We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowwwww” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Manikata
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wowwwww”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is by far a premium hotel from collection upon arrival at Mumbai, a necessary evil after traveling for close to 20 hours right up to staff service.... the works. On the high side but worth every penny

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review The Oberoi, Mumbai on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

We also take this opportunity to wish you a happy new year.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    278
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
349
540
166
677
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Pros:
Superb lobby area with great views of the bay and sea
2 minute walk to Marine Drive

Cons:
Business Hotel (this is a con if you're not on a business trip)
Expensive in-room dining and wifi options (and no free wi-fi anywhere on the property)
Rooms are not consistent - i.e. some rooms described online as the same category vary greatly in size

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms are truly worth the views. Avoid floors closer to the smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhijit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed the spectacular view of the ocean and the overall ambience of the hotel.

The Oberoi, Mumbai caters to both, Leisure and Business travellers. We also offer 30 minutes of complimentary internet to all our guests.

The Oberoi, Mumbai is in close proximity to various Heritage sites and places of tourist interest. This includes the Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus earlier known as the Victoria Terminus, The Rajabai Tower, Prince of Wales Museum, Gate of India and the famous Queen’s necklace.

The hotel offers various room size options starting from 333sqft to 2000sqft. I especially recommend The Oberoi Ocean view suite which is 800sqft and has a breath-taking view of the ocean.

We have noted your feedback regarding the prices of In Room Dining, which we shall review.
For your future reservations, I request you to write to me at evp.mumbai@oberoihotels.com or to Mr. Varun Chhibber, Hotel Manager, The Oberoi, Mumbai at varun.chhibber@oberoihotels.com. We will be delighted to personally look after all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We travelled India & Nepal staying in many hotels - The Oberoi Hotels in Mumbai & Delhi were absolutely fantastic, the staff were very Courteous and helpful nothing was too much for them, the rooms, food, cleanliness is first class, in a nut shell a fantastic experience, can't wait for our next Oberoi stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and in Delhi.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay at our hotels and that our service and facilities have exceeded your expectations.

We do hope you will return to stay with us and give us more opportunities to look after you.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We travel a lot and have stayed at hundreds of hotels over the years. The Oberoi Mumbai is The Best hotel we have ever stayed at! Every detail is perfect. The large staff is truly excellent. The room was spacious, modern and very comfortable. The bed, with its down comforter and pillows, was like sleeping on a cloud. The breakfast was outstanding, as was dinner in the on site restaurants. While the physical facilities are excellent, it is really the service that puts this hotel over the top. Wish I could give this hotel a higher rating than five!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nortguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your encouraging feedback and to note that you were impressed by the service, the location, the ambience, the food and the room.

Your appreciation of our service is very motivating for the team as it inspires them to continue striving for excellence.

Thank you once again for your generous feedback.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits and assure you of very pleasant experiences each time you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Oberio for 5 nights, and the experience was outstanding. The rooms are fabulous, service is fantastic, and food is great. I would like to recommend unlimited Wifi access at this level of luxury. Thank You!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kg7174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai for sharing your valuable feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable experience during your stay with us. Your feedback is very encouraging.

We have noted your feedback regarding complimentary internet, which we shall review.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again, in the not too distant future and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Two room suite overlooked the water. Beautiful amenities. Sleek, modern and immaculately clean. The staff was always smiling and helpful. Breakfast buffet and menu service was excellent, Vetro Italian was a delicious change, and the Eau Bar was beautiful. Will be my choice at next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to receive your feedback and to note that you were delighted by the spectacular view of the ocean, the friendly staff and the dining experiences at our restaurants.

Nothing gives us more joy than to know that The Oberoi, will be the hotel of your choice on your future visits to Mumbai.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel was great overall, and fulfilled all requirements of a 5 star hotel in India. We were upgraded to a suite that was fully renovated and updated with all modern amenities. The decor was neat, clean, and open, with minimal clutter. Our room had fresh flowers that were changed almost everyday. The check-in process was smooth and seamless, and happened in our suite while we sipped on our welcome drink.

The main downside was the poor service at Fenix, where we had breakfast every morning. Upon showing us to our table each morning, the servers would not ask if we wanted any tea or coffee or anything else to drink. We would have to call the server back after settling in to ask for tea. Whenever we needed anything for the table, we would have to summon a server. We never had one server assigned to the table. No one came to ask us if we were satisfied with our breakfast or if we would like anything else once we had ordered. No one replenished our glasses of water, or, upon seeing an empty bottle of water on the table, none of the servers were prompted to replace it or even remove it.

When we complained to the in-charge the first time, she was very apologetic and assured us that the service would be better the next day. However, the next day the same things happened. We spoke to the in-charge again, as she came to ask us if we had noticed a difference. Again, she was very apologetic and went out of her way to give our table special attention and treatment. It was all very nice, but I wish we did not have to complain to her to get the service that we paid for at the outset.

One last thing to keep in mind is that this is a business hotel and is not as bustling with tourists and families as, say, the Taj. It has more of a serious, stiff, business like atmosphere. There are also not many different seating areas where residents can spend time if they want to, only the lobby, which is just one large room with not much of interest to catch the eye.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tivolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

While the facilities have exceeded your expectations, I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you with regard to the service lapses at Fenix. I have personally addressed your feedback with the concerned Department Head to retrain the team. I am sure that you will see a marked improvement on your next visit at our hotel.

I request you to treat this lapse in aberration and let it not mar your impression of the hotel, as it is our earnest endeavour to provide our guests with the highest levels of service and to ensure that their stay is enjoyable.

For your future reservations, I request you to write to me at evp.mumbai@oberoihotels.com or to Mr. Varun Chhibber, Hotel Manager, The Oberoi, Mumbai at varun.chhibber@oberoihotels.com. We will be delighted to personally look after all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#7 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
12.7 mi away
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
#4 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#27 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Property: The Oberoi, Mumbai
Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing