection for breakfast
- got 'upgraded' to the second wing nearby which was nowhere near as secure as the main hotel part. Girlfriend looked out the window and within 2 mins a strange man had appeared at our door. When i answered myself, he ran. Not the most settling thing.
- Fridge didn't work. When i complained, i was dismissively told it was a 'room temperature' fridge though they did offer to store a beer in their fridge for me.
- Expensive for what it is
- Shower can be looked in on from outside

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get shunted to the other part of the hotel down the road.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a really good hotel in the 'centre' of Mumbai. Prince of Wales museum, Gateway of India, Stock Exchange, Railway Station, etc. are at walking distance from this hotel. The staff is really really nice and the restaurant serves delicious food. We had to leave at 3 am and the employee at the reception didn't only order a taxi for us but he also made sure we got some toast and coffee/tea at 2.30 AM. That's what I call: Good Service.
The rooms are a bit small but the bathroom is really modern, the shower was like the best shower I ever had in India!

I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I visit Mumbai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The staff at the hotel was very helpful, professional and friendly, they provided us with great service. The location is also great, with many restaurants and pubs near by. The major monuments are within walking distance.

The room as little small though and wifi was a little slow.

All in all, very good stay, we would definitely return there for our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

plus points : Hotel situated in a nice place,staff are excellent and very helpful..ESpecially "RAJESH" who is very kind..breakfast is 0k (no complain)....minus points... when you b00k the hotel site says a resonable price..but when you reach there,you found that prices are beyond expectati0ns...really costly....r00ms are really t00 small ...s0me r00ms even sticks.....r00m keys are not accepted easily.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yash2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located (walkable distance) near many historical and shopping sites like the Gateway/Elephanta ferry, Colaba Causeway, and The Prince of Wales Museum. Most other touristy places can be reached easily from the hotel by yellow top taxis for less than Rs 150. We found the taxis are very reliable and they use the meters and give back change promptly. No haggling involved! The room itself is a bit small but that is the standard with Mumbai hotels. Rooms are cleaned upon "Make-up" request, but they are clean as is! We stayed in the "Club Room" which provided 2 double beds (ideal for 4 people). We went to Mumbai during the rainy season which made the trip really stressful, but coming back to the hotel was always a good thing. Also the showers are American style (with the stall and shower head), and this was convenient. The breakfast is open from 7 to noon with all sorts of really good options like cereal, fruit juice, cookies, muffins, donuts, and 4 types of eggs made to order. They provide two coffee options- an espresso machine and regular coffee in a pot. The espresso coffee was done very nicely with a creamer decoration on top. Another thing when we went was that they provided traditional South Indian breakfast food the second day which was really good. Another good thing is that they have free wi-fi, but because of the rainy season it had spotty service during our stay.
The hotel concierge and staff are pretty helpful as well.
Good value hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms in the satellite building are quieter and they have a built in stereo system.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here as a treat at the end of our 8 month vacation! a little pricey but the hotel is lovely, rooms are clean, service is amazing! we had dinner here several times and room service which was nice. free internet on the computers in the lobby but the wifi costs and it is a bit expensive. they looked after our bags on the last day and organized our taxi to the airport but its cheaper in person then on their website so wait until you are there before you book!! there is a nice seating area with a tv if you have time to waste after check out and also a free foot massage machine you can use for 15 mins per day. really excellent location - can walk to most tourist attractions including VT station and Taj Mahal Palace Hotel. Rooms are brill, really clean and comfy. tv, tea and coffee facilities, free newspaper, hairdryer, etc etc

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#4 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,109 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#82 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
639 reviews
Hotel Accord
#54 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,090 reviews
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,379 reviews
Residency Hotel Andheri
#58 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residency Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residency Fort

Address: 26 Corner Of DN Road & Rustom Sidhwa Marg | Fort Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $57 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residency Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residency Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing