We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncooperative hotel - cancelled my booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residency Fort
Ranked #16 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“uncooperative hotel - cancelled my booking”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked this hotel for a three nights stay. But I cancelled my booking because of a very uncooperative behavior of the hotel. So frankly spoken I can't judge about the hotel in general because I decided not to stay there - but after exchanging some emails with the Manager of the hotel I can judge about their non customer oriented behaviors.

When travelling in India buying train tickets is a real challenge for foreigners, because tickets can not be bought easily online. Usually I contact the hotels I stay and ask them to buy tickets for me in advance. So far all hotels I stayed in India have been very helpful and cooperative in this matter.

Residency Hotel is just the opposite. I sent them an email asking to buy train tickets from Mumbai to Chennai (with the train station in Mumbai being very close to the hotel). But they refused to do me that favour. Lawrence Rodricks, the Manager of the hotel, gave me (in an almost not understandable english) the advice to buy the tickets online in Germany (which is not possible - of course I would by the tickets in Europe if possible!).

My conclusion: this is an unfriendly and not customer focussed hotel. I cancelled my booking and will stay in a more professional hotel. If they refuse to help their guests then it can't be a real good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidencyHotelFort, Manager at Hotel Residency Fort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Greetings from Mumbai. Thank you for your feedback. Since our hotel does not provide railway ticketing services we advise our guests to book through officially authorized online portals for international travelers from Makemytrip, Yarta or Cleartrip.com which also helps to facilitate in modifications and cancellations of railway bookings.

Residency Hotel & its staff strives to provide our guests with the best hospitality and services. We hope to see you in the near future and wish you the very best.

Residency Hotel - Manager
Lawrence Rodricks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    742
    150
    41
    25
See reviews for
222
780
259
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was saved from a 2* review by the extremely efficient guy working at reception, who tried to fix every problem we had at the hotel. The hotel is central but not extremely safe at night. The rooms are very small and need a good clean. Our sheets weren't very clean either but reception changed them, the bathroom was also pretty dirty. The big issue with the wifi, which we had to pay for and which didn't work. When we complained to the guy at reception he kindly let us use his computer to book our flights. This hotel just lacks any charm, and it's not cheap, so we won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiParis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I only spent one night but it was what I required. Rooms were clean, with the usual features you would expect in UK. Free wifi signal strength good. Tata/ Sky connection for TV. Receptionist could not have been more helpful - he pre-empted our requirements and made taxi arrangements/ arranged for our luggage to be stored after our check-out time, before we headed to the airport. The location was good.

The included breakfast was okay but there seemed a lot of guests for a smallish space. We were accomodated in an annex and had to walk next door to the main entrance but that was no problem. Check out at 12 rather than earlier was handy.

Room Tip: I think they were all similar from what I saw. If you're bothered, you could request to be in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and very helpful, friendly staff who would do absolutely anything for you, they work so hard and nothing was a bother to them. One particular member of staff on reception $$$ went put of his way to help us. Despite a few issues/misunderstandings we had with the reception staff booking us the incorrect trains etc but it was dealt with well and our overall stay at this hotel was fantastic, breakfast was great, one downfall was no free wifi and was expensive to buy, although they had free Internet on a computer in the reception area it was quite slow and sometime a queue. Overall we had a great stay, the price was right and would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbud14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I would say that my trip to India would not have been as lovely as it was without the amazing staff at The Residency that went above and beyond to help us and make us comfortable, Everyone was kind, and had great senses of humor, which helps when visiting a foreign place, The hotel was clean and welcoming, The breakfast was great, and the restaurant staff were great. Always welcoming in the am and remember you and what you want. The rooms were clean and stylish, comfortable beds. Above all though-it is the people that make this place worth the stay, what a great bunch they all were.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights and had a pleasant experience. The staff were helpful and courteous. The Buffet Breakfast was awesome and had many varieties to choose from. Only the room allotted to me (we were three persons) was bit small and there was hardly any space to move. otherwise it was quite clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recommended for its price, location and staff who are attentive but do not hassle you. I stayed in the separate executive wing and it is great for privacy. stayed two nights and the monsoon had started! can walk to all the colaba attractions or taxi back for reasonable cost. i would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank sinanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,963 reviews
Hotel Accord
#52 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
214 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#79 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,993 reviews
Residency Hotel Andheri
#61 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
446 reviews
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residency Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residency Fort

Property: Hotel Residency Fort
Address: 26 Corner Of DN Road & Rustom Sidhwa Marg | Fort Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residency Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Residency Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing