We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern hotel”
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Melvin Village, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a sleek and modern hotel offering the best in a luxury stay. We spent two nights here in a superb suite looking out over the water. The room was large, with a bedroom and separate lounge area, and the bathroom was similarly huge and done out in the latest fittings. The public areas are stylish and finished in an off white color. Service, as you would expect in an Oberoi, was superb. The food was equally good. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room at least 7-10 storeys up and facing the water. The sunsets are glorious from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. The team is always striving towards excellence. Such feedback will motivate them further.

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    287
    42
    12
    6
See reviews for
389
566
176
722
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The oberoi hotels place great emphasis on detail. This is why it stands out in India. Overlooking the sea, the rooms are an oasis in a busy city. If you want peace and quiet this is the place for you. The staff are great and the rooms are perfect. The only problem is you won't want to leave the room. If you are a morning person this is the place you want to be.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the overall ambience of the hotel.

Your recognition of our staff is very motivating. Such feedback infuses more energy to scale newer heights.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Oberoi for over a week during wedding celebrations in Mumbai. The staff was exceptional in handling all of our guests, accommodating our various needs throughout our stay, and helping us pull off a few traditional functions in the hotel itself. When I tell others about the exceptional service we received at the Oberoi, most are left in disbelief. A personal and family thank you to all of the staff at the Oberoi for making the wedding a success. As the staff know, we will be staying at the Oberoi whenever visiting Mumbai.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IbrahimA159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have your family and you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai.

We are very happy to receive your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor and to note that your stay at our hotel exceeded your expectations.

Your generous praise of our team members is very rewarding.

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited Mumbai in late feb and stayed 1 night at the oberoi. We wanted to stay at the Taj but it was fully booked. What good fortune ! The oberoi is an outstanding hotel . Although both the taj and oberoi are outstanding hotels , they are different in atmosphere. The oberoi has a very calm peaceful and luxurious feel. The staff are the best of any hotels we have previously stayed at. The are very polite and could not have been more helpful. The food and service is excellent. We stayed in a beautiful room on a high floor with an excellent view and a beautiful view of the sunrise ! I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. Well done the oberoi !
in

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the sunset ! Amazing view of the sunset lying in bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pk p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the overall ambience of the hotel.

I have shared your feedback with our team. They are delighted and such recognition will inspire them even more.

Thank you for recommending The Oberoi, Mumbai. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It is probably the best hotel i have stayed so far!! I just loved the breakfast they served. The person remembered by first name and also what i had ordered previous day. Vetro was simply superb. They had amazing collection of wines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhilkmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your wonderful review and to learn that our service and facilities have exceeded your expectations.

Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire Kitchen team and the Vetro team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We concluded a five night stay at the Oberoi and it is by far the best hotel in terms of luxury, service, amenities and peace that we have ever experienced within India and internationally. Guests are greeted to friendly but not overbearing front desk personnel who understand the needs of the traveller. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite on our arrival, which was very welcoming. The attention to detail in this hotel from the room, exterior, lobby, restaurants is amazing. Every single staff member is polite and helpful. The pool area is not massive, however very plush and The quality of the food and cleanliness at the four restaurants and in-room dining is superb. We had an early check out and breakfast was delivered to our room at 6am. The management and staff are only eager to make the stay a memorable and irreplaceable one which they have achieved. We would most certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiaquatK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to note that you had an enjoyable experience and that you take back fond memories of your stay at the hotel.

The team takes great pride in the service they offer and your feedback inspires them to create moments of delight for our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at The Oberoi, Mumbai for 2 nights with my family and really it was an amazing experience for me and my family. The hotel is really so beautifull and amazing. The reception lobby was so beautifull. The rooms were really so good and spacy. The environment was so nice. The staff was so helpfull and nice. The service as so fast. We really hada very good time. I am again planning to visit this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Everything is so good and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolHimachal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have your family and you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sparing your time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that your family and you had an enjoyable experience and that you will choose to return in the near future.

Your appreciation of our team members is very encouraging and will inspire them to scale newer heights of excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,975 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,786 reviews
4.6 mi away
The St. Regis Mumbai
The St. Regis Mumbai
#22 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,083 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Property: The Oberoi, Mumbai
Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing