We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a splendid three days at Taj Mahal Hotel Mumbai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“a splendid three days at Taj Mahal Hotel Mumbai”
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We had booked two de luxe rooms however I was given an executive suite plus all the services including a butler. The hotel facilities and staff exceed expectation nothing is too much trouble. The hotel architecture is fabulous, the food and service is second to none. This is indeed a splendid and luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinkyDaryanani, Sales Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback pertaining to The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai, on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a special guest at our flagship hotel.

Warm Regards,

Team at The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,598
    976
    249
    64
    89
See reviews for
1,301
2,537
588
1,443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Simply the best service and utmost attention to details !!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdcblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinkyDaryanani, Sales Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback pertaining to The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai, on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a special guest at our flagship hotel.

Warm Regards,

Team at The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Best you can get in mumbai, good location, needs small refreshment

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinkyDaryanani, Sales Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback pertaining to The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai, on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a special guest at our flagship hotel.

Warm Regards,

Team at The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

The service staff at this hotel are really the best and this clearly is part of their mission from the restaurants, cleaning staff, hotel drivers... every person affiliated with the hotel was completely on their game and contributed to our positive experience.

Location is tops and you can walk or take a short taxi to many of the interesting south bombay neighborhoods, restos and attractions. The hotel itself is an architectural gem (the old part)

Great bookstore and shops in the hotel. We tried 3 of the 4 restaurants in the hotel (to be reviewed separately) and every one was top notch and exceeded our expectations.

Due to our business/leisure nature of our trip, we stayed in both superior and deluxe rooms, cityside and seaview side. The deluxe rooms are much nicer and probably goes without saying but the seaview is better as well... although cityview was interesting and has a little walkout balcony which was nice. All priced accordingly. Unfortunately only the new part is open at the moment for rooms, but the views make up for it. The pricing for the old part I'm sure would be significantly more expensive as well.

You have to pay for wifi, which is a small negative, but you can then use it anywhere in the hotel which is nice.

Would definitively stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahlahlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinkyDaryanani, Sales Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback pertaining to The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai, on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a special guest at our flagship hotel.

Warm Regards,

Team at The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed in the Taj Mahal Palace for 3 nights and were very happy with the hotel. Although there is still some renovation work going on, and some of the restaurants are closed, the work does not affect the main public areas and there is still an ample choice of bars and restaurants to enjoy. The location is excellent and is well worth paying for, as a lot of the attractions that you would want are within walking distance. The Gateway to India is right at the front of the hotel, as is the departure point for boat trips to Elephanta Island, and the Regal Cinema is only one block away and is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We stayed in the tower, and while are room was not large, it was perfectly formed. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning kept the room nice and cool. There was also a very good selection of English-speaking television channels. The room came with a DVD player, but unlike many of the other Taj hotels we have stayed in, there was not a selection of DVDs at the hotel to choose from. There was a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom.

We were worried about security for this trip, but we needn’t have lost any sleep over it, as the hotel had watertight security. Cars were checked on arrival before being allowed to pull up in front of the building, and there was airport-style security scanning everyone and their belongings before they could enter. There was also always a guard at the bottom of the tower by our elevators, so we couldn’t have felt safer.

We used the pool, which had a nice and relaxed feel despite being in a city location, as three of its four sides were surrounded by the hotel itself. There was a waiter service for poolside drinks, although these were rather expensive.

We had lunch in the Sea Lounge on our arrival, which offers great views out over the sea and the Gateway to India. There was a really pleasant ambience, with a pianist paying a selection of tunes, and while the waiter assured us that he would take requests, we were more than happy with what he was playing already. We also had some drinks in the Starboard bar, where the staff were very friendly, and we ate one evening meal in the Shamiana restaurant, where I can thoroughly recommend the murgh lababdar!

If we ever return to Mumbai, I wouldn’t hesitate to return to the Taj Mahal Palace hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinkyDaryanani, Sales Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback pertaining to The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai, on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a special guest at our flagship hotel.

Warm Regards,

Team at The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I don't have a bad thing to say about this hotel. They are still remodeling, but (as of July) most of the hotel except the old lobby and bar is open. As a guest, you'd never know that the remodeling is going on.

Our room in the tower was very comfortable and had an excellent view. The staff was always ready for any requests we had.

We ate in a few of their restaurants. Souk had top-notch middle-eastern food, and impeccable service. The breakfast had excellent continental and North Indian options. Even the Mexican food at the Sea Lounge was edible, which is not the norm in India. When we wanted to go to some neighboring places to eat, the concierge helpfully made reservations.

Location is also great, in Colaba, near the gateway of India. Getting a cab was easy, though it was easier to get them to use their meter if it didn't seem like we were staying in the 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinkyDaryanani, Sales Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback pertaining to The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai, on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a special guest at our flagship hotel.

Warm Regards,

Team at The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Service was excellent from check-in to check-out. Room was very nice and refreshed twice daily. Attention to detail was evident. The breakfast was exceptionally good and lasted until 11. Dry cleaning service was good. Location is also very good. Downside: The wifi internet access was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpaulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinkyDaryanani, Sales Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback pertaining to The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai, on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a special guest at our flagship hotel.

Warm Regards,

Team at The Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,998 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,795 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#12 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,575 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing