We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a weekend”
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a weekend”
Reviewed July 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed over a weekend, and what a weekend it was. Due to the monsoon we did not leave the hotel as much as we had planned, but got to try out all the great things the hotel had to offer. On our first night we arrived at the airport to a fantastic welcome. The driver was at the airport waiting for us with a big smile and asking us about our trip. We got into the car where we were offered cold towels, water and a menu. I asked why he passed me a menu and he said that since we had arrived late (11pm), maybe we would like something to be ready for us to eat when we got to the hotel. He was right. I hate airplane food. We choose what we wanted and the driver passed us a cell phone, where he had already got hold of the hotel, to place the order. When we arrived at the hotel (it took about 45min) all the staff were again so smile and the lobby made such an impression. Probably the most beautiful lobby that I have ever been in. When we got up to the room we were greeted by a butler with a welcome and a room service waiter with our order. Just fantastic :) The view over the city with all the light was very romantic.

The next day we took it a bit slow and had breakfast in Fenix in the lobby. There was a very nice cold breakfast buffet, but what I really liked was that all the hot dishes were made to order. Not hot items that had been out for a long time. My wife went to the spa in the afternoon and came back raving about the service and message she had received. In the evening we had a few drinks in Eau Bar and dinner in Ziya. Ziya was great again. We did not realize, on walking in, what an experience we were going get. We found out that the restaurant was run by Chef Vineet Bhatia who has a Michelin star in both London and Geneva. We tried out their 7 course tasting menu, which was out of this world. I especially loved the lobster dish.

On Sunday we again got up late (12 noon) and went down to Fenix. To our great surprise they were doing a wonderful Champagne brunch. My wife and I thought about it and agreed it is never too early to have a glass of Champagne and sat down. Again the cold selection was wonderful and they handed us a menus to choose our hot items from. The menu had everything that your heart could desire from egg dishes to soufflés. The waiters were very helpful and told us we could order as many dishes as we wanted. We order some mushroom style Benedict eggs and a honey and almond soufflé. It was a wonderful afternoon and the Champagne just kept coming.
After a walk on the promenade we sat in the lobby lounge and continued to have a glass of Champagne and watched the rain come down.

In the evening we had dinner in Vetro. Where we were taken in to do a wine tasting in their wine cellar. I must admit I was impressed with the knowledge and ease it was done. We were not so hungry so we shared a starter of foie gras and a wonderful pumpkin ravioli. The service and quality of food was outstanding i wish I could have tried more. I guess a good reason to go back.

I must say for a foody like me this hotel really had it all. I would recommend the hotel and all it restaurants highly to anyone that loves the finer things in life. What a weekend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,791
    284
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
374
563
175
714
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

date :- 13 jan 2010

Oberoi Hotel the hottel that i will remember for long time
i was there for short time of period as the purpose of buisness trip
but after staying there for while i stay for a day to enjoy the hotels services in all matter this is the perfect hotel good rooms, assembly, restaurant,swimming pool,nice location in Mumbai,nearest is the Asian sea

all that can say in small word in this is perfect

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhatkyaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The food was excellent. The service was also good. Proper and cleen rooms. Suggests for business meetings.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handsum_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2010

the hotel has a view of the sea it is in narimon point very good location to visit.....

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amfaalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajahmundry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

It is an awesum hotel. Especially the ambiance. One side of the hotel has the sea view. The rooms facing sea are the greatest. The restaurant and the service is good. It was an astounding stay. I loved everything in the hotel

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trips0_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Hands down one the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Top notch service and all the connections in a room that a tech head could want.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrylwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qatar
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Excellent Room service , Great hotel to stay in mumbai

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayajas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,781 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,930 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,741 reviews
The St. Regis Mumbai
#20 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,042 reviews
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#18 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Property: The Oberoi, Mumbai
Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
The Oberoi Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay
Oberoi Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing