We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant !”
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here 5 days over Xmas 2012. The warmth of the staff at the hotel makes up for the long taxi ride there.... once inside you feel in another world. We were upgraded to premium rooms which were facing the sea. The rooms have lovely amenities .

Breakfast was superb everyday. The Spa was too nice but never got time to use it. The Pool is just too good. Always a Marriott fan but Oberoi really impressed me. the strategic location is the key point for this hotel. Interlinked with the Trident so very big property. We had a lovely time and will be back in future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GABTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay and that our overall services have exceeded your expectations.

We are also delighted that you will return to stay with us.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits to The Oberoi, Mumbai.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,207)
There are newer reviews for The Oberoi, Mumbai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,649 - 1,655 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Mumbai can always be a challenge at the airport arrival, odd international arrival hours and the long ride to the hotel but it all got better once I arrived a the hotel. As always Oberoi Mumbai delivers a world class service. The service is second to none. The staff is very helpful, courteous and professional. The breakfast is nice. Close to Gateway of India.
Advice: Beware of overpriced and unsecure cabs. Always use a cab called by the hotel or at the official line at the airport (prepaid or pre agreed rate).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldHopperAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

The team is delighted to receive such feedback as it is very inspiring for all of us.

The team and I, hope you will return soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everytime i am in mumbai i stay at oberoi Nariman Point and each time i have loved it more and more. The service is excellent and so is their sunday brunch. The rooms were nice and bright with beautiful view of the city and the sea. The staff is very courteous, kind and helpful. Its very unlikeyly i wud stay at any other hotel then Oberoi in mumbai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkd0480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi, Mumbai for your stay and for sharing your review through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to receive your feedback and to learn that you will always choose to stay with us, as and when you visit Mumbai.

Your feedback is very motivating and inspires the team at The Oberoi, Mumbai to do better.

We look forward to your continued visits.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here on a family trip for four nights, and we had a wonderful vacation at this amazing hotel. While the room was smaller than expectation, it was comfortable and very modern. We especially enjoyed the TV in the washroom!
We also have memories of the best ever breakfast we ate here, with the staff eager to attend to us and prepare the choicest dishes. Our daughter wanted chocos one day and they were over; the chef offered lots of other (extremely tasty!) alternatives but it was only chocos that she wanted. So he said OK, I will get it, and the bowl was there within minutes. When he saw us after two days, he remembered and asked if we had got chocos that day...unfortunately I do not know his name. Another customer "delight" experience for us was at check in when we were offered complimentary lunch because of a 15-20 min delay in check in. By the time we had barely ordered our lunch, the keys were ready and delivered to us.
Sleep quality was excellent and the beds and pillows were fluffy and comfortable. We did not find much by way of kids activities though, our kids touched the piano at the lobby and a lady came by and sternly reprimanded us.
If theres one negative we would like to mention it would be that the sundown service is typically late; so when we would come back by 9 pm with tired kids, our room was still being made. When we asked for rooms to be made early, they were done early; but I wonder why the service cannot be over at an earlier hour when it starts at 6 pm. In any case guests would be advised to ask for an early sundown if they plan to retire early.
Also we were asked for our choice of fruit and we said banana, the first day it wasnt delivered at all, the next day it was delivered after 10 pm. When we gave feedback to someone from the management, we were sent a platter of the choicest fruits. But why do we need to complain to get fruits which we were offered in any case?
Otherwise, all in all we had a wonderful holiday at the Oberoi and we would most definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rashig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sparing your time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and that you will recommend The Oberoi, Mumbai to your guests. Your feedback is very encouraging and inspires us to scale greater heights of excellence.

Thank you for your feedback with regard to the turndown service. Our turndown service timings are 6:00 pm to 10:00pm. We have noted that you expect the service to be provided earlier. We shall do so on your next visit. I apologise that your fruit request was not acknowledged Our team shall be more careful.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future and wish you a Happy New Year.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was recently a 'long-termer' at the Oberoi staying intermittently over a period of 3 months. I cannot speak highly enough on the quality of service offered by this superb hotel. The staff are all so kind and courteous, there is a great variety of good quality cuisine offered by the various restaurants and the rooms are well presented and very comfortable. The Oberoi should be very proud of the very high standards to which it adheres.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your generous feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that your stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai was memorable and that you enjoyed the overall facilities and service.

The team is our strength and your recognition inspires them to do better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at the Oberoi Nariman point was excellent service was out of this world can recommend anytime. Food in the Resturant excellent quality . My second stay and it's unlikely I will stay at another hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ebi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your feedback and very pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel.

I do hope we will have more opportunities to welcome you back to The Oberoi, Mumbai.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for one night only. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully presented with a beautiful view of the marina and the city. It almost felt like we were at sea.

The bar was great with live music and an attentive barman who will indulge you and go to great lengths to make you any cocktail you desire.

Dinner at the Italian restaurant was delicious. Beautiful ambience,tasteful modern decor.I eat meat but chose to be vegetarian whilst in India.I was not disappointed. India is one place that can take credit for being a global vege heaven..you will not desire meat there with the amazing food they have on offer..modern , innovative,tasty..world class.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanj2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your experiences through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback is very motivating and will encourage the team to scale greater heights of excellence.

We eagerly await your return in the not too distant future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#4 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,106 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,081 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,867 reviews
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,376 reviews
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $248 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing